We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for food and accomadation”

Anzac Street Bistro
Ranked #9 of 96 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Anzac Street B+Bistro was built 1752, it is tucked away on Anzac Street a beautiful side street where you will find lots of history and character of an old seaside town. Anzac Street B+Bistro offers very comfortable accommodation and beautiful food with a Mediterranean & Polish twist. We also specialize in vegetarian and we can also provide Vegan food. Any dietary needs that people may have we can cater for. We are located in the center of Dartmouth in Devon by the beautiful river Dart. Just a short walk away there is the harbour and secluded little coves looking out to sea.
Englewood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for food and accomadation”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this place from Dartmouth tourist office and stayed 2 nights we ate breakfast and lunch there both days as the food was excellent and reasonably priced as was the room. I would recommend this to everyone. Aga and Simon are excellent hosts and seemed interested in everybody they spoke with.
Pity there are not places like this in Florida where we are currently living.
Best wishes for continued success

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    49
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ate at the Anzac restaurant last night and cannot say enough nice things about it. Three out of four of us are vegetarian and we were so impressed, not only to be given more than one choice but the quality of all the dishes was superb. Would definitely recommend the pan- fried halloumi and the goats cheese and beetroot risotto. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and Simon and Aga were attentive hosts. Altogether a lovely experience and we will definitely be returning when next in Dartmouth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fionnsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Dartmouth can be a bit of a desert for vegetarians, it seems. We had to scan many restaurant menus for the one vegetarian dish they offered, and when we found it it often seemed overpriced and unimaginative. So we were thrilled to discover the Anzac Street Bistro and its new owners, Simon and Aga. It isn't a vegetarian restaurant but it does have several veggie dishes on the menu, both as starters and as main courses.

We were peering at the menu in the window when Simon walked past and started to chat to us. It turned out that he and Aga are vegetarian themselves, so they understand the occasional difficulty of finding something decent to eat in a non-veggie restaurant. We booked a table for that evening and had a great time. We chose a selection of the veggie starters, plus some special potato pancakes that the chef had made that day, and warm chocolate brownies for pudding, and it was all lovely. The wine was delicious and very reasonably priced, too.

It was a rainy, chilly night in early October, so not many people were about in Dartmouth, but it was very cosy in the bistro. There were two other tables of diners, and the atmosphere was so nice that we ended up chatting to one another. The other diners seemed to enjoy their food as much as we did ours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Anzac recently for 5 nights in the B & B. The Georgian design of the building is very attractive and was a welcome sight arriving on a very wet and gusty Sunday afternoon. We were immediately given a warm welcome by Aga and Simon who warmed us up with a lovely cup of tea, coffee and biccies,whilst helping us with our luggage to our room and arranging our parking permit (v handy) . The room itself was extremely spacious and had modern decor and fittings.We were made to feel at home each day and enjoyed hearing about Simon and Aga's new venture with the Anzac. Breakfasts were good, with a variety of choice, served piping hot. We had dinner on two evenings, the food was perfectly fine though it lacked a little in creativity and choice for the cost. Perhaps the written menu board would benefit from an overhaul to entice regular diners into the restaurant. We would give three stars for the restaurant and 5 stars for accommodation. Overall a lovely B&B to explore Dartmouth and the South Hams.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New owners trading on established name”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Went in June and had a fantastic meal - one of the best I'd had in the uk in a long time. This time not so good - the bistro has been taken over and seems to offer a selection of mainly polish / east euro dishes. Fine if you don't mind paying £14.95 for a pork schnitzel (very average) or the same for goulash. Fair selection of veggy options but, again, pricey. Waitress/manager/owner eager to please, but the place lacks atmosphere, and quality food. A shame really. Also cheesy music at quite annoying volume. Sorry - won't be back.

Late info: previous owners/operators now have the Dart Cafe in a nearby street - seek it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bossman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anzac Street Bistro also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to Anzac Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing