We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dartmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dartmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fabulous hotel and fantastic location. Very warm welcome from Ann and nothing too much trouble. We got an amazing deal - would highly recommend if you are visiting Dartmouth; nice touches eg. room had an angled mirror so we had a view of the harbour while lying in bed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at such short notice - always go direct for the best deal! Do hope you will return another day. All the very best from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    209
    60
    32
    25
See reviews for
151
515
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Castle Hotel for 4 nights in June.
Fabulous location right in Dartmouth and only a minute's stroll to the ferries and town
We stayed in room 30 which was on the top floor - there is no lift and four floors to walk up but we knew that when we booked and the luggage was carried to our room for us so no problem there. Only one slight niggle was that the Wi Fi connection did not work in that room which we did report but again no real problem as there are plenty of comfortable areas where reception was good.
The room did not face the front but very good views over the town and hills,.
Very good breakfast each morning and good choice of eating in either the Grill Room or the two bars.
Service very good and they park your car for you as the Hotel car park is a couple of hundred yards up road and all staff very friendly and helpful.
All in all a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Check the web site for description and location of rooms as the stairs may be not so easy for the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_CKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review - so glad you enjoyed your visit to us, especially the car parking, the breakfasts and our staff service here! We hope to see you back again another day. Kind regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
427 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the Royal Castle during our week in Dartmouth but used it a lot for a quick pint of Doom Bar ale (or two) and a pub meal. The service was friendly and very efficient and the food was plentiful and of good quality. If the hotel itself is run to similar standards, then I'm sure it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Pleased to read you enjoyed the facilities offered by the bars! Doom is certainly one of our popular, growing brands. We look forward to seeing you another time. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We first had lunch one day in the restaurant. One can eat in either of two bars downstairs but we opted for the upstairs restaurant. The food, service & quality of surroundings were very goog so we booked for dinner on our last evening in Dartmouth. Again we enjoyed an excellent meal.
We will visit Dartmouth again next year and may well stay at the hotel then.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel but only used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietrojovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and the service in our Gill Room restaurant. Hopefully we will see you again another day, perhaps to stay? Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed three nights and got married there as well.....what more does one want from such a romantic hotel in a perfect setting, and the weather was fab too. I don't think there is anywhere else one could stay if you visit Dartmouth. Hotel is full of history and charm. We had a beautiful room overlooking the river. The staff were so good at the organisation and everything went smoothly. It is a great hotel for dining, because you have a choice of their pub/bar area that serves excellent food and then the more formal restaurant. There is so much going on, such a busy buzzie hotel. Will re-visit one day. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous561951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Anonymous - thank you so much for the super review. It was a pleasure, as always, to look after you, and on such a special day. Here's wishing you both many happy years together, and don't forget to come and see us for your anniversaries! Hope to catch up another day, time! With very best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

A beautiful hotel in the best location in Dartmouth. Excellent service with old fashioned elegance in all of the public areas, it has a very interesting history. The dining room overlooks the harbour and the breakfast is superb with a great choice. We took dinner at the hotel which was very good and well worth the money. The rooms are old fashioned but very clean with lovely soaps and bath products and they turn your bed in the evening. The hotel caters for dogs too with dog beds and toys for the pooch! The bar downstairs is lively in one half and good old fashioned pub and grub in the other if you don't want to eat upstairs. The staff are constantly cleaning and at your service and are incredibly polite. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 28 is large and spacious for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we do hope you (and your dog!) will come and enjoy our bedrooms, bars, restaurant and service again very soon! Best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for one night, single traveller, first time in the RC but have stayed many many times in Dartmouth, I am really glad I stayed here as this is an excellent hotel, a warm welcome from reception, valet parking and escort up to the room really is a first class service, room was a double, large enough and furnished in keeping with this historic hotel, very clean, tidy and fresh, can't ask for more, air con worked well. Nice clean bathroom with robe, shower gels, fresh clean towels and a powerful enough shower. No view from my room but no matter, walk out the front door and you are treated to the wonderful River Dart with all it's bustling activity.
Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but breakfast was sensational, full English was the best I have ever had in a hotel ( including The Ritz in London) good quality and plentiful, this is included in the price or was with my rate and topped off a wonderful stay.
To sum up; a first class hotel, well priced, top service and full of history, already booked with the family to return in July.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireGucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Wow, many thanks for giving us such praise - better than The Ritz, we love it! We shall look forward to welcoming the rest of the family in July. Regards from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dartmouth
0.4 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
13.8 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Castle Hotel

Property: Royal Castle Hotel
Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Royal Castle Hotel is in the centre of Dartmouth with its cobbled streets, intriguing shops and famous restaurants and bars. Looking out over the River Dart, this 17th-century building offers bright, airy rooms, free Wi-Fi and a stylish restaurant. There are 25 en suite rooms, all of which are individually decorated. Many of the rooms have river views, four-poster beds, spa baths and 15 of our rooms have air conditioning units as well. Every room has a TV, radio and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Castle Dartmouth
Hotel Royal Castle
Royal Castle Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing