We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location Great hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location Great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time staying in here, wonderful rooms very friendly staff and dog friendly. This is a perfect location To stay in Dartmouth, if you're thinking of going with your family or just a romantic weekend I recommend it to all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nachopolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
We are always delighted to receive such a lovey review, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another lovely break, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    208
    60
    32
    25
See reviews for
151
515
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

If your in Dartmouth on a Sunday, go to the Royal Castle for your carvery. You may pay more than the others, but it's fantastic and plentiful. The views from the restaurant are fantastic, the staff are attentive and very helpful.

I would thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Whippy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Overall our stay was very pleasant.

The reception staff were very nice (Sorry - my son didn't get chance to show the lady how to make loom band bracelets), the building has character, the breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and pleasant views of the harbour.

The only minus point was room 28 temperature. The weather was superb whilst we were in Dartmouth but when we arrived in our room it felt like a sauna! I think they know this as there were at least 3 fans in the room already in use but to be honest all this did was swirl around the hot air. The lady on reception (think she was from Newcastle?) did put extra fans in once I complained and she also gave us a round of drinks on the house so thank you for that

The room is at the very top of the hotel so I guess the saying heat rises is correct but at times I think its inappropriate to place a family with young children in such a place.

The Duty Manager did comment that a/c was being fitted in the room. I hope this is the case as when temperatures are high, it really doesn't make for a pleasant stay.

As for the price, I get he fact you pay a premium for its location but perhaps you can review your price structure based on what room you are in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 28 when temperatures are going to be high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JH1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited during the Olympic Games Opening in 2012 and enjoyed our stay very much. Pleased to report that nothing has changed much our view remains the same the Royal Castle is a First Class Tourist Hotel. Now appears there are three in the stable now and we visited one of the Hotels in Totnes the 'Royal Seven Stars' which on first impressions looked equally as good.

Room Tip: All different so look on their website - remember there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaleighRimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent service all the time and are pleased to know that even two years on we are doing well. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a sunday evening Carvery Roast. Plates small so portion sizes a little mean but it was all tasty and the staff were friendly. Very nice atmosphere and interesting pub. Loo's upstairs and there was another carvery for the residents which looked and smelled very nice

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery. Just to let you know our upstairs Carvery in our restaurant is open to residents and non-residents alike but can get very busy so be sure to book if you come again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed in The Castle Hotel for one night at the end of a week travelling around. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the room (No 15) was wonderful. The views over the river were fantastic and it is a lovely way to watch the world go by. The breakfast was also good and whilst we were eating the owner mingled and spoke to each table of guests which was really nice to see. When we spoke to him he was very friendly and happy to talk to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are glad the Royal Castle provided a good end to your travels and allowed you to relax. Mr way our owner is usually on hand to answer questions and queries at breakfast allowing you the opportunity to plan ahead for the day. We hope you can come back again soon and relax again. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just returned from a five night break at this wonderful hotel. The holiday gets off to a good start as the staff remove your luggage and then valet park the car for you. We didn't bother using the car at all, boats and trains can take you everywhere you need to go.
The room are all different and have their own character. Ours had what remains of a priest's hole in it! Tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits are provided in the room and a lovely touch, bottled water and ice replenished every day (other hotels take note).
It's well worth paying the extra for a river view, ours was on the second floor but the Lookout at the top is another great one to go for.
Newspapers were delivered to the rooms if requested about 7am. (The pleasure of lying in bed and reading a newspaper with a cup of tea!)

The negative comments? There aren't any - we'll return to this fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: River view rooms worth the extra, only slight downside is you might get some noise from the bars but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We believe in good old fashioned hospitality here at the Royal Castle and we are glad you appreciated those extra little touches believing that is what puts us ahead of the rest. We hope to welcome you back again soon, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Property: Royal Castle Hotel
Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing