We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Excellent!”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clovelly
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We loved Clovelly and the Hotel was perfect, had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the High Street. Very peaceful and a great place to relax. The staff where very friendly and helpful and nothing was two much trouble. The food was excellent, especially the breakfasts, kept us going for the day. We stayed on the for 3 nights, just wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 226 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved Clovelly and the New Inn staff were perfect, the breakfasts were first class as were the pub meals. Only downside was the lack of television in the Annex which was where we were staying. The room also had no main light only one small table lamp. The staff however were so good that we tended to overlook those two items despite my wife missing one of her programs.

I would stay again but probably would pick the main pub as all those rooms have TV.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the pub itself not the annex if you want to have TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely village, booked in the new inn for two days..." peaceful, nice room and bathroom, bed however, so full of lumps! Great breakfast, not enough to fill in time for More than a day , last food orders at both pubs 8.p m so like sleepy village , need to get out and explore Devon , on. Second. Morning overall peace from city life !....? For a few hours

Room Tip: Only 8rooms, so look at what is not booked !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My parents and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely old inn in Clovelly, this very special little steep car-less village! Our rooms in the annexe opposite the main building were spacious, very clean, minimalist and modern. The hotel had wifi, the breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMatawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed three nights at the New Inn while walking the adjacent sections of the South West Coast Path and had a very comfortable stay.

I was in the annexe across the steep street from the hotel. Shared bathroom - not a problem and it had an excellent modern shower with plenty of hot water, I was, however, surprised to find no TV in the room - something I've come to take for granted but will remember to check in advance next time! Anyway, the WiFi worked fine in my room, so all was not lost. The room itself was pretty basic with cheap furnishings - but it was clean and comfortable. Also, it was good value compared to other accommodation I looked at.

Breakfast was excellent - good quality and plenty of choice. The bar food in the evening was also nice and pretty good value.

There are only two places to eat and get an evening drink in Clovelly - The New Inn at the top of the hill and The Red Lion down by the harbour. The Red Lion is nice for a pre-dinner drink while admiring the view, however I found the food OK but expensive. Last orders for food are 8.00 pm at the New Inn and 8.30 at the Red Lion, so early nights tend to be the norm!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

When arriving in Clovelly the New Inn is the first place to eat after the entrance. You have to give your order at the bar. Food is good pub grub, big portions and served to the table quickly. Friendly staff and clean bar, restaurant and toilets.

Room Tip: Dont wear high heals, walking boots only. Beautiful village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaa-w1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for a night in June (and a night last September) passing through along the South West Coast Path. The main hotel is on one side of the cobbled hill street, its annexe is opposite, looking equally olde worlde. Putting the dawn chorus to one side (you can`t really complain about that, can you) it was quiet. Attractive and beautifully located, it was a pleasure to stay on there, after the day trippers toiled home (it`s hard going uphill back to the car park) and the village simmers down. The room itself was simply & prettily decorated (no TV but we didn`t find that a hardship). Our shower was fine, there was a shared bathroom along the landing if you wanted a bath instead. Breakfast was very good, in a lovely room with a historic feel to it. The staff were friendly. If you hanker after something posher than the pub grub (and I don`t mean that disparagingly) in the bar, there`s always it`s sister pub/hotel, the Red Lion, down on the quay. That serves a different pub grub menu and has a full-blown a la carte restaurant. The Red Lion has great sea & harbour views but if you compare their tariffs you`ll see what good value the New Inn Annexe is.

Room Tip: Although you might pick up a bit of noise from the street, I like the rooms overlooking it because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
596 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
8.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: High Street, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clovelly
Price Range: $103 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Clovelly
New Inn Clovelly, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing