We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accomodation”

Birds Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is one of the best bed and breakfast accommodations I have ever stayed in, beautifully decorated and It was lovely having a separate living room, and gorgeous bathroom.

Lovely views over Dartmouth, and your own off road parking space which was great as you could walk into Dartmouth and leave the car.

Rob and Marilyn were great hosts, and the breakfast was always lovely.

Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Birds B&B and have to say all aspects were excellent. As has been said previously, you have your own private floor here consisting of a spacious bedroom with a king bed and memory foam mattress that has fantastic views over dartmouth, a nice bathroom with huge shower, and a separate living room with sofa and tv, perfect to come back to and chill out after our days exploring the area (there is also a jar of Rob's lovely homemade rock cakes that was topped up daily!).

Rob is a great host & the breakfast again was fantastic, - nice choice of cereals and fruit (the honeys plums were very nice), and then to follow a cooked option of pretty much whatever we wanted using many homemade or local ingredients, it certainly set us up for the day.

The walk down into the town was easy and took us less than 10 minutes, although I think it would be more difficult coming back as the roads are quite steep. As my wife is pregnant we didn't try this and just took a taxi each time which was very cheap and easy.

Overall this is a great B&B & is certainly somewhere we would come back to in the future.

One thing I would say is don't follow the sat nav after you leave the ferry, it it took us up some very awkward roads which we could only just get the car down! Ask Rob first and he will tell you a better route.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee171181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a fantastic visit we have just had, came away from our stay feeling as if we had just made two new amazing friends in Rob and Marilyn. Rob's breakfasts were outstanding and varied and the home made rock cakes and biscuits on our tea tray made a very welcome afternoon snack.
Our room or should I say room's were spotless (A floor to our selves,bedroom shower room and lounge) . We will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

excellent accommodation having the full use of the upstairs including a beautiful shower room
lounge with excellent view
rob the owner is a tremendous host
breakfast was to die for
he had made us fresh rock cakes ( with his own twist )
too go with our arrival cuppa

top class accommodation with a top class host

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It is difficult to find new or different words to those written before and so we wish to endorse all the positive comments made below. The attention to detail, based on very high standards, made our 5 night stay a sheer delight. Indeed, we felt as if we were in our very own personal hotel, which was symbolised by the relationship struck with Rob and Marilyn from the very first telephone enquiry to the subsequent e-mail correspondence about our dietary restrictions. [Since you ask: one of us is diabetic and the other gluten intolerant so Rob insisted on going beyond the call of duty by promising to make us sugar-free rock cakes and gluten-free bread - which he did!]. It resulted in us joyfully anticipating our stay long before we had even set foot in Fairview Road, let alone Dartmouth or Devon. Chatting over breakfast was a pleasure and took 1 1/2 hours on our final morning. Such care spoke volumes about their personal service and typified their labour of love. We are very grateful to have been their guests and look forward to repeating our stay.

Sharon & Paul

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is an exquiste gem of a B&B, with such friendly and attentive hosts. The B&B accommodation covers a whole floor of the house, consisting of a very comfortable 5' bed in a well appointed room with very good views over the town and fields, and also the waterfront in the middle distance. There is also a small private lounge with a comfy sofa, an excellent TV and loads of books and games to browse. Add in a first class private bathroom with a very good shower and it is an amazing package. Free parking was available on the driveway. We were made very welcome. Breakfast was really delicious, lots of choice, home made bread, fresh fruit, several cooked options, and cereal....... we have never tasted better breakfasts anywhere; it kept us going all day! Rob's home made rock-cakes were very moreish, and went very well with a cup of tea (or two!!) when we returned from our explorations of Darmouth and the beautiful surrounding area where there is a lot to do and see. Agatha Christie's, Greenway (NT) by boat from Dartmouth - 25 mins - was special. Marilyn and Rob's suggestions of places to eat dinner were also spot on. Walking down into the town took about 10 minutes and walking back didn't take much longer. As previous reviewers have said, please don't change a single thing! Top marks!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent three lovely days at Birds. From the beginning to the end it felt like home from home. Never mind the conventional B & B, what you get here is a floor to yourselves. In addition to this luxury, the warmth and friendliness from Rob and Marilyn are an added bonus to making the stay at Birds so special.
Their sunny disposition and daily top up of the rock cake jar, made it a pleasure to come back to every day, not to mention the inspirational home made bread that has got us talking about our own baking! The spot is perfect and picturesque, the walk is a steady 10 mins down hill and the walk back up was very lovely and adorned by the sweet smell of jasmine in the evening.
Generally reviews tend to air on a wish for something extra, however Birds just leaves you wanting to go back as soon as you can...it wants for nothing.
Don't go changing a thing and we will be back with our little baby as soon as we can!

Love Katie & Lee

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mounthaven Guest House
Mounthaven Guest House
#6 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Bed & Breakfast

Property: Birds Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11 Fairview Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private two room suite of double bedroom and sitting room, with fine views, relaxed breakfasts and parking; from £89 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Bed & Breakfast Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing