We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fab Week!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting room with down river views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room with down river views
Up river views and sitting room Tall ship departing viewed from the sitting room, July 2015
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sitting room with down river views
Up river views and sitting room
Tall ship departing viewed from the sitting room, July 2015
View down the estuary and out to sea past the castle from the sitting room.
Seagulls at rest from the sitting room.
Kingswear from Spyglass sitting room
View from the roof terrace
Our new front door!
All new shower room
The moon over the estuary and dim lights fro Dartmouth castle from the sitting room
The new kitchen with small door onto the roof terrace
Dining table and Kitchen with the terrace behind
Flat screen TV and nautical items
View from sitting room - lovely!
View down over the lower ferry
The 'new' double bedroom
More of the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom 2.
Games, jigsaws, nauticalia, sailing books.
Nice cosy wood burner installed upstairs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irongiant...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Fab Week!”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Compact, comfortable, convenient, with a fantastic view across the Dart. Spyglass makes the perfect base from which to spend your vacation in Dartmouth and surrounding area. It is cosy but as they say, small but perfectly formed. You have everything you need to hand and the view really is fantastic, particularly first thing in the morning with the sun beaming in filling the upper room with a flood of warming sunshine. Conversely, dusk is just as pretty a time of day with the sun dipping and the houses over in Kingswear taking on the role of living fairy lights twinkling off the Dart, and the boats continuously jugging back and forth. The steps up to Spyglass can be a bit daunting and take a bit of getting used to as they are a little steeper and misshapen than most but it all adds to the character of the property and the town in general. A lovely, compact and cosy holiday home in a fabulous setting!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for your great review.I'm so glad you had a good time. Please do come again. Cheers Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrugate...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant apartment in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Where to start? The Spyglass is a delightfully maintained duplex apartment with views overlooking the River Dart and onwards out to sea. There are some old steps up to the apartment that are quite daunting on the first day when you are heavily laden with baggage but a little cardio is good for you and you soon get used to them. The ground floor has two ample sized bedrooms (one double, one twin) with plenty of storage, a shower room/WC and a space for coats and shoes at the bottom of the stairs. Upstairs is, the owner has made it into a delightfully quaint property with lots of lovely nautical additions. There's a nice, comfy sofa from which to enjoy those sea views, a couple of chairs plus a dining table in the lounge diner along with TV and DVD and a wood burning stove (unfortunately, we didn't get to use it as the weather was nice and the apartment stayed warm but it would be delightful in the colder months to get that going). The kitchen is well equipped with combi oven, fridge, washing machine and plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. There is also a little door/hatch up to the roof terrace to enjoy the last few rays of sun.
Most properties you stay at, I find you are only looking for a place to rest your head but we found ourselves looking forward to heading back to the cosy Spyglass at the end of the day as it really is a home from home.
It's location is a short, five minute walk to the town centre where you will find plenty of good pubs, restaurants, galleries and shops to while away a happy hour or three. It is only another couple of minutes the the main jetty where you can book a leisurely boat trip up river or out to sea. You get a parking permit to use in the town centre car park as you can only park for a couple of hours on the road outside the apartment. This is only marginally a pain as, sometimes, the car park is still full quite a bit of the time but a little patience and you're fine. You're only a short drive from Totnes, Brixham and Torquay (using car ferry) or the riverboats go there as well so you don't even need to move the car from it's hard won space.
We enjoyed the Fish and Chips from Rockfish and the Dartmouth Arms (3 minutes away) has a couple of half decent ales and a nice selection of TexMex. All in all, you NEED to stay here. The quality and location of the apartment, the gentle pace of life by the river and, oh just everything. We loved it and we're coming back. Thank you Martin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Wow! thanks for that glowing review - you've sold me on Spyglass and Dartmouth! Reading reviews like yours brings it back to me why I love staying in Dartmouth so much. Like Spyglass, it's a great, compact place that has so many things going for it. Thanks again - and please do come back. All the best. Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great views and an excellent location”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Spyglass in Dartmouth, the views are spectacular and the accommodation is ideally placed close to the town centre. We had no problem parking in the main car park in the town as long as we parked the night before or got there before 9.30, in fact we didn't move the cars some days as there were so many walks to do from the cottage. The accommodation is exactly as stated, the owner was very helpful and prompt in answering any questions we had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thanks. I still get a thrill when guests love Spyglass as much as I do! You are very welcome to come again. Regards Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin E
Cranleigh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful apartment. Has everything you could need - plus outstanding views”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The owner's photos don't exaggerate! The view is actually better than shown -
down the estuary, to Kingswear opposite and upstream - worth the rent on its own and more than justifying the effort required from the slightly challenging external steps.

The accommodation is well and imaginatively furnished, clean, comfortable and perfectly equipped for a stay of a week or two. The living/dining/kitchen in particular is very bright with huge windows at one end and four velux roof lights.

The location is just about perfect - far enough from the town centre to avoid weekend congestion but nothing is more than a 5 minute stroll away.

We would not hesitate to rebook if we find ourselves again in Dartmouth

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Aw thank you! We love it too! all the best and you are very welcome to stay again anytime. Cheers Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonewatc...
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good views”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage has good views but with some obstruction from the roof in front. The living area is very light and there are partial views of the river and trees from all of the windows. The owners have made good use of the limited space available with a generously sized shower and well equipped kitchen. There is a small cloakroom area and hooks on the backs of doors so lots of room for coats and shoes. The beds are very comfortable.
It is small so it would be a bit of a squeeze with four people, but we found it fine for two of us. You do have to be reasonably agile to get out on to the small roof terrace as there are two rungs to get up to the small door which you then climb through. Once there, there are good views and lots of sunshine until late in the day.
The steps leading up to the cottage are steep and uneven with two bends, but there is a handrail and a very bright outside light.
The location is excellent as it's close to the town but quiet.
We had very good weather so didn't use the wood burner as it was lovely and warm upstairs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Spyglass. Guests have described the views as 'panoramic' 'incredible''amazing'and even 'mesmerising' . All the numerous photographs are taken from Spyglass itself. Some people do find the steps difficult so they are mentioned twice in the property details, and I do not recommend Spyglass to the infirm or those with small children. All the best, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
1 review
“It really is cute, cost, quaint, quiet and has stunning views”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A really charming old cottage with a great modern loft conversion with kitchen, sitting area, a fantastic log burner (if you're staying in the winter) and panoramic views over the River Dart.

Lovely place to stay - would highly recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Hi - thanks so much for your review. It's great that people coming out of season get to use the log burner! I have the same one at home and love it. All the best, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSSteve
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming place and the most incredible views...”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Spyglass for a long weekend with friends and entered through the charming front door into the ground floor where there's the 'Captain's' double bedroom and the 'Crew's' twin bedroom and a stylish shower room.

However, the real charm is upstairs in this hidden gem. The view from the lounge and kitchen area is beautiful and almost mesmerising; there's certainly no need for any other entertainment! Really lovely views over Dartmouth and out to sea just invite you to stare and watch the comings and goings throughout the day! We became slightly obsessed with it. The lovely kitchen leads through a small door onto the terrace area where the views are also beautiful.

In the evening, the place and the view is different again, especially with the log burner lit and the lights dimmed; a really romantic and charming place.

We'll definitely be going again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Yay for another lovely review! Many thanks, and of course, please come back and visit again. Cheers Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing