We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday getaway”
Review of Townstal Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Townstal Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for one night during the bank holiday weekend. We arrived early and left the car at the B&B and wandered off into Dartmouth. On our return we met the lovely Nigel, he gave us a map to show us how to get into the Town centre quicker than the way we had found and explained about breakfast etc.
Our room was large and perfectly adequate for our needs.
Nigel recommended the poached eggs for breakfast so we had to try them and they certainly lived up to our expectations.
We would definitely return and actually liked the fact that it was up a hill as it helped burn a few of the calories off that we had consumed during our cream tea.
The fact that free car parking was available was a big plus especially in the run up to regatta week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed 16th & 17th of August 2013, 4 Adults,2 Children.
Thank you Nigel,Jean & your brilliant family for making our stay a warm & pleasant one. Our room was numbers were 18 & 6, which was very clean & comfortable. Breakfast was first class, which was well organised from start to finish. This was a very speacial ocasion for the family as it was my father inlaw 70th Birthday,where we decided to spend the weeked in Dartmouth.He & My my Mother inlaw,Wife,& 2 Boys really enjoyed their stay so much,that we are planing to book up again very soon!
Many thanks again.
Jones & Richards Family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this very welcoming bed and breakfast. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with very efficient waitresses. The owners couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Will definitely be going back for a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a lovely Devon town. The price is good value for money. If you are driving you will have no problems. If not then you need to know a secret. I will share it with you - it is the local bus route number 90. It stops very close to the hotel and will take you up or down to the waterside. Those prepositions are carefully chosen. This is serious 'up' and 'down'. The buses run frequently and late enough. The initial walk 'up' was not funny.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Exceptionally warm welcome from Nigel and Jean. One of the friendliest hotel we have stayed in. Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was suburb served by very friendly staff.
Disappointed that there was no evening meal, but Nigel offered to run us down to the town which we appreciated the offer.
Overall excellent weekend and would not hesitate in returning to this Hotel.
We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked last minute. Got a warm welcome from the owner. Our family room nice and large, warm and clean. Breakfast was good - large selection to choose from. Farmhouse/Hotel is old skool and nice. Owner gave is crab buckets and nets to use while we stayed. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: nice short walk to town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oflahep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed overnight whilst touring. Welcoming and comfortable but a very old fashioned and room which smelt of dogs. Electricity supply was rather odd and was unable to charge my phone. Food at breakfast was however very good at this price.

Opposite naval college at top of steep hill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.5 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townstal Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townstal Farmhouse

Address: Townstal Farm House Townstal Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $123 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townstal Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townstal Farmhouse is a 16th century building situated in picturesque Dartmouth, oozing charm and character with beams and inglenook fireplaces. The farmhouse exudes ambience and warmth making it a perfect place to relax and unwind. Our nine individually designed bedrooms, whilst retaining character, are equipped to a high standard to ensure a comfortable stay. Breakfast is a la carte, cooked to order, and offers a wide choice of locally sourced produce wherever possible. We are licensed enabling guests to enjoy a drink in our garden or beside a log fire, depending on the season. We have on-site parking with the assurance that each room has an allocated a space. We aim to make your stay at Townstal Farmhouse as enjoyable as possible and above all hope you will join our many regular guests who return to this beautiful area of Devon. Book directly for discounted prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Townstal Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townstal Farmhouse Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing