We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and wine!”

Taylor's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 92 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Relaxed, quaility dining in Dartmouth's oldest established restaurant run hands on by the proprietors. Excellent river and harbour views with delicious dishes prepared by our classically trained Chef/ Proprietor. Professional service and style.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and wine!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Taylor's fitted us in with a table for 6 when The Seahorse Restaurant had to close due to a problem with their kitchen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    104
    24
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arundel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Dined here on spec on a wednesday evening. Had not prebooked or known of restaurant previously. We were welcomed warmly and shown to a table with a superb outlook on to the small marina and estuary. The decor is modern, elegant and comfortable. The staff were efficient and well managed by the restaurant manager who was very much in control. THE FOOD WAS FABULOUS. We had seafood for both starters and main courses. It was wonderfully fresh and superbly prepared and presented. Due to driving we did not partake of the wine cellar but viewed the wine list which appeared well balanced and reasonably priced. We were delighted with our choice of restaurant but would advise that to avoid disappointment prior booking is advised, we were lucky. Visiting Dartmouth again I would not hesitate to rebook and dine here.

Restaurant entrance at street level does not particularly impress but do not be put off, this restaurant is SUPERB.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HamishOsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Service was excellent, and some of the best fish and seafood dishes I have ever eaten, excellent location with great views over the river if you can get a table at the front.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our third year at Taylors and once again it was perfect . We were greeted by extremely pleasant and attentive staff and shown to our table in the window overlooking the Boat Float and Kingwear. Our meal was excellent from start to finish and the lemon sole was the best fish we have ever tasted.

Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food thank you!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked in for a meal on the second and last night stay in Dartmouth after a very disappointing meal the previous evening.
We did have to wait 45 mins for our main but it was worth the wait.
The fillet steaks were cooked to perfection. Side orders were good in potion size.
Would recommend a visit here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ripcurlgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taylor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing