We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views, every need anticipated.”
The Penthouse is located on top of Barrington House - the views are amazing! Truly luxurious.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Penthouse is located on top of Barrington House - the views are amazing! Truly luxurious.
Throw open the bi-folding doors and take in the view Sit in one of our sailcloth beanbags and watch the world go by
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Penthouse is located on top of Barrington House - the views are amazing! Truly luxurious.
Throw open the bi-folding doors and take in the view
Sit in one of our sailcloth beanbags and watch the world go by
The huge open plan living/kitchen/dining area
The modern kitchen
The College Room
The River Room
The Regatta Room
A great den for children
One of the 3 bathrooms
The view from the glass balcony
The large private decking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marhart
Arco da Calheta Madeira
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, but the owners make you feel your an intrusion to their life”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This property has a great view, but is now beginning to show its age, with shoddy torn leather furniture, leaking taps and indifferent wi fi! When the wifi didn't work, and could not be found behind the television, where the owners description explained. We phoned the owner and they didn't answer. When we went to their front door, it was pouring with rain for quite a while, and their children left me in the rain until their mother was located. I was not impressed and the owners attitude left much to be desired. We knew we were an intrusion as soon as we arrived. The owner could be seen darting away to avoid meeting us. Not a nice place to be, and the owners were very unhelpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2017
I am so sad to read this review and can not believe that Mr Moyes can be so rude. He has to be the worst guest we have ever had to stay at our property in all the 5 years that we have been running it. I should have known not to accept his booking in the first place when he said that he hated children and that didn't want any in sight. On arriving at the property he found the wifi not to be working at 7.47pm at night. He phoned me and unfortunately I didn't hear my phone as I was out for the evening. He immediately went down stairs and knocked on the front door and was extremely rude to my 14 year old daughter. I phoned him back at 7.54pm and he insulted me on the phone which my daughter could hear. My 17 year old son went to The Penthouse to sort out the wifi for him and found he was putting in the incorrect wifi code. The wifi was sorted immediately. The next day I spoke to Mr Moyes to check everything was ok and again he was extremely rude. His wife apologised on his behalf and said he was stressed from the journey. I do not recommend this guest and hope that this very unfair review does not stop happy friendly people from coming to stay at our beautiful properties where I can assure you that you will receive a warm welcome from me and my family. It is a shame that Mr Moyes didn't mention the flowers, prosecco, chocolates and all the other welcoming touches we provide.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic views, every need anticipated.”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We know the Dartmouth area well having rented holiday lets here before. We were so pleased with our choice this time. Beautiful views. Parking which is a bonus in Dartmouth. Very clean, comfortable beds, a very relaxing stay. We would definately recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGK25
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding accomodation & location”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were lucky to be staying at the Penthouse during the Regatta and we could not have asked for a better view for the fireworks or the air show or just the river in all of Dartmouth. The fact that the place was extremely toddler friendly (given the two hooligans who ran amok), allowed us grown ups to enjoy many a glass of wine and take in the gorgeous views. the small touches everywhere lent an air of luxury to the place and we would highly recommend Barrington house to anyone planning a visit to Dartmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Thank you for your great review - you probably had one of the best views in Dartmouth for the Regatta! Many thanks. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Spent a wonderful weekend in The Penthouse, the accommodation was fantastic and the views were stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing views
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabel F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Accommodation!”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Penthouse has the real wow factor. Beautiful views and stunning interior. Fantastic location for a weekend away with friends. Would highly recommend and I will definitely be back !
Mabel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior design - stunning
Liked least: Nothing !
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Thank you for your lovely feedback - so pleased you enjoyed your girlie weekend! It was lovely to meet you all. Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel C
Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views and stunning accomodation”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just had the most amazing weekend in this stunning penthouse with absolutely amazing views. This was a perfect place to celebrate a special birthday. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated rooms and stunning views of Dartmouth
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2016
Thank you Mel for your great review! So pleased you enjoyed your birthday weekend. Sarah X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hodgy1001
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic week in the stunning Penthouse”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our second stay in the Penthouse and it exceeded our expectations yet again. The apartment is beautifully decorated and incredibly comfortable. The views are breath-taking. Sarah thoughfully provides most things you need for small children so my daughter was well entertained with toys too - and I didnt have to cart tons of equipment with me! The rain kept us inside for most of the first weekend but it didn't matter at all as we had everything we needed to enjoy ourselves - huge kitchen / living space for my daughter to roam around, plenty of magazines and comfortable, recling chairs looking out over Dartmouth for the grannies (plus cookies and coffee!) Every detail is very well thought out. I can't recommend highly enough!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2016
Thank you for your lovely feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing