We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$337
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summerhill Hotel(Paignton)
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveler rating
703
262
74
40
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
262
74
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalleon barthe grilla river view roomjacuzzi bathno liftcurry nightbar foodthe riverboat floatoverlooking the harbourflights of stairsfour poster bedsunday eveningpark your carfirst floorfirst classcrab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It is a truism that in the hospitality industry that staff can make or break a customer's experience. Sadly there are still businesses which don't give staff the attention they need. Fortunately the Royal Castle hotel's management - there are two other hotels on the chain so they will be worth exploring - have seemingly invested in capable, friendly and knowledgeable staff. From the receptionist, who arranged parking of our car (parking spaces being at a premium in Dartmouth) through the bar staff to the extremely efficient waiter at the evening meal I was consistently impressed by staff who were not just 'doing a job' but rather were part of a well organised and motivated team.
The bedroom was fine with a view over the river Dart. The restaurant menu was interesting, with something to easily tempt each of the four of us, with meals which were well presented and correctly cooked in accordance with the demands of the diners.
The Royal Castle's right hand side bar has the feel fair venue for locals. A good range of beers was on offer and the bar food looked of similar quality to that available in the upstairs
restaurant.
The internal decorations are worth spending time looking at: there is a number of paintings and wall mounted items which add to the 'feel' of the establishment. It is a joy to be somewhere where the designers of a multinational's marking department have not been let loose on the internal fixtures and fittings.
There is plenty of sights to see and do in Dartmouth and across the water -three ferries available - in Kingswear. Walk out of Kingswear along the coast path and after about a mile or so you can view a memorial to Colonel H Jones.

Room Tip: Worth paying a supplement for a river view. Room 14 is recommended.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Reviews such as yours are always such a pleasure to read.... we do our utmost to provide that extra special something when it comes to customer service, and the staff are always thrilled when the compliment is re-paid! Our thanks. Kind regards from all the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend break in November and had a really lovely time. All the staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was to much trouble. We ate in the grill restaurant twice and had some lovely food which was very well cooked and presented and fairly reasonably priced. Our room was very well presented, very clean and had good furnishings and a lovely river view. Breakfast was excellent and had a vast selection of quality items to choose from. Overall a very nice place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgandkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is truly appreciated by all the staff. Best wishes from all of us, and I do hope you will come and stay again another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We got married at the Royal Castle on Friday 2nd August. I'm writing this review 3months later so have had time to reflect and am not just on a post wedding high. It truly is 5star.

We had our wedding Reception at the Royal Castle Hotel, but Lucy, one of the managers helped us to arrange the whole day as we are not from the area. Nothing was too much trouble for either her or Michelle, either on the lead up to the wedding or on the actual day. Michelle went above and beyond her call of duty to look after my disabled mum, and Lucy made us feel like no request was too silly. i kind of designed my own menu/dessert which i know may have caused the chef a bit of a headache but it really did add to the personal touch service that you get at the Royal Castle. Between the reception and river cruise the staff worked tirelessly to transport our flowers and bunting onto the boat so that we didn't have to pay for two lots of decorations. Michelle from the hotel came to the booking office the day before to help with the wedding rehearsal and to make sure everything went smoothly on the day -,which it did- thanks to the staff at the Royal Castle it couldn't of gone better.

Considering we got married at Churston Booking Hall, then hired the observation carriage of the steam train to take us to Dartmouth, followed by the reception at the hotel and then the night do on the river boat, we felt we got extremely good value for money in the absolutely beautiful location of Dartmouth. There were even dolphins in the harbour which made it even more magical. I especially like how glasses of wine/sparkling cider were constantly topped up for those who were drinking it rather than being provided by the glass. For me, there is nothing worse than seeing full glasses of wine being wasted!

Back to the food. Canapés on the platform were fantastic and there were plenty. The Crab and fresh bread for the starter was to die for. We all had fish, chips and mushy peas for the main course - it was an absolutely massive portion! You got two pieces of fish each! I think the kids portion would have been enough for me! Complements to the chef and the service team as guests commented that from the top table being served to the last table (around 60 portions) it only took around 7mins. Which for that amount of food to be served still piping hot is incredible really. The dessert of Eton mess (served in an ice cream cone) was lovely, and I was told due to us being seated later than expected (through no fault of the hotels) the chef had had to redo. Which we really appreciated. We selected a cheese platter and local chutneys for the evening reception, which again was fab. Personally I would have liked some Brie on the platter but it's a minor thing. As we area own by our friends as cider drinkers we really wanted cider to feature at the wedding. Lucy was able to recommend sparkling rose cider on the platform and sparkling cider for the toast and on the boat. All produce was local which was really important to me.

Overall, if you're looking for a unique wedding venue with second to none service and food,at a reasonable price considering the average price of a wedding, I would 100% recommend the Royal Castle. My only minor disappointment, which I'm sure is not down to the hotel but other regulations, is that the river cruise finishes too early. The party was only just getting going when it was time to disembark! We really needed a couple more hours! However, I must also say a huge thank you to Steve and his crew, on the Dart Explorer, who went out of his way to pick up and drop off guests throughout the evening.

A massive thank you to all involved. It was certainly the best day off my life and a huge majority of the guests have said it was genuinely the best wedding that they have ever been too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Well what can we say?! I know Lucy, Michell and the rest of the teams will be only too pleased to read your super review; and as you say, sometimes it's good to write a review a little while later to allow for greater reflection. Delighted you enjoyed your very special day, and in such style! Not sure we can take credit for Danny the dolphin though. Do come back and see us for your anniversaries, or any other time. Best wishes from all at the RCH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Six of us went to the Royal Castle Hotel for the Tuesday night curry, the food was fantastic great value, real ales was excellent, good atmosthere. We would all like to thank one of the waitresses who's name is "Tamsym" such a wonderfull girl with a great sense humour. Well done Royal Castle and Tamsym , we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggy507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Many thanks for such a super review, delighted you enjoyed your curry evening, and your kind compliments regarding Tamsyn's service will certainly be passed onto her. Best wishes from all of us .... including Tamsyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our stay at The Royal Castle Hotel was a gift from our dearest friends to celebrate our 70th birthdays. Our friends came too, so that was a bonus. The car was valet parked for us, as parking is limited in front of the hotel, and our luggage taken to our rooms by a porter (I didn't see a lift but maybe there was one). Wow, what a view we had from our bedroom window across the River Dart and the en suite bathrooom had the largest spa bath I have ever seen. I would certainly recommend that you book Room No 1 with flowers and chocolates, very romantic. The Sunday carvery in the restaurant that evening was excellent, also the "cooked to order" breakfast the next morning. The cereals and fruit juices were "buffet style" which meant we were able to take our time and have a leisurly breakfast which is always a good start to any day. The location of the hotel is very central for "browsing" the many boutique type shops and art galleries close by. Would love to visit again in the future as it was certainly a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Room No 1 overlooks the River Dart
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skelaswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thrilled that you enjoyed your 70th birthday treat, and trust your friends staying here with you, did as well. Unfortunately we cannot have a lift as the 400 year old structure simply couldn't take it, but pleased you found the stairs to the second floor not a problem for you all. Hope to see you for another celebration! Regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews