We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thank you for a beautiful weekend”
Review of Rydon Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydon Farm
Ranked #1 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“thank you for a beautiful weekend”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

spent a weekend with friend, beautiful countryside,
rooms with a lot of space and charming, absolutely clean, excellent english breakfast, all you need to have some beautiful days.
Easy to find, good recommendations for local dining
It was worth the money and exceeded our expectations

Room Tip: I saw 3 rooms, all are at the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    39
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
96
212
46
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The countryside is lovely, Sally, the host, is friendly and caring, the quality of the room is charming and the breakfast was delicious, so what else you need?! All of that reached and exceeded our expectations. For additional comments about the location see our comments below. What we got was worth the money but one should know that the price is on the high side even for Swiss standards but competitive for this region.

Room Tip: Just tell people who are not familiar with the farm that it is an active farm. It will make it even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUENTER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a night at Rydon farm on our way home from Newquay to Portsmouth and it was exactly what we needed.
The room was amazing, spotlessly clean and really spacious, even Dave the dog was made welcome. We were recommended a local pub which was great and again dog friendly we both slept amazingly well and loved the huge shower.
All of this was topped off with a delicious home made breakfast in the morning.
The only thing we would have liked was more time check in wasn't until 4-6pm and we had to check out at 10.15am but we are quite lazy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiagm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Quite easy to find with an up to date sat nav I was welcomed in and shown to my very spacious and I must say luxurious room, it was up there with the best I have stayed in during my 10 years of working away contracting, breakfast was really nice and tasty and set me up for the day, if I'm down this way again this place would be the 1st I would call

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1aka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our first stay at Rydon Farm and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of our surroundings. The room was first class and beautifully furnished (four poster bed) and the bathroom was very modern and spotless. Sally was a great hostess who served us delicious breakfasts each morning and gave us lots of advice on where to visit and also recommended some very good restaraunts. We loved opening the blinds on a morning and being greeted by the cows who had just come out of the milking shed. We never realised cows could be so quiet and would not have guessed they were there if we didn't open the curtains.
We will definitely be returning to Rydon Farm sometime in the future and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Rydon Farm recently and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our 15 month old son loved looking at all the cows from the bedroom window each morning. The room was immaculate and had lots of lovely extra touchs, breakfast was also delicious. It was an excellent choice for our short break, very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Hillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a lovely couple of days at Rydon farm. The room was first class in every way: a very comfortable four poster bed, luxurious en-suite with power shower and nice touches like bottled water and chocolates in the room. Sally was very welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home. There was a good choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was perfect. This is definitely one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. The farm is down a quiet lane, a short walk to the village, and there are plenty of places to visit in the immediate area. Altogether an ideal location and place to stay for visiting the Exmouth area. Highly recommended and would be our first choice for another stay in that area. Thank you Sally.

Room Tip: All rooms are of excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aran61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
5.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
7.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydon Farm

Property: Rydon Farm
Address: Rydon Farm Rydon Lane | Woodbury, Exeter EX5 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydon Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South West Tourism Excellence 2016 Gold Winner. Visit Devon 2015 Gold Award Winner. Rydon Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated on the outskirts of the village of Woodbury, approximately 6 miles from Exeter and 3 miles from the M5 J30. This 16th Century Devon Longhouse is close to the pebblebed heaths of Woodbury Common - an area of outstanding natural beauty. Many guests return time after time to this dairy farm which has been home to the Glanvill family for nearly 200 years. It is perfectly positioned for Exeter International Airport, Westpoint Arena, Devon Record Office, Sandy Park Stadium, CTCRM, Exeter University, Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates, Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue HQ, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Greendale Business Park, Darts Farm, Middlemoor and The Met Office. Lovingly restored with a wealth of original features, oak and elm beams and an inglenook fireplace, Rydon Farm offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydon Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydon Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing