We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With A View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ship in Dock Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room With A View”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Ship In Dock Inn is just off the riverside promenade in Dartmouth, and as such is perfectly placed for enjoying the delights of this town. We have stayed here twice, both times in low season when parking was not a problem. I can imagine the parking situation might be differerent in high season. Our room (room 3) had a wonderful view of the River Dart, and it was lovely and warm in what was quite a cold time of year.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a great river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickypicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    60
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Ship having seen Trip Advisor reviews. The staff are friendly and helpful; the room was not big but well equipped and comfortable; and there are simple but good breakfasts and meals in the eating area. It is a small place with only 4 rooms which we liked. Our room (No 2) probably has the least best views of the river that the pub boasts about. t is only a short walk by the river to the town centre. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 2 overlooks a park with just a partial view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCalstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Only a short walk to the centre of Dartmouth, breakfasts were fantastic & staff very friendly. Our room was very clean and bed incredibly comfy. Could not have wished for a better place to stay ! We will definately return in a few months time - this is the kind of place we will always return to.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastonitepandorablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The location is great, the view from the rooms is great and the food is great. The Pizzas are highly recommended.

So now down to earth.

Based on our experience the first thing you need to make sure is that the owners are NOT on holiday. If they are, then you run the risk that some of the staff left in charge will treat you in a manner like they treated us.

The unprofessional, childish behaviour of a couple of them caused us to leave two days early in disgust. That was after two

nights of being woken up at 4am by doors slamming, stomping up and down the stairs to the private area at the top of the

Inn a number of times. And on the second occasion somebody tried the door handle to our room twice about 10 minutes apart.

Next check out the terms and conditions. Basically it tries to get out of ANY liability for ANY accident whether it is negligence on behalf of the Inn or your own. So if you are in rooms 3 or 4 watch out for the loose floor board on the way up the stairs. Hopefully they will have fixed the sash in the bathroom in room 3 because when we were there the window was being kept open by a toilet roll tube and then an empty tissue box. So watch your fingers. Whether the terms and conditions are legal that is a risk you take.

The actions of a few totally ruined what was meant to be a special holiday for us. In my opinion, only the male housekeeper and chef came out with any credit.

Dartmouth is a great place to visit, and one day we will be returning to do the things we had planned to do but were unable to this time round.

One thing is certain. We will be avoiding the Ship in Dock Inn like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJJD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devizes777, Owner at The Ship in Dock Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Absolutely incredible! There were 3 other guest rooms occupied and all were very happy and heard no noise at all. These guests were unhappy when they arrived and bickered loudly in the bar and over breakfast, which was very embarrassing for the staff and other guests. We suspect the guests arguments became worse and they decided to leave early. The staff and other guests knew nothing of the disturbance they have suggested. The guests then used this complaint as an excuse not to pay their remaining bill of £371.16. Please compare this review with all the reviews and make your own mind up on whether it is spurious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Dartmouth and our first stay at the Ship in Dock Inn.
I would say that the rooms have been recently refurbished to a good standard for a B&B but I have to be honest in my review and say that it is not luxury accommodation. The bedroom picture shown on a website represents nearly the entire room. The bathroom is a very good size, about 2/3 the size of the bedroom. Both rooms are kept very clean. Despite what it says on the label, do not expect any of the extras that you would expect of a top hotel. The TV/DVD is small but I have to say that the bed was extremely comfortable. The Ship is in a good location with good views of the river. This is not intended to be a negative review because we had a great stay at the Ship, thoroughly enjoyed Dartmouth again, thought it was good value for money and enjoyed the hospitality shown by the staff. The breakfasts, as previous comments, were good and as substantial as you wanted to make them. The Ship is obviously enjoyed by many people as it is heavily booked throughout the year.

Room Tip: I have to assume that 2nd floor rooms are better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our room in this historic old hotel was basic but comfortable with a great ensuite and wonderful views from both windows. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and breakfast plentiful and tasty. It's in a great position down the hill from the Naval College, opposite a park and just across the road from the Upper Ferry landing. A short walk down the street to the centre of beautiful Dartmouth and nearby parking make this a good value spot to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We couldn’t have asked for better, managed to get a free car parking spot on the road right outside. My Father has limited mobility so parking is always a consideration. We were however also offered convenient parking adjacent on a plot of currently vacant land. Leanne couldn’t have been more helpful from the moment we stepped in the door and the Owner/Landlord Jim also chipped in with a pleasant hello/welcome.
Both our rooms offered fantastic views over the river and location was perfect for our needs. Two minutes from all amenities and boat trips which even my father could walk to.
We decided to eat in house and were very glad we did. The food was lovely as was the ambience and service was attentive. Leanne once again looked after our every need, from the start through to breakfast in the morning. (Does she ever go home?)
My only wish was I never got chance to use that lovely looking large shower head which I expect gave the user a good drenching. The cracks on the walls were forgivable due to the age and lovely character of the building, like myself, not getting any younger.
Stay was immensely enjoyable all be it a short one. Would happily return as Dartmouth from this first visit has caught our hearts. This was made all the better from our stay at what someone else correctly reviewed, “A little gem”. Thanks to Google walkabout and Laterooms for this find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevLasckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship in Dock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship in Dock Inn

Property: The Ship in Dock Inn
Address: 1 Ridge Hill, Dartmouth TQ6 9PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship in Dock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship in Dock Inn is a small family run pub with bed & breakfast accommodation in the beautiful estuary town of Dartmouth. We are located close to the river Dart over looking Coronation Park and within easy walking distance of the main town amenities. The pub has a small intimate bar and dining room, with home cooked Tapas and Pizzas served on selected nights. We do not have our own car park but guests have the use of our passes for the main town car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Ship in Dock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship In Dock Hotel Dartmouth
The Ship In Dock Inn Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing