We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$337
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quayside Hotel(Brixham)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durant Arms(Ashprington)
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveler rating
703
262
74
40
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
262
74
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalleon barthe grilla river view roomjacuzzi bathno liftcurry nightbar foodthe riverboat floatoverlooking the harbourflights of stairsfour poster bedsunday eveningpark your carfirst floorfirst classcrab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
826 - 831 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed here for romantic breaks, anniversaries and just because it is the first place we think of when we want to spoil ourselves! Perfect for couples (although I dare say our children would love it if we ever gave them the chance to come with us......) Food in the bar is just as lovely as eating in the restaurant. Personal touches throughout make it special and the staff try to accommodate any reasonable request. From the moment you step through the door you are made to feel welcome and at the end of a long trip it is great to have your car parked for you. So much to see/do you can happily leave your car and enjoy exploring on foot, by boat or even steam train! Coastal walks are lovely and the hotel can provide packed lunches. Breakfast delivered to your room is pure indulgence, sitting in your dressing gown, looking out over the river from the comfort of a cosy armchair........ time to book another stay before it gets too popular.

Room Tip: It's got to be a river view. Splash out the extra as you will not regret it. Want to tell you the best room but ..... they all have great character.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Many thanks for the super review, delighted to hear you have clearly enjoyed all your stays here in the past, and hopefully will continue to do so in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We always stay at this hotel on our way South and still absolutely love it! It is still privately owned, and it shows - the attention to detail is excellent, as are the service and general ambience. Lovely rooms in a wonderful hotel in a great location - not for disabled though and a bit of a struggle for my arthritic knees as there are no lifts, as no bedrooms below the second floor, but well worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do always ask for a 2nd floor room if arthritic knees, or indeed for any other mobility issue, is a problem accessing rooms. We will always be happy to oblige where possible. Thankfully, our stairs are wide and shallow, and help is always at hand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Always reliable and super food. Daily specials are tempting and delicious as is their standard menu. We eat in the Galleon Bar because we have a dog, so have not tried the restaurant food. We stayed 2 nights in November 2011 which was lovely, but we find our budget doesn't stretch to staying here at present although we would if we could afford to. We still get a Christmas Card from Nigel and staff which keeps a personal touch. Open all day, it is good for anything from a coffee, sharing a bottle of wine, or dining. We look forward to next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank residentemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Special accommodation offers are always posted on our website, so do keep a lookout - it can be anything up to 50% off out of season, so well worth checking up on! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited for a weekend break, all staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room comfortable
although a little on the warm side but air conditioning available to cool down. An extensive breakfast menu available of the highest quality. Ate in the Harbour Bar on the Saturday night which was very busy with an extensive menu and yet again very good quality and value for money. All in all an enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to book again.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank NigenRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

So glad you found us - please do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spent the week in Dartmouth and ended up eating at the Galleon Bar most days because the food is very good and excellent value for money. We visit Dartmouth twice a year and normally have two or three meals in the bar but this year the quality certainly seems to have got even better-not that we have ever had reason to complain previously. The only concern we had was the presence of dogs (and there seemed to be a lot more this year) in the bar especially when on a few occasions we witnessed members of staff feeding the dogs with biscuits, not washing their hands and then carrying on behind the bar using the till and serving drinks. In our opinion dogs and eating establishments don't go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann I, Front Office Manager at Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

You Galleon Bar feedback was very welcome. Delighted you were pleased with the quality of the food and value for money. Staff are very much aware of the need for cleanliness - sorry they clearly cannot resist patting a dog on the way past!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews