We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing on suite facilities!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayards Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayards Cove Inn
Ranked #4 of 55 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Disappointing on suite facilities!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a night at Bayards Cove and I must say all the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We enjoyed a very good breakfast where nothing was too much trouble. However we were rather disappointed with our room. We stayed in Raliegh room, where we found the ensuite and shower very poor, the shower has obviously recently had some 'work' carried out on it and it has not been finished off. There is black dirty looking grout which we found very off putting. The wash basin is very small and cracked. We were also disappointed with the fact that the mattress cover had a plastic backing!! Sorry to say we would not stay again because of these facts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr and Mrs D, Owner at Bayards Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the bathroom I take your comments very seriously and we have closed out the room for maintenance. Thank you again,

Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    86
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
77
270
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
442 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed 4 really lovely nights at Bayards Cove with our lab Henry and would have no hesitation in returning.
We stayed in the Nelson Suite which was very roomy. Zuzanna greeted us on arrival and couldn't have been more helpful with bags and general tips on parking etc.
Breakfasts were delicious as was the tapas which we really enjoyed along with live music on the Sunday.
I loved the easy feel if this place, a great place to relax and enjoy all that Dartmouth has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed in Bayards cove for the 2nd time. Rooms are lovely. ...lots of character and really comfy beds! When we arrived the owner took us up to the room and showed us everything we needed to know and even helped bring the dogs bed up, which was a lovely personal touch.The bayards burger is a must have for big appetites after a long walk and the tapas in the evening is perfect for a relaxed sociable dinner with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoushka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had the great room of drake. Charlie and Zuzana made us very welcome and the bar staff always had a smile on their faces. The b&b has a great vibe and the food is incredible! Will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived after long and tiring journey to find there was no one on duty to book us in or greet us. A nice waitress in the cafe downstairs however got us to our room, helping us to stagger up two floors with our suitcases. place would not be suitable for elderly infirm! Room clean but tiny and cramped. Shower room needs refurb and basin needed a decoking of some unpleasant green slime in plug hole. No hangers in wardrobe, so we're unable to unpack. No one in charge while owners away apparently, since no one could supply hangers or clean up the gunk. Not a good start, and not what we expected from the glowing reports of other guests. Hoping things will improve when owners return. Dartmouth however is a delightful place and we're determined to enjoy our week off regardless. Ps discovered an ice bucket of bubbly in room when we returned from dinner, so perhaps our messages had got through to proprietors and all will be sorted soon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxiety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Decided to try this lovely looking place for a mid afternoon tea - sandwiches and cream teas - settled ourselves down and chose from the menus on the table only to be told they had finished doing sandwiches at 3!!!!!!!! What sort of hotel doesn't do food at that time on a saturday afternoon? We were interested in staying here on our next visit to dartmouth but having second thoughts now!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2013 and as we booked late we had the Drake suite which consisted of a double bed and lounge area upstairs with a room with bunkbeds, bathroom and entrance hall downstairs. The style and layout of the room was completely quirky and was the highlight of this Inn for us. Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before which was the only negative point as sometimes we didn't want so much therefore we felt that there was unecessary wastage. However the breakfast was lovely and the chef was willing to adapt to any special requirements. The staff are very relaxed, friendly but still completely professional.

Dartmouth is a lovely town to visit with plenty of trip on land or sea. All in all we would thoroughly recommend a stay in this beautiful Inn.

Room Tip: Drake suite would be good for a small family but we found it perfect for just the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.7 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayards Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayards Cove Inn

Property: Bayards Cove Inn
Address: 27 Lower Street | Bayards Cove, Dartmouth TQ6 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayards Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small friendly hotel is one of Dartmouth’s oldest and most interesting buildings. It was originally constructed as a Tudor merchant's house and would have been a welcome sight when the Pilgrim Fathers stopped off at Bayards Cove on their way to America in August 1620. The hotel is conveniently situated in Bayards Cove in the centre of this lovely town, with the market and main shopping area only a short level walk away. Guests are sure to enjoy the unique character of the hotel and its thoughtfully refurbished luxury rooms, all of which have freeview, televisions and DVD players, and some also enjoy views over the water of the cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayards Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayards Cove Hotel Dartmouth
Bayards Cove Inn Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing