We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely Weekend”

The Captain's House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Captain's House
Ranked #13 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at The Captain's House in Dartmouth. It is a lovely B & B, very well located for everything and only a stone's throw from the harbourside. Our room was really clean and comfortable and the landlord was very friendly. We only met the landlady on our way out but I think she must be a fab cook as the breakfast was really lovely - plenty of choice and very well prepared. Would definitely recommend this little gem for a short break.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms. We were in No. 2 at the back.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Captain's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely B and B.
Very friendly welcome,gave us some good eating places from dear to no so dear,
Room well equipped only quim was
We had a twin room and was going to make coffee in morning till realised the only tap was in bathroom and mate was having a shower etc.but next time fill kettle before bed so not a problem to let it spoil a lovely accomindation

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business, the hotel its self is quite small and I would class it as a B+B rather than a hotel as it was advertised on Booking.com.
It is located in a back street about a two minute walk from the town centre and the car parking is in the public car park for which we supplied a parking permit.
The rooms are very clean and well equipped with a mini fridge and fresh milk for your tea/coffee.
The owners are very friendly and the breakfast was very nice with a good selection.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank covrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from this B & B and was very pleased with the choice. Sheila and Rob were excellent hosts. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The shower was big enough for two, should you so wish. The drinks tray ( tea, coffee, biscuits) was refilled each day and milk was left in the little fridge in the room, also the towels were changed daily, without us asking. The breakfast was excellent very tasty and large enough for the biggest appetite. There were good alternative breakfast dish choices too. Parking was £3.00 per day and a permit was provided.
I would heartily recommend the Captain's House, and could not fault anything.
The location was perfect too, near to shops, restaurants and the harbour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in room 3 which is at the front of the house and gorgeous! Its nice and spacious and the cleanest bathroom i've ever seen! Breakfast was beautiful, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon especially! Lovely hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

just back from a great weekend at this lovely B and B.and feel miserable. We'd never been to dartmouth before and didn't know what to expect, we shouldn't have worried. The Captains house is easy to find,just a stones throw from the river and a few minutes walk away from the central carpark which cost us £3 a day ,this wasn't bad, as its £1.30 an hour. The hosts were welcoming and friendly without being intrusive . We had room 1 with a massive 6ft bed, small bathroom and a fridge. which was topped up daily with fresh milk. I had a good nights sleep as it is close to the shops and restaurants but in a quieter area. the only noise came from the seagulls.Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, I had delicious smoked salmon and scrambled eggs one morning. The english breakfast was filling and the food of good quality. All in all a lovely, spotless clean. quirky B and B that we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: if your not good with stairs rooms 1 and 2 are on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baggiebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just got back from our 3rd stay. This time we stayed for three nights. Fantastic 2nd floor room at the front of the house. Breakfast as good as you will get. Great value and great hosts. Thx.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ship in Dock Inn
The Ship in Dock Inn
#10 of 52 in Dartmouth
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's House

Address: 18 Clarence Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain's House B&B is a quirky Grade II Listed Town House, full of character and warmth, ideally located in the heart of Dartmouth just a minutes walk to the beautiful river Dart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain's House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing