We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Anchor House

Anchor House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor House
Ranked #12 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a one night stay in January. John & Barbara were charming hosts - the room was beautifully decorated, the bed comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The parking to the rear was an added bonus - would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleopatra83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. One of the reasons we decided to choose Anchor House was because of the included parking, as this can be an issue in a popular seaside town like Dartmouth. We have never stayed in a small B&B before but we were very pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The room was attractive and the bed was very comfortable. John and Barbara are friendly and hospitable hosts and we enjoyed chatting to them whilst we tucked into the lovely breakfast freshly cooked by Barbara in their large farmhouse type kitchen. The pretty town and harbour is only a short walk down the hill, so the location could not have suited us any better! There are numerous top restaurants and cosy pubs to choose from in Dartmouth and we particularly noticed that it is an extremely dog friendly place. We hope to return for another 2 night stay in the future and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevKev_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Anchor House is a comfortable B&B where owners, John & Barbara, make you feel very welcome. Communal breakfast in the kitchen diner adds to the experience. Bottles of water & fresh milk in a small fridge in our room were gratefully received. There's private parking to the rear & it's a five minute walk down a slight hill into the centre of the town. Very handy!

Room Tip: Due to the topography there are lots of steps so ask for room 1 if you don't fancy much of a cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My daughter and i stayed at Anchor House for 2 nights in May of this year. John and Barbara are extremely freindly and helpful hosts and the location is an easy walk down to Dartmouth shops/ pubs etc. Parking is available off street and the rooms was very comfortable and clean and breakfasts excellent. recommended !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a few nights ago for one night. John & Barbara were most excellent and very helpful hosts. Room was very clean and well appointed. Anchor House is only a short walk from the waterfront.
Breakfast was just what we wanted in a very pleasant, comfortable & sociable kitchen-diner.
We only just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Recently stayed at Anchor Hs , brilliant location. Hosts John and Barbara were lovely and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was fantastic and the room really lovely , comfortable and clean . Parking was a real bonus. Highly recommended . John & Tracey . Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a lovely break in Dartmouth and Barbara & John made it even better, great hosts really friendly, lovely food and the rooms are top quality. Just a short walk into town so it was ideal for the walk back from the pub :) Cant recommend the Anchor enough will be back in the future and will recommend it to all John & Caroline Taunton

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillcanmcnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ship in Dock Inn
The Ship in Dock Inn
#11 of 52 in Dartmouth
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#8 of 52 in Dartmouth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House

Address: 74 Victoria Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: $101 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing