We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mounthaven Guest House
Ranked #8 of 52 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our 5th consecutive stay at this splendid B + B was as enjoyable and relaxing as ever. From the moment you arrive there is a friendly greeting and you feel immediately at ease and very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay perfect. There is always something different to ensure that guests have every comfort and amenity. Each year there are new furnishings and redecoration to the rooms. It is obvious that Rose and Shaun work hard to keep the house in excellent order. There is a varied choice of breakfast every day. Add to this the views which are the best in Dartmouth. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in 'The Castle View' room which had a fanastic view of the river and over Dartmouth and Kingswear. The room was very comfortable, and the bed was comfy too. The bathroom was very clean. We had tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The owners were very friendly and warm. A few niggles - the hair dryer in the room looked very old and full of dust / dirty and hadn't been PAT tested since 2009, so didn't use. Breakfast was fine, but we had to share larger dining room table with other guests and we prefer places with separate tables. The owner tends to do everything for you, so you are given a portion of fruit salad from a large bowl on the table rather than being free to help yourself. We weren't offered cereals even though there were boxes on the table. We feel it would be better if guests were free to help themselves to these things. That aside, it is a nice place to stay in a great little town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MmmmBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Shaun welcomed with broad smile and made us comfortable! Lovely view..we had river view room! Homely atmosphere at breakfast; garden fruits...and background singing of Rose! Rose also made us special by offering freshly baked cake in the evening! definitely returing again...!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizprashant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We had booked two nights as the intended start of a short tour in Devon and Cornwall, but firstly extended to a third night and then to a fourth.
We had the River Room, one of two rooms to the rear of the house with stunning views over the town, river and Kingswear on the opposite bank. Wonderfully comfortable bed, and the tea making facility included not the usual milk sachets but a jug of fresh milk in a mini fridge.
Breakfast was excellent, with emphasis on home made or grown items. We've never been offered blackberry and apple compote before!
Rose and Shaun are wonderful hosts with an inexhaustible supply of help and information regarding places to visit, eat etc, and we certainly hope to return.
Helen and Peter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellow85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Sean and Rose are great hosts. we loved everything about it, from the generous sized bath towels to the jar of coffee (instead of sachets) and real milk in a jug, to the shelf of books in the bedroom. the breakfast was great as was the view. we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Surprised my hubby with a night stay away from our children! We were both impressed with the room, newly laid thick carpet that cuddled your feet! The bed was a dream; like sleeping on clouds, not even I wanted to get up in the morning. The views over Dartmouth were to die for, shame we had just the one night there.
The bathroom had everything you could possibly wish for; I called it Lotion and Potion Heaven!!
In the morning we were greeted with a large slice of freshly prepared pineapple, their was plenty of choices of cereals, home-made jams etc..really spoilt for choice. We opted for the full english, which didnt dissappoint, dont think Ive had such a well cooked breakfast anywhere else weve stayed, certainly beats the buffets in Hotels!
Congratulations to Rose and Shaun for their welcoming hospitality and suggestions on where to eat etc.
They really have made their home a wonderful haven for visitors, and would have no hesitation in booking again with them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaspiedoodlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I have just come back from a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. Rose and Shaun made me feel very welcome. I stayed in the college room which was perfect as i was visiting the naval college and gave me a wonderful view of the historical building. The room was perfect from the large en-suite to the mini fridge which keeps the fresh milk cold. The breakfast was fantastic and kept me full till dinner, with a selection from home made jams, marmalades and home made fruit stew to a full cooked english breakfast where anything you want is not a problem. There is private parking which was a plus as parking in dartmouth is not easy to find and shaun was more than happy to move my car into the space as i am not the best at parking! The walk into town was short and even closer to the navy college although i did end up driving as the college is on top of a very large hill! I would reccomend this bed and breakfast to everyone wanting to visit dartmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph_Kaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dartmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounthaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounthaven Guest House

Address: 4 Mount Boone, Dartmouth TQ6 9PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range: $114 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mounthaven Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mounthaven Dartmouth's only 5 star guesthouse. Set over looking the river Dart and views to the sea it is a special place to relax. Within easy walking distance of the town center yet in a very quiet location with private guest parking (a must in old towns like ours) it truly is special. From the moment you enter, met with homemade cakes to waking to enjoy a breakfast of local produce much of which is grown in our gardens or made by us like the jams and marmalades you understand why our guest have given us such kind review. We suggest that rather than trying to book via a third party where limitations apply just drop us an email or give us a call to discuss how we can help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mounthaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mounthaven Guest House Dartmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing