We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch!”

The Cherub Inn Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 95 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Quick lunch!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have been going to the Cherub for 35 years. I love the place. Just been there for a couple of pints and a quick lunch. Didn't disappoint. Very well kept beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    147
    58
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely old inn”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely friendly, cosy bar with good menu and choice of beers. We have visited several times and have never been disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The reviews seem good for the Cherub but we werent too impressed. It was out of season so thats probably why it was quiet. We went upstairs to eat and there was one family just finishing their meal and then no one came in. I was puzzled as to how quickly our meals were cooked and no smells of cooking while they were being prepared, did hear a microwave ping so this put me off straight away. Not the best meal we have had, quite disappointed really. On a positive note the girl who served us was very pleasant

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good range of beers, very good menu, real flame open fire (albeit gas) friendly and colourful bar staff. Dogs welcome (ground floor only). The main restaurant is on the first floor together with the kitchen and the loos are on the second floor. We've had a few dinners here on both the ground and second levels and on all those occasions the food has been excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DartmouthResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a very quirky pub abd restaurant, over 3 tiny floors. Full of character, being a very, very old building, steep stairs to dining rooms, but they will serve food down in the bar area too. The menu was varied, we ate there twice in 3 days and popped in on another evening for a drink after eating elswhere and wishing we had just gone there again. We had a warm welcome, and were recognised by the manager when we went back a second time, which , when you consider the amount of customers they have was really nice. All the staff were bubbly and friendly, the bar felt like your local, and the food was great. I had their panna cotta both times for pud, it was better than sex! Not over priced, wine was good and sensibly priced, couldnt fault the food, the staff or anything about the place. Will definetly go there again if in Dartmouth. Its up a back street, up a hill, but really is worth seeking out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cherub Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cherub Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing