We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Telstar”
Review of The Telstar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Telstar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleobury Mortimer, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Telstar”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Warm welcome, very attentive. Well thought out in decor etc., Breakfast excellent. We stayed due to business, which was very stressful but felt very relaxed and at home. Definately recommend to others.
Although I never sleep well anywhere it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    92
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
70
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, MI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Don't think of going into Exeter without Google Maps or another satellite assisted device. Ours stopped working and finally we had to have Gina (Desk clerk) talk us through each tortuous turn and then wave us into the parking lot...which was small, tight and best entered as the last car. Once inside, I felt like my memory was faulty because the photos supplied by the hotel were so different...as if someone with a really good wide angle lens and an equally good Photoshop program had whipped them up so everything was larger and brighter. At check-in there was an unhappy lady (who seemed to be a long term resident) asking Gina what room she would have that night and then we were following Gina to our cramped room. Luckily Gina suggested a very good Indian restaurant, Ghandi. Telstar does have a good breakfast and the staff tries to make up for the deficiencies of an establishment
that is hopefully in transition. Not a bad value for the price.

Room Tip: There is a train line in the distance at the back of the hotel. Our ensuite shower was cramped. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Owner at The Telstar Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us (we have sent an apology to this gentleman, and offered a discount should he ever choose to stay with us again). We really do try our best here at The Telstar, but as with all accommodation in our price range, it is not possible to achieve perfection in all areas. For example: we have free parking (a blessing in Exeter), but as this customer rightly points out, it is a little tight. However, to re-assure other drivers, we occasionally have long wheel base transit vans in our car park, so cars of any size can be parked in it. Also we are very happy to park your vehicle for you.
We take issue with the reference to the ‘unhappy lady’ at reception. She is a regular customer at the Telstar because she really likes staying with us. The lady being referred to had just returned from a long day at work and just wanted to know what room she was in. I think there must have been a misunderstanding here.
Our photos were taken by my wife using a normal digital camera on a nice day, with good light. We are glad this customer liked them! We do have a range of rooms to suit different budgets and needs: some have good light, some are quieter than others, some have good views. If you have specific requirements, please call us and we will discuss each room’s qualities in detail with you.
Many thanks for your time, and best wishes,
Ben, Amy and all the staff at the Telstar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at The Telstar Hotel on 23rd September 2013.
My wife was suddenly not well in the morning so could not enjoy the wonderful breakfast.
Great value for money and the car parking was a real bonus.
Next time we have to stay in Exeter, we will certainly be calling in again.

Room Tip: Many hotels in Exeter have no parking or charge for it. This has a small car park but I had no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beany1HaylingIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I think some people expect to much I am sure if you really look you can allways find something to moan about even in 5 star hotels. But we found it to be clean, friendly, good shower, great breakfast & a 10 minute walk into the town, car park is tight but at least you have a carpark. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed one night here. Very small room, but very clean.Shower malfunctioned, and could not be fixed without tradesman. Manager arranged alternative showering (could not swap rooms because they were full) and reduced our bill. There is parking but a bit difficult to find without direction, and a bit difficult to get in and out of. No lifts but only a problem with large suitcases. To get to car park, must drag suitcases through breakfast room, which could be a problem if needing to leave early. Good breakfast. Owners trying hard to use local produce and environmentally sympathetic
items throughout hotel. Owners are new and still renovating and converting. Very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't like a long stay here but one night stands, perfectly OK. Don't expect a modern, bright and shiny establishment-it's definiitely quirky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Located centrally near st David's train station and city center, Telstar offers a convenient and no frills stay. Food and cleanliness of hotel are two plus points of the hotel. If something needs to be improved on, I would recommend they do something about the exhaust system of the kitchen. The smell of food permeates all over the place, even to the rooms, making my hair and clothes smell

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballan, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight from Australia and a 2 hour train journey I was looking forward to putting my feet up and cease travelling. My single bed room was cosy and the bed was comfy. Amy and Ben are good hosts and try to please.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. Overall a good value for money lodgings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Telstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Telstar Hotel

Property: The Telstar Hotel
Address: 75-77 St. Davids Hill, Exeter EX4 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Telstar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Telstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Telstar Guest House Hotel Exeter
The Telstar Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing