We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second visit!”
Review of Greenway

Greenway
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take this extraordinary glimpse into the beloved holiday home of the famous and much-loved author Agatha Christie and her family.The relaxed and atmospheric house is set in the 1950s, and contains many of the family's collections, including archaeology, Tunbridgeware, silver, botanical china and books. Outside you can explore the large and romantic woodland garden, with a restored vinery, wild edges and rare plantings, which drifts down the hillside towards the sparkling Dart estuary.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We paid our second visit to the 'Christie' summer home on a cold April day after a brisk walk via Maypool, from where the view of Dartmouth was breath-taking. Next time, I promise myself we shall arrive by classic coach!

Yet again, the commentary from the patient and knowledgable volunteers was free-flowing and informative. Additional information in room notes was interesting and listening to the recording of Agatha Christie was fascinating. The live piano music gave a romantic atmosphere to our visit for me and my wife. I treated myself to a copy of Max Mallowan's memoirs.

The 'Homity pie' from the cafe was the best I've tasted and we enjoyed eating outside. We wish we could be there for the 1940's experience later this year or lived nearer so we could visit more often. Thank you National Trust!

Thank CheshireCheeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Intern at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Glad to hear that your enjoyed your second visit to us, and that you found both our volunteers and food worthy of comment. Thank you. We hope to see you again soon for a third visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,277 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We pre booked a parking space online the previous day, very efficient. Staff were all knowledgable and enthusiastic. The house had some very interesting collections and I enjoyed touring the rooms.The gardens are extensive and in glorious surroundings, sadly the rain and wind was too bad for us to explore outdoors, we will definitely return in better weather!

Thank Trekwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived by ferry from Dartmouth, straight to the Greenway Quay (£7.50 return). Bit of a haul up from the quay to the house, but I think transport is available for those who can't manage the climb. Interesting house, apparently just as the family left it, so it is a very user friendly house to visit. Nothing cordoned off and no 'do not touch' signs. Lovely views from the rooms and the guides are happy to talk to you about the house and Agatha. Gardens gently cared for, so quite wild. Delightful spring flowers and magnolia. Boathouse and Victorian dip pool are worth the 15 minute walk down. Usual NT shop and pleasant small cafe.

Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Intern at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us, and that you found the house 'user friendly'. Thank you for your kind review. If you decide to visit us again by ferry there is a Quay car avaliable to drive those unable to do the steep walk to the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I visited Greenway with my husband and 10 year old son, we pre-booked the parking which was easy and is free, you can get here via Dartmouth using the ferry and steam train or you can get on the greenway old fashioned but not sure where you can get on this though. When we arrived we parked up and walked to the house which isn't far and enjoyed the lovely views across the river and the gardens. There is a small cafe and the usual NT shop, we went to the house and were given a warm welcome and some information on the house and Agatha Christie, we then walked around each room, which has been kept the same as when she was there which we thought was good , my son was given a game to play ( he had to spot all the items on the list from each room and tick them off as he went round) which kept him occupied and made him look at all the rooms,someone was playing the piano for awhile music from the old days, after this we went to the battery and boathouse in the grounds, there are some stunning views from both the house and the boathouse we even saw a seal bobbing around, at the boathouse they were playing some Glen Miller music and the staff there told us lots of interesting things ,we explored the gardens which were lovely, you are welcome to picnic in the gardens and we wished we had brought one as it was a beautiful sunny day when we visited. There are paths to walk across fields to reach other destinations but we had run out of time as you have an allotted time in the car park ours was 12.30 until 4.00, we had a lovely day out here and would happily return again as we live about 30 mins away

Thank carolr_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Inter at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review, it's great to hear that our children's activities are spot on and that you had an enjoyable day. Hopefully we will see you soon for another enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived at Greenway ( a National trust property) on the steam train from Kingswear 'alighting' at the recently opened Greenway Halt which was great fun, especially as you could still see all the steam billowing out of the Greenway tunnel we passed through. You can walk to the house either through the woodlands or along the road,, which we did, and it was an easy 20 minute stroll.
The house is full of lots of interesting things and the guides were very helpful. On a cold day just sitting in front of the house looking at the estuary was really peaceful and warm. You could spend all day looking around the grounds, visiting the house and the cafe and shop.
Highly recommended.

Thank DeeDeeWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your great review - it's fantastic to see that you would highly recommend us! I'm glad you enjoyed your experience on the steam train too!

I hope you can visit again; now that the weather has started to warm up you really can sit and enjoy the gardens and views at your leisure :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing