We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #190 of 535 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $0 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We often go to this restaurant but the service is getting so bad we wont be going for a while!! The manager is afraid to talk to people complaining (we wernt the only ones). Our mains came as still eating the starter, drink order were constantly wrong and staff didnt seem to care.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markallen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    119
    83
    50
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great taste and Excellent Service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

No need to book a table as we were early but I'd book in advance on busy Saturdays.
The service was prompt and polite and the food was tasty and piping hot.
Great outlook across to the Cathederal and a great lively atmosphere.
Always a winner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMRT1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High hopes shot down in flames!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Ok so it's father's day and they were busy.
At first we were sat on a table next to the waitress station, where a waitress was spitting her dummy out about how busy it was.

We ordered my 6year old daughters pizza with the drinks, which was not ordered, my mum ordered one of their gluten free pizzas which came as a normal one (and my daughters had not been ordered at all). A short middle aged waitress who had tried giving my mum a normal pizza (which would have made my mum so incredibly poorly) had a face like thunder and when my mum tried to explain she cut her of with "YEAH YEAH YEAH" and walked away?!?! Excuse me?

The manager was very polite and very apologetic, he brought some complimentary dough balls for my daughter which she was incredibly grateful for and enjoyed them thoroughly.
My pizza was very nice as was my fiancee's pasta.

My mum's gluten free pizza came and was also enjoyed.

We were not charged for my daughters food and all the male staff (2 dark haired waiters and the manager) were incredibly helpful and apologetic.


A brunette waitress who had been having a strop early on had a big smile and was polite too, but this middle aged waitress shot us a look that could have killed when she was queuing to go down the stairs a bit later on (my dad commented that it could be that I just got her a rollicking lol).


In the end.... The food was nice, the male staff were faultless, especially the younger lad with medium length hair and the manager.

The place was very loud as there is bare walls and a hard floor. A nice establishment bit I don't think I shall be returning in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix-Blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

3 of us had lunch here today. The service was quick, efficient and kind. We all ordered starters and then pizzas for mains. Everything was freshly cooked/baked for order and was very delicious :) We had vouchers so our meals cost 10 pounds each, really good value! Oh and toilets are nice and clean :)
I totally recommend the bruschetta con funghi starter!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minacska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A really good Pizza Express”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been eating in various branches of the Pizza Express for years and have found that some are much better than others. And this is definitely a good one.

We turned up at 7.15 on a warm Friday night and not surprisingly there was a slight queue for a table but we were seated within a couple of minutes. Our waiter was lovely - friendly, helpful, cheerful and polite. The pizzas were delicious and so were the puddings. And the wine!

The restaurant was really busy and the staff were working extremely hard, running up and down stairs, serving customers and keeping everything flowing. The two chefs were working flat out too, yet the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. It was a very enjoyable evening. I would be delighted if this were my nearest branch of the Pizza Express!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing