We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab and bucket?”
Review of Bucket & Crab Bar

Bucket & Crab Bar
Ranked #52 of 96 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: TQ6 9BH. Was Birssys Bar
Restaurant details
Description: TQ6 9BH. Was Birssys Bar
dorset, england
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Crab and bucket?”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here after the steam train and ferry trip? The menu was limited to four types of sandwiches (tuna & sweet corn, cheese and onion, ham and of course fresh crab) The beer was good and the sandwiches when they arrived were fresh and well filled. Service was friendly and polite and well worth a return visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeaselMcbeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Dartmouth”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We always find time for a couple of pints in the Bucket and Crab ever since we popped in around 10 years ago with our kids (then about 8/9 years old) and they were given the loan of crab lines, buckets and free crab bait to go crabbing off the side while we drank.

Such a friendly place. As others have said, the best crab sandwiches and a top pint of ale too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stopped in here for a quick bite for lunch. It was quick and easy and the crab sandwiches were great. The beer was excellent too and the servers were very friendly

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laficabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An absolute must !”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is our favorite bar in Dartmouth, the welcome is always friendly whenever we visit and i really believe they serve the best Crab sandwiches in Dartmouth ! They have regular live entertainment and show sporting events on the two tv screens. The staff are experienced and even when very busy are still friendly to both locals and visitors. This time of year its lovely to sit outside and watch the activity on the river, pop in next time your in Dartmouth and see for yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our visit, very welcoming!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After spotting this bar whilst strolling along the river front we decided to pop in for a quick drink. We were made to feel very welcome by the two female bar staff and enjoyed sipping our drinks seated looking out to the water/boats. We noted they offered simple sandwiches as a lunch option and saw a nearby table order several which looked pretty good. It is a sports themed bar, with much memorabilia dotted around the bar and has a very nice 'feel' to the bar. We certainly didnt notice any dog smells etc noted by a previous reviewer.

We returned for a late afternoon drink the next day and once again we were greeted with genuine warmth. We timed it well as they were offering a 'Happy Hour' between 4-7pm, so we enjoyed reduced price drinks whilst chatting with some of the locals/regulars.

Would certainly recommend popping in for a drink. With its ideal water-front location, some outdoor seating and very welcoming staff we will certainly return when next in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucindajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucket & Crab Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bucket & Crab Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing