We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Much more than a walk in the park

What a lovely experience. A big thanks to Diane, Steve and Polo (our llama) who were great walking... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ChristopherSheath
via mobile
Lovely surroundings with friendly hosts and animals

This was a birthday present for my husband as I wanted to give him something completely different... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
Helen T
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
70
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade scones cream tea local area great hosts my birthday last weekend local history an amazing experience brilliant afternoon hour walk stunning scenery great company car park short walk steve llamas logan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely experience. A big thanks to Diane, Steve and Polo (our llama) who were great walking partners. This was a must do experience of about 2:30 hours and about 3 miles in the most gorgeous moorland with cream tea at the top of a tor. Steve and Diane were very engaging and we leant so much about the local area, llamas and alpacas. It’s not the sort of experience you expect to have on Dartmoor but it is one not to be missed.

Thank ChristopherSheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This was a birthday present for my husband as I wanted to give him something completely different, The hosts were friendly and informative and we were able to chose which Llama or Alpaca to walk, as it was a quiet day we had an animal each with my husband leading a very inquisitive Llama and myself opting for the Alpaca, both animals were very well behaved and we enjoyed our walk over the Tor and a delicious cream tea, the hosts were chatty and pointing out things of interest along the way.
My husband declared it was the best birthday present he has ever had.

Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Just fab! We booked for my brother's 40th birthday and I can't wait for another opportunity to go back again! The llamas had such character and it was really funny seeing other people's faces when they saw llamas and alpacas walking over the Moors! Steve and Diane were able to tell us lots of interesting bits about the Moors and it just felt like we were walking with friends!
Just get out there an do it!!!!

Thank Quest787914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Manager at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review, so good to receive such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

What’s not to like? Wonderful scenery, friendly and informative hosts, interesting and well behaved animals - just a great thing to do.

Thank a1tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Manager at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We booked for our friend's 30th birthday and she had one of the best days of her life!

There were three groups of us, two trios and a pair, with three llamas and two alpacas. Steve and Diane introduced us to the animals - all wonderful individuals with each their own character! - and paired each group of us with one or two animals. Me and my two friends got Logan, an alpaca, and Magee, a llama. They're great at pairing up the right people with the right animals, so kids or those who might be nervous get the most experienced and dependable animals.

We walked for about an hour through the gorgeous Dartmoor landscape with Steve and Diane giving us interesting tidbits and local history along the way. Their family have been farming the area since the 1600s at least! Once at the top of the hills, we stopped to enjoy the view and have our individually packed homemade scones, cream and jam with hot tea or coffee. The view is unbeatable. Then a relaxing walk back.

Your in control of your own animals the whole way, and its a great opportunity to bond with such gorgeous creatures. D&S have been running their walks for 11 years so you're in the safest hands you can imagine. And unlike walking round a paddock or field, you see the animals in a landscape they obviously enjoy too.

A totally unique and brilliant way to see Dartmoor and a superb experience for anyone who loves llamas!

Thank Phoebe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Owner at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Wow thats an amazing review. we are really pleased you enjoyed the experience. We enjoy what we do and really appreciate your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Brilliant ! Steve and Dianne very informative and Llamas great! Great afternoon for our first experience on Dartmoor. Definitely will do it again

Thank dtate40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Manager at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

We did the cream tea walk and I must say, I'm really glad we did. Steve and Diane were brilliant hosts; obviously incredibly knowledgable about llamas but also about the local area and it's history, too. The llamas are truly amazing beasts - obedient enough to make walking with them easy but willful enough to not be boring. I don't think Leo really gave two hoots about me but I feel we bonded!

Absolutely great experience and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Thank 166chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Manager at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you for your lovely feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

This is an absolute must for animal lovers. We booked relatively late so they only had space on the short walk but I really felt we got full value. As a family of four we were given two animals - a big beautiful llama and a seriously cute little baby alpaca. We swapped the leads round between us so we all got a turn. There were two other families who also each had a llama and an alpaca. The animals were a sheer delight - unbearably cute and easy to manage, even the little alpaca who was a bit nervous if she couldn't see her best mate at the beginning of the walk but soon settled down. The walk itself was beautiful and we were given lots of information about both the countryside and the animals. All the family were thrilled with the experience and it was definitely the best thing we did in the whole of the summer hols (which included a very expensive holiday in Sicily!). Can't recommend this enough.

Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Owner at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. How would have thought Walking with Llamas and Alpacas could compete with a trip to Sicily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant, enjoyable, fantastic way to spend the day with the family.Perfect day, the weather was good and our hosts were great. Very friendly, professional, knowledgeable and had thought of everything. This trip catered for all ages and the route was well planned. The animals were well looked after and cared for.

Thank isabeldoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Owner at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you for your lovely Review. We very much appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

This was truly wonderful afternoon. Beautiful landscape and gorgeous animals and great guides . I just couldn’t stop smiling, the walking with these cute animals was just brilliant and the cream tea was stunning. Highly recommended and worth every penny . All 4 of us loved it so much that we want to did it again. Please don’t hesitate it was such fun

Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoorllama, Owner at Dartmoor Llama Walks, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you so much for your review, it is always appreciated when we get such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews