We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
65
93
55
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
93
55
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscobbled streetthe pubbeer gardenshared balconyland roversteep climblovely villagecharming b bhigh streetmain buildingcream tearoom was clean and comfortablevery comfortable staykippersstayed for one nightfull english breakfasttwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 250 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

We booked and got the last dog friendly room. Let me assure you it is very dog friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. Right from the start the staff were amazing and friendly. We ate both nights at the inn and the food was simple but delicious, egg, ham, chips always is a hit! Recommend the pie too, really scrumptious. Thia our Pomsky was allowed to eat dinner with us and for breakfast we had a little table to ourselves in the upstairs lounge as dogs weren’t allowed in the breakfast area ( for obvious reasons) The breakfast was amazing. Generous portions and freshly cooked. Thia even got her own fry up just for her. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and my husband learned a great deal whilst chatting to locals in the bar.
To sum up, Thia gives the New Inn a big 5 Paws up! Loved it. RUFF!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so pleased you and of course Princess Thia enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to welcome the three of you back to the New Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here one night whilst walking the coast. The Inn has an idyllic situation in the village, providing you don't mind the steep cobbles. It is great to be here when the crowds have gone.
The staff were welcoming and helpful.
This an old building so things creak a bit. The bedroom was tastefully furnished and the bed comfy. Excellent bath and shower. OK the windows don't close properly but there is no noise at night.
WiFi was poor apart from reception.
The bar was basic with some local ales, no decent cider though.
The adjacent dining area simple. Usual bar menu but portions are generous. No complaints.
Breakfast was rather late 8.30 - 9.30 but taken in the pleasant dining room. Attentive staff and freshly cooked food. A good selection available.
Recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Prudol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a good review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and the staff looked after you. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

After walking the SWCP we were pleased to find the hotel is quite near the top of the street, so we didn't have too far to walk up the next morning. We had a comfortable room in the main hotel which had a nice big bath, which is great for the aching muscles. The room was quite small, but there is a guest lounge if you feel the need to spread out. We had dinner here too. Veggie chilli very good. Fish and chips come with more peas than you could possibly imagine. Good for hungry walkers. Clovelly Oxygen is the perfect rehydration fluid. They do a good packed lunch. SWCP walkers should buy this. It takes longer than you'd think to get to Hartland Quay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SoftSouthernJessies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We were lucky to be able to get accommodation for 7 family members at reasonably short notice. Accommodation was clean if in need of a bit of modernisation and new mattresses, which were quite hard. Quite an experience getting down to the hotel from the car park. We arrived on dark and negotiating the very steep cobbled slope with suitcases was quite a feat. Suggest people ask for their suitcases to be taken down for them when they book. A fascinating location though, glad we visited. The breakfasts were brilliant.

Room Tip: Rooms other than the front have only views of roofs!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SIMBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, Clovelly is famous for it's steep cobbled street. We do offer a luggage service from March to September where we can transport your luggage for you but this does have time restrictions. Very pleased you enjoyed our breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We ordered for a week, a double room with wifi, ensuite and TV in the hotel, on arrival we were given room no 15 in New House across the road. It was basic no wifi, no TV, no chairs, no bedside lights, dull, very tiny wardrobe, broken shower bracket, windowless toilet with broken extractor fan, kettle would not fit under tap to fill, Shower room ceiling covered in black mould. I could go on and on, only rooms 1 to 8 in hotel have TV and better facilities, all the rest need a lot to be desired, the Receptionist said no 15 was one of the better rooms.

Room Tip: Only use rooms 1 to 8 which are actually in the Hotel, all the rest are in a backpackers type hostel across the road
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 842don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately you were mislead by the agency that you booked with. They know exactly what rooms we have and what is on offer. All other points have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews