We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANother good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydon Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydon Farm
Ranked #1 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ANother good stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here 4 or 5 times, on business, & its excellent each time. Although I stayed upstairs this time, I think the best room's on the right of the front door. Although the wifi's rubbish there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTravelsLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    38
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
207
45
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We chose the B&B through the Farmstay website for its quiet surroundings and proximity to the Westpoint Exhibition Centre in Exeter. We were very happy with the stay.

Sally, the friendly landlady, runs a spotless establishment and provided a delicious breakfast.

Looking out of our window in the morning we watched the cows come wandering past to the adjacent milking parlour. They were well-behaved and quiet although an open window did allow in, on occasion, some smell of manure and the hum of the refrigeration unit. But that's real farm life for you!

We at supper at The Digger's Rest on recommendation. This is a fine, character pub although not within walking distance. It made for a pleasant evening.

We would gladly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I had a sensational time at the farm. I was in the Exe room which overlooked the milking yards. To my surprise, it was all very quiet during milking times. I expected lots of noise at 5am, but, nothing. Sally was very welcoming and happy to impart information about the farm and its workings if asked. The room had everything one could want - lovely thick white towels (not grey!)' comfy bed, tea making facilities, ensuite bathroom and plenty of space to move around.

The room and bathroom were also spotlessly clean and well presented.

I had no trouble finding the farm using a combination of satellite navigation and the clear instructions Sally provided via email. Payment was very easy with a multitude of payment options to choose from.

The cows had me totally entranced each morning as they watched me from a few meters away, outside the window! I felt. Little like a science experiment!

Breakfast was great. I did not take advantage of the full English breakfast, but I got exactly what I asked for and nothing was too much trouble for Sally.

George the cat is a friendly little fellow and really should have spent more time talking to me while I ate my breakfast!

Thanks Sally, George and the moo cows!

Sian

Room Tip: If you like animals, do not hesitate to take a room close to the stock yards. The animals really ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliepuss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a brief and pleasant stay at Rydon farm. In the event that we need a base near exeter we will certainly be back. We were made to feel welcome, as was Evan, our collie dog. The room was very comfortable and well presented. Breakfast was everything I had been looking forward to.. I will recomend this farm to friends and family. The cows were very well behaved and only mooed when mooed at.

Room Tip: get a room with a moo, the cows are very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llaaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay - sadly for only one night - so we had no time to explore the surrounding countryside. The farm is in a peaceful location and Sally is a well organised and welcoming hostess. We had prompt emails confirming details of our stay, good directions, and as we were arriving late, where to park, how to find our rooms, and advice on where to have supper on arrival.

My husband and I stayed in the Exe a king size four poster room with bathroom and our 21 year old daughter shared the Clyst with a friend, a twin room with shower. Both rooms were comfortable and equipped with everything we could possibly want, from biscuits, tea, coffee, chocolates, bath robes and local magazines to creams and shampoos in the bathroom. Our rooms overlooked the farmyard where we were greeted in the morning by cows eyeing us with curiosity whilst waiting to be milked. Despite the comments in an earlier review, we were not disturbed by their proximity, either from the point of view of noise or smell, even though we had both our bedroom and bathroom windows open all night. We were all charmed by their presence.

We had supper on arrival at the Redwings Bar in Lympstone, a short drive away. The service was friendly and welcoming and the food was good. I especially liked their starter of Scallops and Chorizo, and we would all happily go there again.

In the morning we could have had full English breakfast, but we were all still a little full from supper, and we were expecting to have a good lunch later that day at CTCRM, so we didn't take advantage of everything that was on offer. I have no doubt it would have been good and the stewed homegrown plums were lovely.

We weren't ideal guests as we added to Sally's workload by leaving clothing behind, which she promptly packed up and sent off to us before we had noticed their absence.

I have no hesitation in recommending Rydon Farm to anyone. We would have liked to have gone walking if we had more time there, and also had the chance to try more of the local hostelries, several sounded fun. We would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our two rooms. We didn't see any of the others. On the opposite side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The old Devon house was welcoming as were the owners.
The room was very comfortable with all modern conveniences.The setting was interesting with nice views and being a working dairy farm didnt detract from the occasion.
Full english breakfast really set one up for the day. Surrounding area and small villages
were interesting and a couple of the pubs most inviting in the evening for a drink and meal.

Room Tip: Listen to Sally and follow her directions to find the farm rather than trying to rely on you Satna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Rydon Farm whilst visiting our son at CTCRM. Having travelled in the car for six hours from Suffolk, it was not just a relief, but a complete delight to discover that we’d struck gold with our choice of farmhouse accommodation. There’s little we can add to the many glowing reviews other than to marvel at the fluffiest of pillows and the yellowest of scrambled eggs you could ever wish for! Sally, the perfect hostess, has an amazing eye for detail and she cuts no corners in delivering a luxurious B&B experience. The selection of fresh, locally-sourced foods guarantees a mouth-watering taste of real Devon! We very much valued the personal attention we received and highly recommend Rydon Farm. In our opinion, it really is so much more than just a bed for the night!

Julia & Andy D

Room Tip: The Dart was spacious and the soft furnishings were absolutely gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysmissfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
5.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,191 reviews
5.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
825 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydon Farm

Property: Rydon Farm
Address: Rydon Farm Rydon Lane | Woodbury, Exeter EX5 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydon Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South West Tourism Excellence 2016 Gold Winner. Visit Devon 2015 Gold Award Winner. Rydon Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated on the outskirts of the village of Woodbury, approximately 6 miles from Exeter and 3 miles from the M5 J30. This 16th Century Devon Longhouse is close to the pebblebed heaths of Woodbury Common - an area of outstanding natural beauty. Many guests return time after time to this dairy farm which has been home to the Glanvill family for nearly 200 years. It is perfectly positioned for Exeter International Airport, Westpoint Arena, Devon Record Office, Sandy Park Stadium, CTCRM, Exeter University, Sowton and Marsh Barton Industrial Estates, Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue HQ, Royal Devon & Exeter Hospital, Greendale Business Park, Darts Farm, Middlemoor and The Met Office. Lovingly restored with a wealth of original features, oak and elm beams and an inglenook fireplace, Rydon Farm offers a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydon Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydon Farm Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing