We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for the little ones”

The Milky Way Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Clovelly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For a truly out of this world experience, don't miss out on the fun at the Milky Way Adventure Park - recently voted Devon's Large Attraction of the Year. Just 10 minutes outside of Bideford in North Devon awaits a full day of adventure for the whole family come rain or shine. Take a ride on the Cosmic Typhoon roller coaster - enjoy the panoramic views from the top, but prepare to scream as you face the hair-raising drop! Have a close encounter with aliens in the Clone Zone dark ride and take on the huge death slide in the Time Warp - if you dare. The newest addition is an amazing display of Sci-Fi memorabilia - one man's vast private collection of characters, collectables and fan art from film and TV...from Daleks to Darth Vader! There's plenty for smaller adventurers too including the innovative Little Stars play centre designed for babies to pre-schoolers. It has a multi-level soft play area, sensory room for babies, a dressing up area, roll play pizzeria complete with kitchen, tables and food to stimulate imaginative play - and even a pretend car wash with ride-on cars. The park also boasts the UK's largest bouncing pillow, as well as a smaller pillow just for children under five and accompanying adults. One of the parks most popular attractions are the droid destroyer dodgems which guarantee a bumping good time for everyone, including little ones with special gentle rides for smaller visitors. Another favourite is the Time Warp - North Devon's biggest indoor play area, with assault courses and slides built for adults as well as children. To wind down, visitors can take a leisurely trip on the Milky Way railway, and then sit back and enjoy the shows which include Merlin from Britain's Got Talent with his fun packed skills and thrills show and breath-taking displays from the North Devon Birds of Prey Centre. The park also has a 1,000 seat indoor arena, so you can be sure that the show goes on whatever the weather! Alongside this, there's plenty to try your hand at including archery, golf and laser shooting for all the family. With over 110,000 sq feet of indoor fun & acres of outdoor activities, The Milky Way is the biggest all weather, family day out in North Devon. It's designed to be fun for parents as well as kids and there are no hidden extras as all of the rides, shows and play areas are included in the entrance fee. Your adventure awaits you - are you ready?
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My Grand children had an awesome day, we all loved the new restaurant and the little stars play area was fantastic, the bouncing pillows was so much fun will definitely be coming again.
This is a brilliant place for younger children

Thank 421Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at The Milky Way Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Carol. Your positive comments certainly put a smile on our faces so thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We're so pleased with our new attractions and facilities so it's fantastic to hear you were so impressed with them.

We'd be delighted for you and your grandchildren to visit again, hopefully you collected your VIP re-admission card before you left which entitles you to return for just £6.50 per person every time you visit until the end of March next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,079 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

When you arrive at the Milky Way it looks like your arriving at an industrial unit, not much in the way of a flash exterior! But please don't turn around, inside is worth it! It cost £50 for a family of 4 and was worth every penny.

A good proportion is inside so ideal if it's raining, with plenty to keep the kids amused. The indoor warp zone play area is massive, with the added bonus of the cafe so mums and dads can get a drink while keeping an eye on the kids. The food is good and well priced, and there are plenty of picnic areas if you have your own food.

The indoor shows are great fun, very amusing and entertaining but the bird of prey show takes some beating. To have barn owls and Harris hawks flying low over your head while the falconer gives fascinating facts about them was just spell binding, we didn't want it to end. Follow that up to a visit to the North Devon bird of prey centre to see the other birds is a must.

While the roller coasters are not Alton towers standard they do bring a smile to your face, and that's all that matters. The hedge maze was a little short but still the challenge was there for the kids to beat us (they did!) indoor archery lessons (for a small fee), laser target shooting, bumper cars, so much to keep us amused. Everything here is centred around the family and family time, and we loved it. Go there and enjoy!

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at The Milky Way Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi Mark. Thank you for such a glowing review......it really motivates us all when we receive such positive feedback. Hopefully potential customers will read your review so they too can enjoy a day out here with us. Thank you once more and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

In response to some of the poor reviews, let's be clear, this is not Alton Towers... Instead you get an old school family Fun Park with lots of different things to do. Admission price was reasonable for a full days entertainment.

My 3 year old twins started off on farm area on ride along bikes, then went on large play area including death slides which they eventually got their mum on! Watched space/juggling show which was fun. Next was the dodgems, followed by excellent indoor bird of prey show (which was fine despite having young kids). Caterpillar roller coaster and then lunch, plus silly young kids show, which our two loved.

Then moved into the excellent new soft play barn. Very well thought out both in terms of access, safety and things to do. Pizzeria was great too. Due to weather most of outdoor stuff was closed but would be even better in summer. Chap doing balloon animals/kids show was superb with the kids, he twice remade our balloons when they popped and there were tears!

I checked out clone zone (and sent wife on it, not suitable for young kids!) - was a bit naff but fun, if you've watched Aliens your heart will still be pounding as you walk through the ship, it's quite jumpy!

My one suggestion would be restricted/monitored access for the Black Hole death slide. While there are LOTS of warning signs up (and a monitor on blue slide with mats) it would be all too easy for kids to get up there before parents can fully assess the area (it's at the top of the same stairs as the other slides and not that obvious when you first arrive unless you've seen it before). I'm worried little ones could do themselves a serious injury coming down the Black Hole in particular!

All-in-all though a thoroughly decent day out and would go again.

Thank MarkA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at The Milky Way Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Mark. Thank you for your fair and positive review. We're really pleased you enjoyed everything that we had to offer, including our brand new area for the younger children called Little Stars. Hopefully the weather will be touch kinder to us next time you visit so you can also enjoy all our outdoor attractions.

We're grateful for your suggestion of restricted/monitored access for the Black Hole death slide. It being one of the tallest drop slides in the country we understand your concerns. However as you say - there are warning signs advising parents to keep a close eye on younger children but also in place are high edges at the top of these slides to prevent younger ones from climbing over. We also have extra members of staff monitoring the whole play area during busier periods and to date we haven't had any incidents of this nature. Nevertheless, following on from your suggestion we will continue to monitor this situation very closely and concentrate the attention of extra staff members in this area.

Thank you again for your review and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great value yet again. The merlin show is entertaining and a laugh.Pity the cafe only has half the seats open for use. Not allowed to use the seats where you get a good view of the play area.

Thank DavidGlaholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at The Milky Way Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear David. Thank you for writing another review. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Merlin's new show and found your day out here to be great value for money - hopefully you collected your free VIP voucher again this year which you can use every time you visit until the end of March 2015. This will gain you entry for just £6.50 each.

Occasionally one end of our Galactic Cafe may be closed if the extra tables aren't needed as this obviously creates a lot of additional cleaning for the cafe staff, however we'll take your comments on board and look more closely at the situation. We also have two more eateries which are brand new this year......The Star Light Restaurant which looks out onto our roller coaters and The Cosmic Cafe which is integrated in our brand new under 7's play area called Little Stars - we're confident you'll be impressed with the quality of these and the food on offer if you wanted to try these out on your next visit.

Hoping to see you again soon from all at The Milky Way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We won a free pass to the Milky Way Adventure Park and was nicely surprised to find that there was something for everyone including babies. There's a new part to the Milky Way called Little Stars which is for babies and toddlers where they have a dedicated soft play for children under 3 which is great!!

There is so much at the Milky Way from soft play areas, to live shows, a Museum, Birds of Prey, Archery, Dodgems, Slides, Rides and Coasters, Railway, Indoor Play, Crafts and much much more - all of which is included in your ticket. There is also a couple cafes which serve nice hot and cold snacks. Couldn't fault the Milky Way. Will definitely return.

Thank amie_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at The Milky Way Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Congratulations on winning the free pass and we're really delighted that you approve of our new under 7's area - Little Stars.

We don't claim to be perfect but we all work so hard here to provide our customers a fun filled, value for money day out so to hear that you couldn't fault us is very encouraging for us all. Thank you for your kind comments and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Milky Way Adventure Park also viewed

 

Been to The Milky Way Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing