We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agatha Christie's holiday retreat”
Review of Greenway

Greenway
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take this extraordinary glimpse into the beloved holiday home of the famous and much-loved author Agatha Christie and her family.The relaxed and atmospheric house is set in the 1950s, and contains many of the family's collections, including archaeology, Tunbridgeware, silver, botanical china and books. Outside you can explore the large and romantic woodland garden, with a restored vinery, wild edges and rare plantings, which drifts down the hillside towards the sparkling Dart estuary.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you like Agatha Christie, you will love this place. Christie and her husband archaeologist Max Mallowan lived here for nearly 40 years and it was primarily used as their holiday home. Fabulous 30+ acre garden stretching down to the River Dart. The old boathouse and battery are interesting and are the settings for two of her books. Inside, the house is jam packed with memorabilia from both Christie and her husband and it feels like they only left it yesterday. It has not been in the NT's possession for long and there is still work to do. Parking can be tricky, either telephone first for a reserved space (the day before) or take the ferry from Dartmouth. Nice walk up to the house, the usual cafe and shop selling AC's books and other items. Well worth the visit, especially on a good day so the gardens etc. can be explored.

Thank hotelsulike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful and comprehensive review; I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. I hope that you can come and visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,032 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

What a gem!! An ideal location in which to reside, she and her family were exceedingly fortunate to live in such a magnificent place. We, as National Trust visitors, considered ourselves to be very lucky to have been able to share in the experience. The weather was exceedingly good therefore we definitely saw the surroundings in the best light. Sadly scaffolding marred our view of the house itself but surely when we next visit we will see it fully restored. Nevertheless, the house felt like a home from which the residents had just stepped out.
We travelled there by Barnaby Bus and would highly recommend that mode of transport to the house.

1  Thank ULTFOR114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit and had such glorious weather. I'm sorry that the scaffolding marred the outside of the house - we hope that the fine weather continues so that the painting of the house can be completed as quickly as possible. Do come back and visit again when it is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not my cup of tea but in a party of friends who like NT properties. I accept their word that it is great as houses go and good for Christie buffs

Thank BazzerJC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review; I'm sorry to see that it wasn't your cup of tea, but glad that your friends enjoyed themselves. Have you visited nearby Coleton Fishacre - that may be more your cup of tea, it's very different to Greenway?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Agatha Christie used this property as a holiday home, lucky lady. You can see her novels displayed in the house along with numerous collections of every type. The wooded garden slopes down to the Dart Estuary which have some steep slopes so good footwear is essential. When you are down there you can visit the boathouse and the battery and admire the views.
There is a walled garden with a peach house, but do close the door if you visit as the squirrels like to enter and eat the fruit if they get chance. There are vegetable plots, unusual plants and a tennis court to see also.


Thank HolidayFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello, thank you for this great review; it's lovely to see that you had such a thorough explore of Greenway. I hope that you can come and visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Interesting house,the home of Agatha Christie,we visited on a Saturday in June and it was very busy.
I am not very mobile but the National Trust provided a car to take me from the car park to the house even though the 'official' vehicle was not in service.
If you are in the area the house and gardens are worth a visit and you can arrive by car, book the car park in advance, by train or by boat.

1  Thank joandgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello, thank you for this lovely review. I'm so glad to see that you found the house interesting, and that you utalised the shuttle service from the car park. I hope that you can come and visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing