We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, good service and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jack In The Green Inn

The Jack In The Green Inn
Ranked #4 of 514 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Good meal, interesting menu. Food well prepared and cooked and pretty good value. Nicely decorated interior with good selection of wine and beer. An enjoyable evening.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank weary_traveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    191
    63
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a family birthday Sunday lunch for 6 adults & 2 children on 17th November, absolutely wonderful. We all had something different to eat, and each meal was wowed by the recipient. This is our fourth visit to The Jack in the Green as it is always an excellent meal, and the choice from either the bar or al la carte menu which can be mixed is super.
My choice was Chicken Pate to start, the Rare Roast Beef for main & Cider Creme Brulee for dessert, all fabulous. Plenty of lovely roasties & vegetables. The children chose fish and chips & we asked for their meals to come at the same time as the starters, and they ate everything too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Dined here on Saturday night with friends, the welcome was great, seamless service and the food was very very good. This is a must visit restaurant and we will definitely be returning many times.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DevonBinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely meal - quality and innovation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Met family for lunch at the Jack. Very friendly and accommodating staff provided coffee while we waited for the others to arrive. The menus were excellent - pub type meals with a twist and a splendid a la carte menu. Memorable meal - we will definitely go again. Make a point of booking - it gets busy!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice place for a birthday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Having heard it was good, we decided to use this gastro-pub for a celebratory lunch. The staff were very friendly, the service was good and the food delicious. The menu was different with an interesting selection of dishes. I would recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jack In The Green Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Jack In The Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing