We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely B&B”
Review of Greenfields

Greenfields
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenfields
Ranked #4 of 5 Clovelly B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a brilliant find. Debbie and Derek are excellent hosts. Breakfasts were very good, really substantial and were cooked to order. Fresh fruit and yoghurts were also available. Our bedroom was very clean, quiet and had a fantastic view over rolling green Devonshire countryside. The room had a large selection of teas, biscuits and delicious fresh fruit, all of which were replenished during our short stay. The decor and fresh flowers made it a perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Plenty of toiletries were also provided. Great attention was paid to cleanliness, presentation and to making us feel at home. Debbie and Derek made recommendations of places to eat and visit which were great. Greenfields is ideally situated for exploring Clovelly, Hartland, Bude, Bideford and the surrounding areas. We wholeheartedly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent a great couple of days in the Suite. We could not fault one aspect of Greenfields. Simply the best B&B you will ever stay in. Accommodation is pristine and attention to detail is overwhelming. Debbie and Derek made us welcome immediately and are more than helpful in the way they run their establishment. As other reviewers have said, perfect base to get to surrounding areas of Devon and Cornwall.
Book with confidence and enjoy the serene views and hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murdo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent hosts, great breakfast and superb location for exploring Bude, Hartland Point and Bideford. Spectacular views nearby down to North Cornwall and up to North Devon.
Unspoilt, pleasant and quiet Devon countryside all reached from a great base.

Value for money,high standard of accomodation and I highly recommend Greenfields.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the best B&B we stayed at during our tour around Devon and Cornwall with friends. Debbie and Derek obviously enjoy what they do because they do it so well. The room was beautiful with absolutely everything you could possibly want, including fresh flowers and fruit. Very comfortable beds and a beautiful breakfast. Very good value too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from 5 lovely days at Greenfields.
We stayed in the suite, which is beautifully furnished and decorated...and Debbie and Derek did their utmost to make us welcome and comfortable. Breakfast is great....towels are soft, large and sweet smelling.....everything about our stay was pleasing. Many other B and Bs would learn a lot from this charming couple. Go and see...and experience being pampered at Greenfields.

Mon and Eric...West Coker Somerset

Room Tip: The Suite is fabulous, but so are the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent breakfast, clean and spacious room, quiet. Fresh flowers and fruit greet us as we enter our room along with the usual biscuits and tea/coffee/hot chocolate that seems to be a signature piece particular to England. Varied choice at breakfast including all the expected choices to the unexpected for those who choose to be adventurous. For example, poached eggs on halibut -- delicious and wonderfully prepared or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Clovelly town is easy to drive to from here and is a must see. Very charming as we're our hosts Debbie and Derek at Greenfields.

Room Tip: Do read the reviews before booking. We choose the ones in our price range and the area that we want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Debbie and Derek were the most hospitable hosts that you could imagine. The place was spotless, well furnished and the breakfasts were wonderful. Fresh fruit and flowers in the room, everything was well thought out and executed. If you do not enjoy your stay there then there is something seriously wrong with you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
591 reviews
2.6 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
East Dyke Farmhouse
East Dyke Farmhouse
#1 of 5 in Clovelly
177 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Smithy B & B
The Old Smithy B & B
#3 of 5 in Clovelly
12 reviews
1.6 mi away
Home from Home B&B
Home from Home B&B
#8 of 11 in Hartland
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenfields

Address: A39 Baxworthy, Clovelly EX39 5SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clovelly
Price Range: $97 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Greenfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenfields Clovelly, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing