We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good, deserves a visit.”

Dartmouth Castle Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Dartmouth
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Seaside tea rooms serving breakfasts, a range of delicious lunches and handmade cakes and goodies! Enjoy whilst gazing out to sea from our inside or outside seating!
Leeds.West Yorks.
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistently Good, deserves a visit.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having a holiday home in South Devon, we have visited this cafe many, many times, the most recent being just last week. If you want a homely snack or a delicious cream tea, you can't go wrong. My husband and I both had a delicious sausage sandwich in a baguette as did one of our friends, the other had a bowl of steaming homemade vegetable soup, plus teas or latte coffees and everything was cooked to order and arrived quite quickly. The only drawback to the cafe is not being able to get a seat, it gets so busy, which can only be a testament to how nice it is. So, if you're in Dartmouth and want a quick snack with a view to die for give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wegetaboutabit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Manager at Dartmouth Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello. Thank you for your very kind mention on Trip Advisor. I'll show it to Jamie and the girls and they'll be really pleased. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    66
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have visited the delightful Dartmouth Castle Tea Rooms on many occasions over more years than I care to remember!! We have ALWAYS enjoyed delicious food with exemplary service and the magnificient views are unbeatable. Go and ENJOY!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Manager at Dartmouth Castle Tea Rooms, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review Paul. I'm glad you're still enjoying your visits to us and we look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great find- well worth the walk up from town.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After wandering up to the Castle we came across the tea rooms and whilst maybe not the most inspiring from the outside we were really pleased with the welcome, the service and the quality of the food-sandwiches, cake,tea and coffee. Whilst we chose to sit outside the inside was lovely with great views.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tiny but great view”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After an enjoyable visit to Dartmouth Castle having arrived via steam train from Paignton and then the 12 seater Dartmouth Castle Ferry from Dartmouth (both great ways to travel) we ducked in to the tea rooms to avoid the rain. We had a great view out to sea past the castle, friendly service, and hot tasty food. A good home-made feel to the food, and the salad was plentiful and nicely dressed. All in all a good day out had by all the family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfectly cosy cafe next to Dartmouth Castle”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Having loitered outside a little while for a seat (I did say it was cosy), we ordered a couple of wonderful cream teas and slices of cake for our 2 boys. The food was delicious and the staff were attentive and very accomodating.

All in all, a nice place, nice people and good honest food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartmouth Castle Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Dartmouth Castle Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing