We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Clive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avondale B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avondale B&B
Ranked #44 of 55 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thanks Clive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped overnight at Avondale on our cycle trip from Penzance. From the moment we arrived Clive, our host, could not have been more helpful. Pointing us in the right direction for the evening, getting us settled it, even running a load of kit through the wash for me. Bedroom (family) was comfortable and bathroom was large and well appointed with bath and separate shower. Whilst this was not ensuite it was only a few metres away (this is down the entrance hall though which may be an issue for some). Breakfast was great - lovely full english and large selection of cereals. Really couldn't say a bad word about Avondale. Highly recommended. also worth noting it is pretty low down in town so doesn't involve too much of a climb to get to the front door, important for Dartmouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvondaleBB, Owner at Avondale B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We were only too happy to help and looking after bicycles is not a problem for us. If you are down this way again (with or without wheels!) we would be delighted to see you. Kind regards, Clive and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this lovely B & B, relaxed and friendly atmosphere, beautiful bedroom, although I didn't indulge in full cooked English breakfast, other guests did and it looked delicious! Would highly recommend

Room Tip: 2 rooms have fantastic views of Dartmouth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvondaleBB, Owner at Avondale B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time. We hope you come back to enjoy Dartmouth again, kind regards, Clive and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Most enjoyable stay with charming hosts who have lived in Dartmouth for many years, are genuinely interested in people but still discrete. Spent two nights at Avondale and would be glad to return. Very comfortable and well appointed B&B away from the bustle but close to the town. Spacious room with delightful aspect across the town with some river glimpses. Good night's sleep and no hollowfibre. Clive cooks a great breakfast and very helpful with local information. If you are well read and well informed you will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSWinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had a really nice family room, which felt really clean and light. Lovely breakfast in the morning seated around a large table with another couple who were staying there, which made it feel mich more friendly.

Room Tip: The "family" room is really good. It's not "en-suite" - but but you have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

spent four nights at the B&B with a ten month old baby. Accommodation was excellent, though it was Clive that really made the difference. This is a long overdue review that I am enjoying completing, so satisfying was our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntybernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were able to park easily and close by in the road diagonally opposite 'Avondale' and offered a choice of rooms either 'en-suite' or with an excellent view across Dartmouth towards the river. Clive, the owner is very friendly and helpful with suggestions for local bars, restaurants and live music events as well as good advice for local walks. The rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean and had the character of an older well restored property. Full English breakfasts were delicious and sufficient to last the whole day. A short walk downhill of a few minutes takes you into the central area of pubs and restaurants. A computer with internet and 'Wifi' access was available. Clive could not have been more helpful. An excellent weekend, comes thoroughly recommended and would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Great view from the family room's bay window on the south side across Dartmouth to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Beautiful rooms with a spectacular view over Dartmouth, a great welcome and help by Clive (including moving cars to make room for us to park several times) and great breakfasts. On the negative side would be the you should not listen to your gps going there - read the map yourself instead (we were informed to do so when we booked but did not follow the advice) and that you can't pay by card. Otherwise a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 55 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Just B - St Elmo Cottage
Just B - St Elmo Cottage
#11 of 13 in Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anzac Street Bistro
Anzac Street Bistro
#19 of 55 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Anchor House
#12 of 55 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#5 of 55 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale B&B

Property: Avondale B&B
Address: 5 Vicarage Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondale B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale B&B is family run; has three, extremely well pro-portioned rooms, comfortably furnished for B&B with main rooms looking over the town, river and countryside. Although, in the Dartmouth town centre it is in a quiet area and only a short walk from the Market square and River. Main room with King size Bed & shower en-suite, Family Room with luxury large Bathroom, & Avon Room a smaller double with single rate, shower en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avondale B&B Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing