We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Stoke Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for just one night on a recent break to the area. We stayed in a Double Deluxe Room which was very well presented with a huge bed and super bathroom. We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool and sauna. All the staff were very pleasant and most welcoming. A lovely cooked breakfast set us up for our journey onwards

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
55
87
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have been visiting this lovely hotel for the last fourteen years. We absolutely love the location, close to the South West coastal path and wonderful Blackpool Sands. The staff are always welcoming and pleasant and the service in the restaurant is second to none. The rooms are spotless. We always have a sea view room. We have been all over the world but we still come back to this hotel as it's so relaxing. There is a tennis court,indoor and outdoor pools,table tennis,pool table,table football,pitch and putt,sauna,jacuzzi ,snooker room, giant chess in the garden or you could just relax and do nothing.. Bliss.

Room Tip: Sea view second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milliezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Stoke Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stat at Stoke Lodge again and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night only ,, and it was very nice ,
The hotel was quaint , staff friendly
and the amenities are all perfect.
One thing though it could use with a little touching up paint, vanish .
Other than that we would stay there again..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longhope
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 4 nights for our wedding anniversary and can not fault this family run hotel. We are frequent visitors and are always made to feel special, the hotel is perfect for relaxing and the staff are always very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is always excellent and there is an extensive wine list. The hotel is perfectly situated just a short drive from the beautiful town of Dartmouth, there are wonderful walks along the coastal paths and down to the local beach at Blackpool Sands and we would recommend the walk through the Blackpool Valley down to the beach. The hotel has great facilities included a tennis court and indoor and outdoor pools. We can't wait to return in the summer with our daughter for a relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Stoke Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights last week, the hotel was clean and staff were very helpful and pleasant. We stayed with our small dog and she was equally made welcome. Some parts of the hotel maybe are slightly dated but things like bathrooms were modern and contemporary. The only thing we felt needed up grading was the shower in the pool area. Food excellent. Our room had sea views, and we were lucky to have beautiful sunshine to make the views even better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

A perfect hidden gem in the devon countryside. Stoke lodge hotel was just perfect for relaxing and taking in the beautiful surroundings. The staff couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile. The hotel is on the coastal path and minutes away from Blackpool sands beach. We explored the area through the day and after. relaxed in the pool and jacuzzi. Living in london we were really after a sea-view so would definitely recommend paying a little extra to get the sea facing rooms. Looking forward to coming back this summer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

When I pulled up I thought it was closed, and entering the doors thought closed too!
Very dark, old fashioned and drab, cannot think why they can be rated four stars as have visited much nicer.
Reception very cluttered and tatty,with posters, pictures, coats hanging on wall in corridor.
Had a few hours to kill before eating and nowhere at all to buy and snacks, not even in the bar.
No wi fi in room, just the bar and lounge which I did not go into as both areas depressing and drab.
Room old fashion, worn and tired but adequate and clean with good comfy bed and good linen although seen better days. Shower good. Slept very well.
Walls very thin, I could hear the conversation from next door, but reading the previous reviews may have been put in this room due to company booking.
Restaurant again, drab and worn although light and airy due to location.
Evening meal and breakfast very good with excellent service.
All in all, average comfortable stay, ok for one night and good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine M, Owner at Stoke Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we were sorry to hear you found the decor not to your taste, we are constantly trying to up-grade all our rooms and public areas.
We do in fact serve freshly prepared food all day (we are sorry that we do not have a Vending Machine as requested, but have never in 33 years year been asked for this facility before) and offer Crisps, Nuts and Olives in our Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
2.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,007 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
122 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke Lodge Hotel

Property: Stoke Lodge Hotel
Address: Cinders Lane, Dartmouth TQ6 0RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stoke Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Stoke Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Hotel Dartmouth
Stoke Lodge Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing