We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poirot would have loved it!”
Review of Greenway

Greenway
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take this extraordinary glimpse into the beloved holiday home of the famous and much-loved author Agatha Christie and her family.The relaxed and atmospheric house is set in the 1950s, and contains many of the family's collections, including archaeology, Tunbridgeware, silver, botanical china and books. Outside you can explore the large and romantic woodland garden, with a restored vinery, wild edges and rare plantings, which drifts down the hillside towards the sparkling Dart estuary.
Sandbach
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poirot would have loved it!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We couldn't wait to see the inside of Agatha Christie's holiday home, after the 3.5 million pound refit and we were not disappointed.

There are several ways of arriving but they all involve walking at some point and the house is perched on the hill-side of the beautiful Dart river. Note: it is closed on Monday & Tuesday & ruck-sacks are not allowed in the house but there are free lockers.
1. Ferry from Dartmouth - excursions direct to the Greenway side or half-hourly ferry to Dittisham then across the river (£2 each way) - you ring the big bell to summon this and it's over in 5 minutes.
2. A 1950s classic bus that runs from Brixham or Paignton (check out the rear of the bus)
3. By steam train from Paignton now stops at on request at Greenway Halt - a good 10 minutes walk through woodland.
4. If you insist, by car but you must pre-book or you'll be turned away - no parking elsewhere.
5. On foot.

I enjoyed viewing the murals painted in the library by U.S. officers stationed there in WWII. Agatha Christie refused to have them over-painted after the war, except the one over the fireplace of Churchill, Stalin & Roosevelt! She also forbade over-head lighting as it 'did nothing for a ladies complexion'!

I found the archaeological research of her husband, Max, at Nimrud and other places very interesting. The piano playing was marvellous, as we had no idea she was such an ccomplished musician. Food was standard NT fare - served hot and with a smile! Very welcoming.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCheeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Visitor Experience Intern at Greenway, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and your very helpful review. So glad to hear that you enjoyed the war time murals, the story behind them is so interesting! Many thanks and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    354
    90
    20
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Lovely and interesting house”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I don't have much to add to the praise previous reviewers have heaped on Greenway House. It is a lovely place with many interesting displays in the rooms. We booked on the vintage bus from Torquay. The hardest part was finding the bus stop. The stop is in front of the Golden Palm amusement arcade and marked with a sign about Greenway about chest high, not at the top of the pole. The stop is on Carey Parade, not directly on the harbor. Probably best to ask at the nearby tourist information office.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank organicprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We visited on a sunny, warm day (yes, really!) and thought Greenway was wonderful. As a Agatha Christie fan I was curious to visit her former holiday house and of course the Boathouse (as featured in one of her books). We prebooked our car parking as didn't want to leave trying to get a ferry to chance - you really need to prebook though if you are going to drive to Greenway (can be done online or over phone).
The house is really interesting and very intimate - it really feels like a family home and is very personal. the staff in the house are very friendly and knowledgeable who really took pride in the house. The grounds are beautiful but we didn't walk round too much of them due to the time we had.
Greenway was busy when we visited but didn't feel overcrowded, neither did we have to queue at the cafe.
A really interesting place to visit and enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TGBWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Visitor Experience Intern at Greenway, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and so glad that you managed to see Greenway on a warm and sunny day! The house is very much a family one, lovely to hear that you enjoyed the story of Greenway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rain or shine, worth a visit”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We took the ferry from Dartmouth to Greenway. The ferry staff were most helpful and even delayed their departure for a couple of minutes, after the captain of the Kingswear / Dartmouth ferry radioed through to let them know that we were coming. Despite it raining, the boat trip was enjoyable and there was plenty to see. We received a warm welcome from the National Trust volunteers and were told about the history of the house and its famous occupant, Agatha Christie. There are written guides in each of the rooms and the "scrapbooks" are particularly interesting, giving a good insight into the life and work of AC. In one of the main rooms, a volunteer was playing the piano. We noticed that she had the music score for "What a Wonderful World" and she offered to play it for us. She played it beautifully. Unfortunately, the weather meant that a walk around the grounds was not possible this time (we did this during a previous visit in the sunshine and thoroughly enjoyed the grounds and views of the estuary) but we extended our visit by having a pleasant luch in the cafe. Rain or shine, Greenway is worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Visitor Experience Intern at Greenway, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. Sounds like you had a lovely journey over to us via ferry and so lad to hear that you enjoyed a warm welcome from our staff and volunteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must visit ...”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

... If you are in the area. Not an easy visit by car but a memorable one by boat. Also the perfect accompaniment to Coleton Fishacre ... Keep Fishacre as the one for something to eat, unless we dropped for an off day at the Greenway eatery.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thellusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Visitor Experience Intern at Greenway, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of Greenway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing