We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, atmosphere and generous portions!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zizzi - Exeter

Zizzi - Exeter
Ranked #137 of 514 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.We are situated on the famous Gandy Street, just off the main High Street and close to Exeter Central train station, making us a popular destination with shoppers and tourists. We are housed in the old City Chambers, providing a lovely open plan dining area which can be used to accommodate parties and families of all sizes. Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and generous portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

First visit to a Zizzi restaurant, lovely open space with loads of natural light. Had tomato and pesto bread for starts, very nice! More than enough for two people. Great value for the quality and portion size, the rustic pizzas are particularly large! Loads of vegetarian options and they also have a 'healthy eating out' award! All round great meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iamhenkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    141
    61
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited Zizzi, Exeter for lunch and it was delightful. Staff were very pleasant and welcoming and food was very tasty and served quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food but grumpy staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Zizzi twice to say farewell to colleagues in the last few weeks. The food was excellent on both occasions. My only comment would be "send your staff to Cote Brasserie in the Cathedral Green to get some staff training! The staff there are exceptional which is not a word i would use for Zizzi's staff. On both occasions we visited Zizzi the food was faultless and the staff (both male as it happens) were grumpy and made us feel as if we were a bit of a nuisance. Will go back though as the chefs turn out lovely food at a good price and a pleasant conservatory and garden to eat in. The very good I scored was for the food alone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGE120D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average food/service at Zizzi's Exeter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went as a group (10) and were sat at a long table (never ideal IMHO) with a metal surface. Unfortunately this meant that it smelled of Brasso. The food was average (nothing special) although my chicken salad was nice. The waiter got the order wrong so one of us had to wait for his correct meal to arrive then they added the wrong choice to the bill as well as the right one! I notice they add 10% service charge automatically despite saying it is optional so make sure you check the bill properly if in a big group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A late meal with colleagues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were working on an event in the next block so wanted something local as it was late. There were quite a few people in the restaurant which was reassuring. The place was big and bright and the service was quick. We were surprised by the size of the pizzas and the fish stew I had was very tasty. The whole meal was quick and very acceptable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Exeter also viewed

 

Been to Zizzi - Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing