We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think the restaurant must be more generous than the takeaway!”
Review of Wheelhouse

Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Take away and licensed restaurant serving great British fish and chips,(including calamari, scampi, seafood platter and specials such as skate, hoki, rock and plaice) brilliant burgers,pies and pasties fresh crisp salads and sandwiches. Children's menu, highchairs and changing facilities
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Judging by the amount of very positive reviews for this place, we were very surprised when we visited their takeaway for a portion of chips. We asked for a large, although I think they only offer one size (server didnt correct us, but I noticed just one price on display so I assume it is one size only). When we opened it up it was really quite a poor amount. A small tray which was only just nearly filled. If we were to get a portion that size where I live, there would be MANY complaints. The chips themselves were good, but why such a small portion? Maybe the girl who served us was less than generous, or we were just unlucky, but we would not return.

As stated, I note many positives for the restaurant and when I looked at what people had been served, they did appear to be more generous, shame we didnt get anything like that from the takeaway.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucindajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJSDevon, Manager at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

I'm sorry if you received a small portion of chips on your recent visit. The server should have advised you that we only do one portion size.
"Hardly full" doesn't sound like our portions at all.
We aim for a portion size between 8 and 10 ounces. Ample for one person we feel, not designed to be enough for 2 , though many customers do feel it is enough and order 1 to share.

We do not use a portion shovel like certain well known fast food chains where you might receive half the weight in frozen, shoe- string fries that really don't taste of much , for the same cost.

I'm glad you thought the chips were good, we use top quality potatoes, prepared daily and change our oil regularly to ensure a high quality, clean tasting product.

Despite the fact that wholesale potato prices are triple this time last year, we have not reduced our portions or increased our prices as we have a robust local trade who expect consistent portion sizes and stable pricing. We are not here to exploit the tourist trade.

There are other chip shops in town, and elsewhere, where you may receive more chips for less money..and indeed we know of some where you will get less chips for more money!

That said...it's a wonder our chips aren't £3.00 per portion...

Unlike some chip shops / cafes/ mobile catering vans.. we are registered for VAT, and so 30p of the sale price goes straight to the VAT man. ( The tax man then comes and the end and taxes any profit left.)

Unlike some other catering establishments we pay our staff above The National Minimum Wage, we pay all employers and employee national insurance contributions due - no one is paid cash in hand by us.

We pay sick pay and 5.6 weeks holiday pay per year. All staff receive their pro rata share of tips, we dont keep them - again, unlike some establishments.

Our staff non-local are provided with good accomodation, there is no-one sleeping on our restaurant floor at night, nor are they crammed 6 to a room. - unlike some establishments

We don't employ youngsters to "do the job" on £3.00 an hour

Our stocks are bought from reputable suppliers, no stock is purchased for cash.

Turning out a high quality product is a an expensive business, often achieved in "very trying circumstances" but i'd rather do it properly and sleep well at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

530 - 534 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

While standing on the quayside by the town pontoon at Dartmouth waiting for a boat trip, we had to ask a couple sitting and eating a meal "Where DID you get those fish and chips?" It looked absolutely fabulous. They said just around the corner. Three hours later we got of the boat and headed just slightly left of the pontoon, across the road and down a side street. There on the opposite corner is the Wheelhouse (so less then 2 minutes away). It had a lovely seaside appearance (blue and whites) and the staff were very friendly when we entered. Caught off guard, my wife an I actually ordered Pasty, chips and beans and a pot of tea. The meal when it came was piping hot and it was really enjoyable. I still think of the fish though. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BillWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

As we were going to Dartmouth for the first time in ages I decided to research with Trip Advisor to find somewhere to eat. After reading many reviews we decided to try The Wheelhouse. So glad we did. Excellent fish and chips served quickly by friendly efficient staff. The restaurant is clean and bright and the meal itself freshly cooked with loads of choice. We will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Thank Lel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited Dartmouth a few years ago and remembered our Excellent Wheelhouse Fish Supper.
We returned over the May Bank holiday.We were not disappointed our Haddock and Cod was covered in the best batter with great chips and mushy peas.The regular portions were the same as others large portions.The service was quick and friendly but expect a wait for a table in this busy place. It was not cheap but it was the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is fish and chips at its best. Proper fish in proper batter.
So tasty and table service with polite staff made it all the better.
Would love to go there again!

2  Thank tracy80bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelhouse also viewed


Been to Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing