We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, Divine food and Fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
swindon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, Divine food and Fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We popped in to the Royal Castle Hotel for a late afternoon drink following a wander around Dartmouth. Initially, we just wanted a place to sit whilst considering the options for our evening meal. Having spent some time looking through TripAdvisor reviews (and listening to comments from others dining in the lounge bar) we decided to stay.

I had the devon burger whilst my partner had the pie of the day (lamb with root veg served with plenty of summer vegetables- £12.95).

I have never heard my partner be so complimentary of a meal we have had (other than when I cook Sunday lunch!). The lamb pie was "divine" and the veg/new pots were cooked perfectly.

Neither of us are particularly fans of seafood but the Royal Castle Seafood Chowder looked delicious and seemed to be a popular choice in the restaurant as did the sea bass which was the meal of choice for a table of 6 next to us (empty plates all round).

As for the service, the joyous Tamsyn looked after us as though we were locals so we ended up staying for a glass or two more.

Comfortable place to sit for a coffee, a pint or a dog biscuit depending on your preference (water bowl for dogs that are also made most welcome).

Would definitely recommend and would return without hesitation.

Bon appetite!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieBunnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    219
    62
    35
    25
See reviews for
166
538
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visit Dartmouth regularly and each time this place never fails to deliver. Service in the lounge is faultless, the food and drink of a very high quality, with an ever changing menu sensibly priced. The atmosphere is always buzzy with plenty going on and food service is always prompt and efficient. The sports bar next door is equally as good for a more lively atmosphere!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I recently spent a long weekend at this great, nay, brilliant hotel in Dartmouth. Several pointers for those looking for accommodation: PRO: It's a a great hotel with great staff, a fabulous bar/restaurant and a superb location, with great rooms. CON: If you have any mobility problems forget it - this is an old building with lots of stairs, so don't bother. Parking is outside the hotel and they take your car from you, so don't expect to be door to car.
Honestly though, best hotel in Dartmouth.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brother_Cadfael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Perfect location. Valet car parking is a good start. Efficient check in and early access to room a bonus. Rooms well furnished and very comfortable. Service in restaurant for breakfast a little hap-hazard but food when served very good. A little on the pricey side at £200+ per night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey-G1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I and my wife have been staying here for many years. I didn't realise that a 13th episode of Fawlty Towers had been made until I read the recent review entitled 'shocking' from Louise C. I can only assume that Basil and Louise were on a busman's holiday, all the way from Fawlty Towers (Glen eagles) in nearby Torquay. What a load of rubbish, Nigel and his team are nothing short of brilliant, and any problems are sorted without delay. The management's response was spot on, and if anyone can find a better hotel in this part of the world, I'd like to know about it !

Room Tip: All rooms are good, river view are best, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johns12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spent just one night at this hotel whilst in Dartmouth on business. I seemed quite expensive but we were offered a 25% out of main season discount and then a much better corporate rate, which made it excellent value The room we had overlooked the old harbour and the River Dart Estuary and was a great sight when we opened the curtains on the first morning of our stay. The room was individual, quite spacious and had a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was excellent and even had a Spa bath, which my wife really enjoyed. We weren't overly impressed with the restaurant menu or prices and despite the great views from the restaurant it looked a bit dismal, so after walking around the town for 30 minutes only to find most of the decent restaurants were closed; maybe because it was a Tuesday night, we went back to the Hotel, to eat there. We had to order at the bar food order point but the service was really quick and the food was quite impressive and sensibly priced. The following morning my wife had breakfast in our room whilst I attended a meeting downstairs. She really enjoyed her breakfast but the one I had was not too good. Overall I would say that I would happily return to this hotel and hope to return maybe for a couple of nights in September when it's going to be less busy out of season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobclubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff could not have been more accommodating, from the moment we arrived and were greeted by Michelle who arranged for our bags to be taken to our rooms. The Sunday special included flowers and chocolates as well as carvery (excellent) and delicious breakfast. We needed a later check out and once again this was not a problem. We will look forward to a return visit very soon. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your great review. The celebration package that we offer on the Sunday is excellent value and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope that you do come soon and see us again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Property: Royal Castle Hotel
Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing