We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
70
96
55
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
96
55
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cobbled street the pub beer garden shared balcony high street walking the swcp land rover steep climb specials board lovely village visiting clovelly main building cream tea full english breakfast room was clean and comfortable very comfortable stay stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 258 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved Clovelly and the New Inn staff were perfect, the breakfasts were first class as were the pub meals. Only downside was the lack of television in the Annex which was where we were staying. The room also had no main light only one small table lamp. The staff however were so good that we tended to overlook those two items despite my wife missing one of her programs.

I would stay again but probably would pick the main pub as all those rooms have TV.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the pub itself not the annex if you want to have TV
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely village, booked in the new inn for two days..." peaceful, nice room and bathroom, bed however, so full of lumps! Great breakfast, not enough to fill in time for More than a day , last food orders at both pubs 8.p m so like sleepy village , need to get out and explore Devon , on. Second. Morning overall peace from city life !....? For a few hours

Room Tip: Only 8rooms, so look at what is not booked !
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My parents and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely old inn in Clovelly, this very special little steep car-less village! Our rooms in the annexe opposite the main building were spacious, very clean, minimalist and modern. The hotel had wifi, the breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMatawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed three nights at the New Inn while walking the adjacent sections of the South West Coast Path and had a very comfortable stay.

I was in the annexe across the steep street from the hotel. Shared bathroom - not a problem and it had an excellent modern shower with plenty of hot water, I was, however, surprised to find no TV in the room - something I've come to take for granted but will remember to check in advance next time! Anyway, the WiFi worked fine in my room, so all was not lost. The room itself was pretty basic with cheap furnishings - but it was clean and comfortable. Also, it was good value compared to other accommodation I looked at.

Breakfast was excellent - good quality and plenty of choice. The bar food in the evening was also nice and pretty good value.

There are only two places to eat and get an evening drink in Clovelly - The New Inn at the top of the hill and The Red Lion down by the harbour. The Red Lion is nice for a pre-dinner drink while admiring the view, however I found the food OK but expensive. Last orders for food are 8.00 pm at the New Inn and 8.30 at the Red Lion, so early nights tend to be the norm!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

When arriving in Clovelly the New Inn is the first place to eat after the entrance. You have to give your order at the bar. Food is good pub grub, big portions and served to the table quickly. Friendly staff and clean bar, restaurant and toilets.

Room Tip: Dont wear high heals, walking boots only. Beautiful village.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaa-w1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews