We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good simple B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melbury Guest House
Ranked #59 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good simple B&B”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When I say simple, this is no reflection on the quality of the guest house, it is a compliment to the fact that it is not complicated, because far too many make it a complicated business to run an efficient Guest House.
I stayed in room 3 on the first floor with an en-suite shower & sink, with the toilet next door being for my sole use.
The room was very clean with tea & coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV.
When I arrived I parked my car right outside, popped into reception and collected my car park pass (£2) and placed it on my dashboard.
I was shown to my room and given a breakfast menu to make my choices for the next morning.
There were juices, cereal, white or brown toast, fresh fruit, sausage, smoked bacon and also scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, which I had and it was a lovely change.
I must admit on arrival I did think that the whole Queens Crescent looked dreary and uninviting, but don't let this put you off, because the inside is quite grand.
The only niggle that I had was that I could not get any hot water out of the sink tap, no matter how long I ran it for, the shower was fine, but for some reason the hot tap on sink only produced cold water, I should have mentioned it to Graham or Leon, but when i went out to eat in the evening, I could not see them and forgot to mention it in the morning and being a minor niggle it didn't bother me anyway, plenty of hot water in kettle for shave.
Thank you Graham & Leon, for providing exactly what I expect, a good clean Guest House, comfortable & clean bed and a great choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    15
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
47
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

'Nice people, very helpful and kind. Guest house has an eclectic interior style, but it's comfortable, cool,and welcoming. The room was cute and comfortable, and above all very clean. Nice touch with the logo'd linen, (and d/gown). High quality toiletries and a really great breakfast. Pricing is locally comparable. Altogether a lovely experience, and I'll be back.'

Room Tip: Small single top floor without bath. Shared adjacent shower/w/c next door. Don't be put off. V c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldzeroseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this as a night off from the children and it was definitely a good choice. We arrived a little early to check in, but were made very welcome and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Garden Lodge - completely separate from the main house so it felt very private. The lodge itself was lovely; clean and very comfortable and the hot tub made our night away that bit more luxurious We thoroughly enjoyed our little break from reality and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Melbury Guest House on our way through to Cornwall and had the Lodge. The welcome was friendly, the breakfast good and the location ideal. The hot tub, which came with the lodge, was fabulous and the private feel of the lodge area was great. I would recommend the Melbury even though I agree that "luxury executive accomodation" is over stating the point slightly.

Room Tip: The Lodge is by far the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divyesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for a weekend break. The Melbury is really convenient for the centre of the city, and staff were friendly and helpful. However, the room I had (single top floor) was scruffy and grubby, and the cleanliness of the bedding was suspect. The shower (shared) gacve 3 minutes hot water the first night, trivckled to nothing, came back cold, trickled away again.... Fine the second night, but by that time I was jaded with this "luxury executive" accommodation. It might have been the usual "single room syndrome" but in my opinion, the place does not merit the self-styled "luxury executive" label, and is grossly over-priced. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsF0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbury247, Owner at Melbury Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
The Guest review is about are single room which is advertised with a shared bathroom, shared with one other room, so i don't understand why she has put shared in brackets. We have checked the shower, and there is nothing wrong with it, and no other guest has complaned, they in fact love our showers, i can only assume she did not know how to control it. The guest paid £48 per night 20% is vat which inclueds a Full English breakfast, and a help you self section, all cooked fresh to order, each room has luxury toleties,and a well stocked tea tray with snacks warter, all compementry. A lot of places are stopping this. fresh towels linen & bathrobes which are contracted out to be cleaned, so no bed linen should be, as the guest put it, suspect. I had a conversation with this guest in the morning of departure, she never told me anything was wrong, and i explaned to her how we will be changing this room from october 1st 2012 and all rooms in the guest house will be en-suite, she never said that she had a problem at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding, and chose The Melbury because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. The location was good for the City Centre, only ten minutes walk, the immediate area of the Guest House was a bit scruffy however, bin bags and rubbish in nearby front gardens. The gentleman who greeted us at reception was helpful and friendly. The decor was tired and grubby in the public areas, and unfortunately, we found this to be the case in the bedrooms. I booked the Queen Ann Suite for my daughters, they were looking forward to having a four poster bed, the top of the bed was dusty with dead flies on. Room 5, which was our room, had a ceiling fan light, with only half the bulbs working, also you couldnt have the light on without the fan, which was a bit inconvenient. The shower wasnt particularly clean, with mildew and damp plaster outside on the outside near the skirting board.No electric shaving point in the bathroom, holes in the door where the clothes hook had been. One of the most inconvenient things was the fact there was no electric sockets near a mirror to dry my hair, Electric sockets were behind the bed, nowherere near a mirror, had to unplug the tv to use the socket, thankfully had taken a travel mirror which came in so handy. I didnt go down for breakfast either day, but my family did and said it was fine. All in all, we were all disappointed with the Melbury, we were expecting a treat, and it wasnt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SpikeydogDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbury247, Owner at Melbury Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest we are sorry you found your room disappointing, as we all try very hard, its been a busy season, we have not been able to carry out mantanance yet, we are aware of a few things regarding this room, and plan to carry these out in October 2012, yes are plant died on the hall, sadly, thanks for the picture. Just a few other things that i dont think you were aware off, 1, you mentiond there was no power point or mirror to do your hair !! There is a power point above the mirrior in the bathroom, not just in your room, but in all the rooms, next to the light which is also above the mirror, the pannel slide's to the right, there is also a shaving socket there, you made quite a big thing about this in your review, why did you not just ask a member of staff? 2, the light above the bed does have a fan, you can turn this off at the light in the middle of the room, and not at the switch, you just simply pull down the cord to turn off the fan. Yes it was bin day when you stayed so a lot of the neighbouring propertys put there rubbish out for collection, this happens once a week, not a lot i can do about that. We are glad that your party enjoyed there breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We Just loved every minute of it, the staff were really friendly and funny, the Break fast was lovely, The room was perfect, really loved the four poster bed and all the furnishings,i really liked the little added extras like hand lotion, Shampoo etc and we will be back ASAP XXX'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,272 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Gipsy Hill Hotel
#15 of 31 in Exeter
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbury Guest House

Property: Melbury Guest House
Address: 4 Queens Crescent | St. James, Exeter EX4 6AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbury Guest House is a 3 star Boutique Victorian accommodation, in the heart of Exeter City Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melbury Guest House Hotel Exeter
Melbury Guest House Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing