We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax and unwind with wonderful hosts who make you feel at home.”

Birds Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 53 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect place to relax and unwind with wonderful hosts who make you feel at home.”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

It was not the best English weather for August but staying at "Birds" made an unsettled few days a very enjoyable experience. The place was spotless, the breakfasts superb, the position quiet but close to all the amenities and the owners took great care of us. We especially enjoyed Rob's semi intelligent conversation and great sense of humour. All in all a perfect home from home. Ideal for two couples,friends or in our case sisters.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianabaker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Rob kindly accommodated us on Thurs/Fri during the Regatta when I'm sure other B&Bs would have expected we stay the Sat night as well. Rob welcomed us warmly and we were immediately blown away by the fantastic rooms we had at our disposal with such incredible views. Our 8 year old daughter felt extremely grown up in the second bedroom of the suite and also giggled alot at a couple of the books she'd found on the bookshelf in the bathroom!

Breakfast was fantastic with everything you'd want available - fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast and of course Rob's full English which was delicious.

Our stay was perfect from start to finish and if I'm honest, we could easily have stayed longer but we were moving on to Cornwall on the Sat. To this end, we asked Rob if we could eat breakfast early so we could miss the bank holiday traffic and this was absolutely no problem at all. We ended up eating lightly and Rob gave us bacon sandwiches for the road. Our daughter was delighted that Rob had also packed some doughnuts.

We are so glad we found Dart Birds and thank Rob and Marilyn for their wonderful hospitality and letting us stay at their fantastic house. The atmosphere is extremely relaxed and we felt so at home in just a couple of days that when Rob waved us off we felt as if we'd known him for a lot longer.

Thank you for looking after us and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed at Dartbirds B&B for three nights from 07-10 September following a friend's recommendation. We truly enjoyed this short trip to unwind after getting married only a few days ago. The location is perfect with lovely views into the countryside and the picturesque town centre only a 10 minute stroll away. The parking spot provided is a definite plus, too. The location is perfect as it is quiet and private but providing access to the infrastructure (restaurants, shops, bars) of Dartmouth and the countryside alike.

Our host, Rob, was very lovely, very helpful and charming, providing us with great suggestions for trips and dinner without being intrusive. He cooked a delicious and healthy breakfast from fresh produce for us every morning - a perfect start to a day exloring the beautiful surroundings of Dartmouth.

We had a double bedroom with own bathroom and private living room. Everything was very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated.

We truly enjoyed our stay at Dartbirds and would love to come back. We would readily recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClGrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed at Birds B&B during Regatta weekend and had an absolutely fantastic time. We arrived a bit earlier than anticipated but Rob didn't mind at all, he helped carry our bags and even gave up his parking space so we could park our vehicle off the road. Off we went for the day and when we came back the rooms were made up and perfect. We had two double rooms and use of a private bathroom and although in Rob & Marilyn's home it still felt very private plus having a key of our own it felt that we were completely free to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was a lovely relaxed affair and the food was delicious, Rob constantly makes sure that you have plenty of everything on offer.

There are two reasons why Birds B&B is such a great place to stay - Rob and Marilyn. We will definitely be returning for more of their fabulous hospitality, interesting conversation and pearls of wisdom about Dartmouth and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannaSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Lovely B&B with all of your home comforts....Rob cooks the most wonderful breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere which is the perfect start to the day. The beautiful, cosy sitting room in which to enjoy a glass of wine, for those of us who like to return a little earlier, is the perfect end to the day. Rob & Marilyn are the perfect hosts with local knowledge in abundance and I've yet to catch them in the act of replacing the fresh milk, which always seems to be there!! See you next year...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilthorneKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Just had a fabulous stay at Birds B & B. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The walk to the town is no more than 10 minutes, although coming back is uphill. This however does allow you to burn off some calories if you have eaten in any one of the great restuarants that Dartmouth has to offer. Superb breakfast and lovely view of the town from the balcony of the braekfast room.
We definately intend going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Rob and Marilyn make you very welcome to their home which is ideal to escape the stresses of life.
They are very knowledgeable of the area and can advise you on places to explore in and around Dartmouth
The rooms are spotless and the breakfast cooked by Rob keeps you going all day, the relaxed atmosphere is perfect
I have visited 'Birds' on several ocassions both as a solo traveller and as a couple and will continue to return to this faultless B & B

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMTJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 53 in Dartmouth
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#7 of 53 in Dartmouth
141 reviews
4.2 mi away
The George Inn, Blackawton
The George Inn, Blackawton
#1 of 3 in Blackawton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Bed & Breakfast

Property: Birds Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Fairview Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private two room suite of double bedroom and sitting room, with fine views, relaxed breakfasts and parking; from £89 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing