We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of @Angela's

@Angela's
Ranked #66 of 518 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A friendly, intimate restaurant specialising in fresh local food, @Angela's restaurant in Exeter serves passionately prepared cuisine in an ideal location close to Exeter Cathedral and Exeter St Thomas railway station. Offering high quality seafood, meat, game and vegetarian dishes, @Angela's is committed to using eco-friendly produce, sourced from the finest local suppliers. Signature dishes include Roasted Duck Breast with caramelised orange sauce and Baked Filo Parcel filled with mushroom and walnut duxelle. Each main course is served with fresh vegetables and potatoes, and dietary requirements can be catered for on request. Children of all ages are welcome, making @Angela's a superb restaurant for family dining. Warm spot lighting and calm background music in the evenings also make @Angela's an attractive restaurant for romantic dinners or a comfortable catch-up meal with friends. @Angela's was awarded 'outstanding contribution' to food service in the Food & Drink Devon Awards.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Romantic wedding anniversary evening in imitimate small and friendly restaurant. We ordered guinea fowl in advance, and it was delicious, if not quite as strong as in african bush, but still fab. Angela served us herself, and gave us an extra complimentary starter. Smooth Chilean wine superb with the food.
Yes it was rather expensive, understandably so for a special meal, and a lovely evening! Thanks Angela!
we hope to return next September too......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MicChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    27
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a small, unassuming restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We had the place to ourselves on a drippy Tuesday night. Co-owner Angela was our very personable server. The starter was enticing; goat cheese on toast on a walnut-pear salad. One of us had monkfish, the other had pork medallions: both delicious and generously sized. We also had a very good bottle of Italian wine for £18. Thank you Angela and Chef Richard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Astonishing discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We expected little from Exeter's culinary venues, but picked up the reviews on this place from Tripadvisor. We got lucky as we hadn't booked but took the last table.
We were right by the kitchen (viewed through the food hatch) and it was a joy to be able to watch Chris the chef going about his business - just like watching James Martin on Saturday kitchen but without the annoying jokes! He can fillet and skin a fish so fast! And always washes his hands. You know it's all fresh here.
The food was top class and we would have beewn happy to pay more (and would in most places). Total bill for three including wine was less than £100 for 2/3 courses. The service (mostly by Angela) was faultless. Try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsrsmkjgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Puzzlingly disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a difficult review to write as we have eaten here a number of times and always really enjoyed it before.

This meal was disappointing. The front of house was, as ever very warm and welcoming. The service was a bit on the slow side although we did receive an explanation about the main course - one dish took a long time to cook.

The portions were, as ever, generous but the quality wasn't there. We have been eating at some really good restaurants lately ( the last two had Michelin stars) so we wondered whether the contrast was making us more fussy. I don't think that was the case though. This view was confirmed with the pud. Two of us had ice cream which comprises three scoops -one chocolate, one vanilla and one honeycomb. The honeycomb ice cream wasn't even cold - it was more like a mousse. The chocolate one had an odd powdery texture and the vanilla, although at least frozen was milky rather than creamy. I have had ice cream here and thoroughly enjoyed it before.

We did tell the waiter about the honeycomb ice cream thinking that they wouldn't want to serve it to other customers but he didn't seem concerned.

I'm not sure what is going on. An off night? A new sous chef? Other recent TripAdviser reviews have been good. All I can say is that this was enough to put us off returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HazelRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went to Angelas for dinner last night. Food was wonderful - had scallops, steak and sticky toffee pudding. Nothing could even be improved upon. Great service, good wine list and lively atmosphere. Perfect!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsPipE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed @Angela's also viewed

 

Been to @Angela's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing