We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“British B&B accomodation as it should be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victorian House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian House
Ranked #16 of 54 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“British B&B accomodation as it should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Perfect location with an easy 5 minute stroll to the main harbour area of Dartmouth.
The breakfast was outstanding! Sue's home made breads and preserves to compliment the exceptional breakfast - served at a far more civilised time than the usual breakfast slot of 7-9am... so imnportant when you are on holiday and looking to relax.
Huge comfortable beds, well appointed and furnished rooms and bathrooms.
I would not hestitate in recommending The Victorian House to anyone who is looking for somewhere really special to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
109
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Only 5 mins walk from the main street and harbour so easy to leave the car in the car park and walk to restaurants, shops and activities. Alan and Sue the hosts provide a warm welcome and an excellent breakfast. The room was comfortable with good tea and ground coffee making facilities. A good choice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrahameHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a great B&B. The accommodation is of a very high standard and has very stylish decor.
The owners have put a lot of thought into everything. The breakfast is of a very high standard and all cooked to order. Its location is only a two minute walk to the shops and quay.
There is also parking available, which is a big bonus.
We had two rooms , The Penthouse and the Albert, both rooms are superb.Cleanliness of everything is 1st class. Highly recommend this B&B and will stay again in the future.
Well done to Sue and Alan, great hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karma667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Friendly welcome, nice room, decent breakfast. Good place to stay in Dartmouth. Short flat walk to town centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've stayed in many, many B&Bs over the years and I can say without a doubt that the stay in the Penthouse in Victorian House was the best couple of nights of the lot. It's little touches that make somewhere very special: the tea and coffee tray not only had china cups and saucers and heavy glassware, but glass containers of tea and coffee and, gasp, a little cafetiere and a glass caddy of ground coffee! Bliss for a proper coffee-lover. There were more glass caddies of cotton wool and supplies in the bathroom. The bed was big and comfortable and with great bedlinen.

Breakfast was so good my partner felt the need to photograph it! Great sausages - you can tell an establishment by the sausage it chooses! There were home-made bread, preserves and even home-made brown sauce - a first for me. After breakfast the proprietress offered us a complimentary cream tea for later in the day so when we returned from our day around Dartmouth, pretty even in the rain, there were home made scones and jam (and I dare say home clotted cream!) Exquisite.

I couldn't fault the place, the catering or the welcome. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Penthouse may LOOK expensive, but you get a lot for it. It used to be two rooms, but it is now o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ninakent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex,UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Having never visted Dartmouth area, we chose Victorian House and the Penthouse Room from tripadviser reviews. Thank you all. Sue & Alan were fantastic hosts, helpful and very thoughtful of your every needs. Had a lovely 4 days there and willl certainly return at some time. As has been said before, the rooms are lovely, the breakfast devine with so much home prepared breads, preserves etc and the Full English will leave anyone full till the evening. 5 minutes walk from some great eateries as well for your evening meals. Really no need to use the car for a few days stay. Thank You.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely, but the penthouse is definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalkySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just returned from a five night stay at the Victorian House after reading all the glowing reports on trip advisor it's all true this must be the best B&B in Dartmouth thanks to Sue & Alan for keeping such a lovely house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blox13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 54 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#6 of 54 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Anchor House
#11 of 54 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian House

Property: The Victorian House
Address: 1 Vicarage Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian House, based in Dartmouth, Devon is a B&B that offers large comfortable guest accommodation, with en suite bathrooms. Car parking is provided on site; and a five minute level stroll will take you to the River Dart & Town Centre. The Victorian House offers hairdryers, ironing facilities, TV, clock radio and free Wi-Fi for you to enjoy. Check in is between 3-7 pm although an earlier check-in can be arranged. Sorry no children under 14 years old due to low level sash windows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Dartmouth
The Victorian House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing