We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this very welcoming bed and breakfast. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with very efficient waitresses. The owners couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Will definitely be going back for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
64
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a lovely Devon town. The price is good value for money. If you are driving you will have no problems. If not then you need to know a secret. I will share it with you - it is the local bus route number 90. It stops very close to the hotel and will take you up or down to the waterside. Those prepositions are carefully chosen. This is serious 'up' and 'down'. The buses run frequently and late enough. The initial walk 'up' was not funny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Exceptionally warm welcome from Nigel and Jean. One of the friendliest hotel we have stayed in. Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was suburb served by very friendly staff.
Disappointed that there was no evening meal, but Nigel offered to run us down to the town which we appreciated the offer.
Overall excellent weekend and would not hesitate in returning to this Hotel.
We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked last minute. Got a warm welcome from the owner. Our family room nice and large, warm and clean. Breakfast was good - large selection to choose from. Farmhouse/Hotel is old skool and nice. Owner gave is crab buckets and nets to use while we stayed. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: nice short walk to town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oflahep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed overnight whilst touring. Welcoming and comfortable but a very old fashioned and room which smelt of dogs. Electricity supply was rather odd and was unable to charge my phone. Food at breakfast was however very good at this price.

Opposite naval college at top of steep hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daithelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Dartmouth on the 10/07/13 for a special occasion and had originally booked for 3 nights. We were welcomed with open arms on our arrival by Nigel. Our room was spotless, and airy, the hosts made our stay extra special, and even welcomed our children when they came to the B&B to meet us, the breakfast was fresh and the service very good. We decided to stay an extra night if we could keep our room, which we did, considering how many people were also staying. I would not hesitate to return to Townstal Farmhouse, and if/when we return this is the first place that we will check to see if it has any rooms available. Thank you Jean and Nigel, you are wonderful hosts, and you made our time in Dartmouth even more special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed one night and it was comfortable enough and the food was adequate but it was nothing memorable for the price paid. Decor a bit dated.Have stayed at better and cheaper. Bus dropped us at the door, which was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disillusioned82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.7 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townstal Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townstal Farmhouse Hotel

Property: Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Address: Townstal Farm House Townstal Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townstal Farmhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townstal Farmhouse is a 16th century building situated in picturesque Dartmouth, oozing charm and character with beams and inglenook fireplaces. The farmhouse exudes ambience and warmth making it a perfect place to relax and unwind. Our nine individually designed bedrooms, whilst retaining character, are equipped to a high standard to ensure a comfortable stay. Breakfast is a la carte, cooked to order, and offers a wide choice of locally sourced produce wherever possible. We are licensed enabling guests to enjoy a drink in our garden or beside a log fire, depending on the season. We have on-site parking with the assurance that each room has an allocated a space. We aim to make your stay at Townstal Farmhouse as enjoyable as possible and above all hope you will join our many regular guests who return to this beautiful area of Devon. Book directly for discounted prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Townstal Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing