We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let them palm you off with one of their very poor rooms”
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I think this is probably a hotel where some rooms are good and some are awful. Ours - 22 - was awful. It had no natural ventilation. The window overlooks the internal staircase which is open to the bar, and means the noise from the bar travels straight up and into your room. And in the morning you're woken up by the staff running up and down the stairs to set up. The cold water supply to the room stopped so a shower in the morning was a scalding experience. The room had nice quirky furniture and deco, though the double bed was tiny and most couples would find it pretty uncomfortable. Overall, very poor value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devonlover90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were lost ,having fled Plymouth in the dark we stumbled into Dartmouth . We found ourselves at this lovely place . The staff were very helpful and friendly .
There is a nice bar and restaurant to the right as you go in and a young persons bar to the left . The only possible drawback to the hotel is this young bar . It is used by Teens, Tweens and Navy officers in training at the nearby college . The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed in there , rude at times and it was very loud . The main bar to the right is large and filled with many local characters . The food seemed excellent , bar staff very pleasant . I would not be put off going back by the louder bar but you see that first and it might put some people off from the start .

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacosteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We booked this hotel on a whim fancying a night in this picturesque town. And it was perfect.

The location in the centre of town on the harbour, overlooking the river could not be beaten anywhere in England. The staff were all charming. Our room was clean with a lovely bathroom. The breakfast was so good we regretted not having dinner there the night before. The restaurant has great views.

There are a couple of lively bars that were busy with saturday night drinkers but the hotel also has several little areas for guests to relax in.

Even our dog was happy as they provided her with her own bed and 'doggy treat'. It's not a cheap hotel but quality comes at a price and you get what you pay for. My only minor complaint would be that our room was on the third floor and the climb might not suit everyone

Dartmouth is a delightful little place with many charming pubs and restaurants although I bet it gets packed at the height of the season. We shall be back at the Royal Castle as soon as we can for a long week end.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

30th wedding anniversary - we had no time available to sneak abroad so looked for a hotel in the South of the country. Never been to Dartmouth so - guided as always by Tripadvisor we chose the Royal Castle for our two night stay. Fabulous welcome at check in ( we didn't announce it was our anniversary at all ) - car whisked away and luggage brought to room immediately. Booked table in restauarant for the evening. Our room ( 15 ) great with wonderful views - as per others' comments. Hotel is old but unique we felt - a few squeaky floorboards and a few noises "off" but nothing to detract from this location. No probs with hot water ( as per some comments ) ours was piping hot with lots of it. The service was out of this world - immediately and ongoing from reception ladies ( Ona and Gzregorzk ? looked after us throughout in restuarant - breakfast and both evenings ) and if you can find a better breakfast combined with a better view I'd love to know. Dinner both nights was spot on - we had a beer downstairs beforehand in the older bar - this is what a pub should be like - fabulous ambience and so different to the City in the Midlands where we live where a wrong glance in a bar will get you a confrontation with a shaven headed tattooed person. People without exception made us feel most welcome. We subsequently found the hotel car park ( 500 yards away ? ) and were able to park up there ourselves Sat night leaving keys at reception. Sun morning before we checked out the car was waiting outside - great service., Lots of cleaning going on in public areas - lovely places to sit and chill with lots of newspapers around. We travel widely and have experienced £1200 per night hotels ( on expenses ! ) but The Royal Castle was very special to us and for us. Not too sure if Dartmouth will be on our visiting list again ( so many places to see still ) but if we return, then this hotel is the one. Highly recommended by us !!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Just returned from a "three nights for the price of two" stay at the Royal Castle. An excellent hotel with attentive and courteous staff. We had a room on the top floor of the hotel which gave stunning views of the River Dart (well worth paying extra for the river view) and across the estuary to Kingswear. Our four poster bed was really comfy and gave a good night's sleep. The hotel is of interest in its own right with reminders everywhere of its historic past, resulting in a very special atmosphere. Food also was very good - we were going to try out the restaurants of Dartmouth, but ended up eating every night in the downstairs Galleon Bar! This has a good menu with specials of the day including local fish and seafood. Breakfast (in the first floor Nu restaurant) was also of a high standard with the cooked "Castle Breakfast" served on piping hot plates (so many hotels these days fail at this very first step).

Only word of warning, the hotel has no lifts - only a glorious inner staircase - so if you have any mobility problems ask for an accessible room (our room was right at the top of the hotel). The hotel has free wi-fi for those who can't leave their work behind - this was rather slow, probably because we were on the outer reaches of its range. This was one of the few times when I did not see my car for the entire stay - one of the staff whisked it away to a private car park soon after arrival and then efficiently returned it on the morning of our checkout.

All in all, a jewel found in Dartmouth.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickxOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This is a great hotel in an ideal location and I go along with all the good things said by other reviewers but if you want a riverview room and have a choice don't choose The Lookout. Great view,great bed but the bathroom is pure 80's. Other rooms have lovely new tiled bathrooms with jacuzzi baths this has a bog standard plastic one with a bit of hardboard around it. Such a shame as it let down the rest of the room and leaves you feeling a bit put out as the other riverview rooms are more luxurious. I will definately come back to the Royal Castle, just not in The Lookout

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Fabulous imposing hotel in the town centre overlooking the Dart Estuary. A superb setting for a couple of nights away from it all. Worth spending a few more pounds for a riverview room. My wife and I spent much time sat in the wingback chairs just watching the world go by outside. Our room was not huge but perfectly adequate and was very tastefully decorated with some beautiful old furniture.
The bathroom was excellent with a jacuzzi bath for good measure.
Not a gripe, more of an observation that the floors are rather creaky, noticeable if there are people in the room above. This only to be expected though if you stay in a building of this age.
The Hotel had a very quirky and interesting interior with an almost Hogwarts style stair case. Make sure you check out the Library.
The staff are faultless and very friendly with nothing too much trouble. Obviously our main dealings were with the reception desk staff and they were exceptional.
The food and wine in the hotel restaurant were wonderful and very well priced for an establishment of this type.
The Galleon bar downstairs is open to the public and obviously extremely popular, surely recommendation enough. We had a wonderful evening here with some old friends who live in Brixham. There is a second downstairs bar which we didn't use so couldn't comment but looked much more modern than the Galleon bar.
Parking in Dartmouth nigh on impossible but the hotel has a car parking service which takes all the stress out of this. Your car is parked for you and then delivered to the front of hotel within a couple of minutes of asking.
The town itself is stunning, lots of beautiful buildings, classy shops, restaurants and art galleries. Very impressed indeed.
Finally, if you go out into the town and, like me, you appreciate a good pub then search out The Cherub just round the corner. An awesome 14th century building. Beautiful.
We have an unwritten rule that we never go back to the same place twice as there are always other places to explore but I'd go back here for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
321 reviews
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $154 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing