We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jane and Kim” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mounthaven Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mounthaven Guest House
Ranked #6 of 54 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jane and Kim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

just returned from a lovely 2 night short break in Dartmouth.The weather was lovely and the B and B was excellent. The view from our room River View was beautiful. Our hosts Shaun and Rose were friendly and helpful and the breakfast did not disappoint with good choice. We would be happy to return to Mounthaven.

Room Tip: river view has an excellent panoramic view over dartmouth
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
105
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just experienced the most amazing B & B in Dartmouth. Wonderful hosts, fabulous rooms with the most fantastic views elevated above Dartmouth River. Cannot say anything but good things about this find. We were so lucky and treated like royalty.. Great English breakfast. Lovely lovely people. Well done Mounthaven and thank you both. Edwina and Cliff. Dorset

Room Tip: All beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Shaun and Rose lay on a great welcome to this outstanding Guest house which provides un-surpassed views of one of the best places in the UK. Our second stay here and it feels like home from home with a sumptuous breakfast to set you up for a long day out in the fresh air.

Room Tip: Castle and River rooms both outstanding with some of the best views in the country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent our Golden Wedding Anniversary here and Rose & Shaun couldn't have made it more perfect. (See review by Qdecker) Shaun even managed to produce some 'Anniversary' fruit cake - made by himself (absolutely delicious complete with marzipan and icing) for us to have with a cup of tea on our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble and their kindness and helpfulness was genuinely given. On leaving we felt that we had spent the weekend with close friends. If you want to experience an exceptional break in luxurious accomodation then you couldn't do better than to stay in The Castle Room, Mounthaven.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just to say I personally haven't stayed here but my relatives were and I asked if they could arrange for flowers, champagne and chocolates to be in their room on arrival. He did exactly as asked and gather from my brother and wife who were celebrating their Golden Wedding that it was all amazing. Lovely bouquet and an orchid,chocs and champers so Shaun & Rose went that extra mile to make the weekend special and I can't thank them enough. My brother has been raving about the B&B and how lovely it all was, rooms, breakfast and friendliness so should we ever be down that way will make a point of staying there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qdecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely castle view room, great hosts, very clean& all mod cons (including fridge!), very handy to town center (shortish, a little steep, but OK walk) -- and the view from the room --- Fabulous!
Considering all the above - great value!
Rose & Shaun are real characters and fun to be around. Rose sings a great duet with Michael Buble as breakfast is being served! This is good & Shaun does breakfast very well with excellent ingredients.
Make sure you ask Shaun for his Restaurant recommendations his local knowledge is first class!
We only had 1night tp spend and they only had this room available for 1 night, very convenient indeed! If you haven't booked, get there early as possible as it is very popular!

Room Tip: Get in early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadim-Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Mounthaven for 3 nights in October. What a fantastic B & B. Shaun and Rose were excellent hosts, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. You have to stay in the Castle View Room - the view from the bay window is breathtaking (so is the climb up from the town to the house - but hey, who cares when you are staying in such a beautiful house). All your needs are catered for - nice touch putting the ensuite bathroom through the sliding wardrobe - great use of space! Having a fridge in the room was excellent, after a meal in town, a walk up the 70 steps and huge hill (we did get used to it after a while) there was nothing nicer than sitting in the bay window with a cool glass of wine taking in the wonderful views and watching the world go by. This is a B & B not to be missed. The breakfast, cooked by Shaun is great, in fact we can honestly say the best we have ever eaten in a B&B or five star hotel. We will definitely let everyone we know, where to stay in Dartmouth and will probably go back any times. All the other reviews on the Mounthaven are very true to their word. You cannot stay anywhere else when holidaying in Dartmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for the Castle View - it is the best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 54 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounthaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounthaven Guest House

Property: Mounthaven Guest House
Address: 4 Mount Boone, Dartmouth TQ6 9PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mounthaven Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mounthaven Dartmouth's only 5 star guesthouse. Set over looking the river Dart and views to the sea it is a special place to relax. Within easy walking distance of the town center yet in a very quiet location with private guest parking (a must in old towns like ours) it truly is special. From the moment you enter, met with homemade cakes to waking to enjoy a breakfast of local produce much of which is grown in our gardens or made by us like the jams and marmalades you understand why our guest have given us such kind review. We suggest that rather than trying to book via a third party where limitations apply just drop us an email or give us a call to discuss how we can help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mounthaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mounthaven Guest House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing