We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel and meeting place that works on all levels”
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A special birthday outing was the reason for our first visit to this hotel and we chose one of their many innovative special deals which in our case was the Sunday dinner bed and breakfast deal. We were greatly impressed.

We reiterate the many notes of praise on trip adviser for the friendly and helpful staff, the quality of rooms and well located central location of this hotel. In all respects we were greatly impressed.

I would like to focus on another area which caught our attention and that was the ease with which the hotel was able to cope with many disparate groups of people all at the same time. For example on Sunday when we arrived there were diners in the upstairs restaurant whilst downstairs in the two bars we witnessed local boat owners who had come in for a pint and a natter, family lunches, tourists out for a walk just needing a coffee and a football club team whose match had been cancelled. Later a jazz group played in one bar whilst in the other there was a double screen showing of a rugby match.

On the following morning we were astonished to see roast joints being cooked on an open fire in the main bar, not far from a ladies committee meeting and further down the bar was a family group celebrating a birthday, not to mention the locals at the bar reading the free newspaper.

All these activities went on without anyone batting an eyelid but always under the watchful eye of the attentive approachable staff.

Clearly this is a well run hotel. Well done everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual and interesting but rooms at the front have the view over the Marina for sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your experiences at the Castle. We are so pleased you managed to witness the ‘charm’ of the place. We always have a lot going on here and try to cater for all when possible. We have Jazz playing every Sunday afternoon, with the Harbour bar cheering after a favourite team next door. Our staff are always on hand to help where possible and try and give that extra special touch. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sadly we didn't stay at the Royal Castle this time around opting instead for a local B&B, however we ate there two nights running so impressed were we with the place and especially the staff. The carvery on a Sunday in The Grill Room (booking recommended) was excellent value at £18.95 for three superb courses and the bar food on Monday was just as good.
Look out for the staff - so courteous and a lot of fun. Thanks to Cata in the Grill Room, Jimi in the bar, and the wonderful Phil Lyons, who made us feel so very welcome. Thanks to him, we're coming back later in the year!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millie A, Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for such a great review.
We are so happy that the staff here made your experience; they are a fantastic bunch and a real pleasure to work with as well. Our Carvery is something we have improved within the last few months so it is always excellent news to hear that we are heading in the right direction.
Hopefully see you again later in the year. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a 'quirky' hotel run by a quirky owner whose personality rubs off on every aspect of the hotel including the staff, in a positive way. Don't take quirky as being negative, far from it.

Our room was excellent, we had a court view room which sort of looks into the hotel centre/stairs. It was very clean and comfortable and had everything you would need.

Breakfast was superb with everything you'd need or want and was well cooked, to order.
The bar areas are excellent, in particular the galleon bar.

I'd thoroughly recommend eating here on an evening or afternoon as well, Good value (For Dartmouth), great choice and well prepared.

The staff are excellent, always have a smile and will always do their very best to accommodate.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely 100% YES

Only negative, and it's a petty point. This is an old building, so creaks and groins and can be a little noisy during the day. However, its a tiny point so don't let it put you off one bit. I promise you'll love it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. The Galleon bar is a great place to go and sit and embrace the atmosphere of the Royal Castle Hotel whilst sitting next to an open fire. Just what you need with the weather that we are having at the moment. We look to having you stay with us again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for the third time last week and our high opinion still holds true. Really interesting building and superbly appointed rooms. We had the "lookout" room on the top floor and loved it's unusual layout and stunning view over the river.

The staff are first class. Very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was plentiful and of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtoZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and for coming 3 times now. We are so glad that you enjoyed the 'Lookout' room with the fabulous views across the river. We hope to see you again soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I had a truly great stay at this hotel last week-end. The hotel building itself is really interesting and very well appointed, and our room was extremely comfortable and had a brilliant view over the roof tops of the town. Perhaps best of all were the staff who couldn't have done more for us, and they have even sent on an item we left by mistake in the room. Nothing was too much trouble. All in all, a wonderful and very memorable week-end away at a miserable time of the year. We are certainly keen to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellwessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Sending on your item was no trouble at all and it was great to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel possibly when the weather has improved. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at The Royal Castle Hotel for just one night in early February, this was a birthday treat for my wife. We tried to get a couple of nights away but the hotel was already fully booked. We parked outside the hotel and checked in, this was very speedy and we were shown to our room. Our car was then parked for us in the hotel car park near by.

We were given room 19, a lovely room with a view of the small harbour area and river beyond. We adored the room, it was very tasteful in decor. The bathroom was marvellous, spacious and had a Jacuzzi bath. My wife then noticed that there was a birthday card and a box of delicious fudge on the dressing table and a note wishing her a happy birthday from everyone at the Royal Castle Hotel. This was a lovely gesture.

We dined in the Galleon bar and were not disappointed, My wife ordered a rump steak which she said was cooked to perfection, I went for pork loin served with mash. 'Delicious'!!!
Breakfast was served on the first floor with a glorious view of the river, again the food was tasty and well cooked.
We cannot wait to visit The Royal Castle Hotel again in the future, we enjoyed our stay from start to finish it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Thank you to everyone who made our stay so delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Really pleased to see you both enjoyed your short break with us. We do try and provide little gestures if we know there is a special event happening, so glad it was appreciated! We'll look forward to seeing you again one day. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Popped into this hotel for a bite to eat at lunch last week and it was absolutely lovely, delicious in fact! Lovely setting in front of the river, ate in the bar with a lovely fire blazing and thoroughly enjoyed it haven't stayed in the hotel but would definitely consider it now, and absolutely intend to return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank JeanEllen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Pleased to read you all enjoyed your recent bar lunches with us. We'll certainly look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit. Regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
319 reviews
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quayside Hotel
Quayside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brixham
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range: $149 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing