We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better option than a Travelodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clock Tower Hotel
Ranked #61 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not certain why this is listed as B&B/Inn - it is neither.

Situated on a busy road about 15 minutes walk from the cathedral and walking distance to both Exeter St Davids and the closer Exeter Central. There is no dropping off area so checking in could be a challenge. We were supplied though with a residents parking permit and found a space about 200 yards away.

Hotel is no frills but it is clean and tidy and the staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Room was OK, none of the noise problems mentioned by others, and despite a room facing the main road I got a good nights sleep. Bathroom was small but clean and the shower worked well.

Breakfast was good with a well cooked English breakfast included in the room rate.

When you consider this is in the same price bracket as a Travelodge/Premier Inn it was excellent value and worth considering for a short stay in Exeter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 180 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Last minute booking as a stop over on our way to Cornwall.

They accomodated our late night arrival and early departure, lovely room, clean, friendly, great breakfast, easy, smooth, very happy.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is well located and the staff are friendly. Unfortunately, I was put in a tiny tiny room and a very noisy one. As I write this I'm sitting listening to the loud hiss of running water as someone nearby takes a very long shower at 11pm. Such noises begin early in the morning. The stomping around and door closing noises accompanying them are not much better. The room is a double bed with about 2 feet (at max) on each side of the bed. It seems to represent that old joke about having to go outside to change your mind!

I should say that in its defence, I did not experience bad water pressure or losing hot water at all--I take short showers, though, so that might be the issue.

This room is regularly 59pounds a night, including a so-so breakfast and free wifi.

Room Tip: The top floor might be better. There are only two rooms there and nothing above them (I think) so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdj1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed here recently with four friends. The rooms were clean but tired looking. Noises could be heard throughout the hotel day and night particularly squeaking water pipes.....The shower would suddenly get very hot and lose pressure, followed by an awful smell of drains when you finished. They came in to "service" the room which involved straightening the bed, putting the towel over the shower door and emptying the bin however they left the dirty mug/teaspoon and did not replace teabags/sugar etc!!

Parking is an issue as there is no car park. They provide a permit however there are limited spaces on the busy road outside the hotel.

Breakfast was the most disappointing.....served between 8-9.30am my party arrived just after 9 to be told they were full and we had to wait 10 mins to be seated. There was no space to seat our party of 5 together. There was no self service at all, even for juices and cereals. The cooked breakfast was ok, but I was informed on the second morning that I could not order a croissant followed by a boiled egg - it was one or the other! We were also politely advised that if we didn't want to wait on the second morning we should arrive for breakfast earlier!

All in all a disappointing stay, which I will not be repeating. Best thing about this hotel is its central location!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at The Clock Tower Hotel this weekend. I was welcomed on arrival by a very efficient receptionist who immediately issued a parking permit for my car which was just around the corner from the hotel. I was offered a town map and asked if I needed any directions. I had booked a single room but was pleased to find a small double sized bed. The room was perfectly clean, the ensuite facilities were better than I have experienced in more expensive hotels and the bed was comfortable. I had a good night's sleep and despite arriving for my breakfast slightly early I was welcomed with a cheery good morning and was served immediately. There was a good choice on the breakfast menu and my order arrived very promptly. I was completely satisfied with the service, the location and the standard of accommodation and would recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly if you are looking for a comfortable stay in Exeter on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaBelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is roughly a twelve minute uphill walk from Exeter St. Davis, and 4 minutes from Exeter Central, to the Cathedral it is about 12 minutes . Check-in was friendly, the house itself is a typical B&B, i.e. lots of carpets, a tiny bathroom, a shower without apropriate water pressure and everything slightly worn out, when your neighbour is flushing the toilet it feels like sleeping on the Heathrow tarmac. On the other hand, and apart from its location, it is not without charm, the breakfast is ok (lacks variety though) and, although situated on a busy street it is not too noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1970031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I visited the Clock Tower Hotel on a short trip to the University of Exeter.
The Hotel is perfectly located for both a visit of the city (2 min walk to the centre) and of the University (15 min walk to the main campus).
I took a family room (up to 4 people). The room was alright, although the sink was outside the bathroom (not ideal, especially for a multiple occupancy room)and the location on the street side made it relatively noisy also in the night, but especially on early morning.
Breakfast, included in the room price, was quite good, with a good choice of items, including traidtional English breakfast ones.
Hotel staff was friendly and professional.
Apart for the proximity of the city centre, there are also several restaurants just round the corner of the hotel, which are quite good and perfectly located if one is tired and does not want to around searching for a place for dinner.
I was travelling by car. The hotel has no private parking but gives the guest a temporary resident parking permit to park in the streets in the surrounding. It is good to know this in advance, since there is practically no way to stop in front of the hotel, check in a get the permit and then permanently park the car: I would recommend you first find a parking slot and then go back and put the permit in the car.

Room Tip: As mentioned, try and get a room which is not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
629 reviews
0 mi away
Braeside Guesthouse
Braeside Guesthouse
#13 of 68 in Exeter
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Telstar Hotel
The Telstar Hotel
#6 of 68 in Exeter
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clock Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clock Tower Hotel

Address: 16-17 New North Road, Exeter EX4 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $94 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clock Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Clock Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clock Hotel Exeter
The Clock Tower Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing