We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
65
93
55
22
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
93
55
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscobbled streetthe pubbeer gardenshared balconyland roversteep climblovely villagecharming b bhigh streetmain buildingcream tearoom was clean and comfortablevery comfortable staykippersstayed for one nightfull english breakfasttwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 250 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed in Clovelly for one night before beginning the south coast path, and Clovelly looked like a lovelly picturesque little town, but you only have two "hotel options". The New Inn looked nicer than the red lion down by the harbor. The staff was friendly, but the hotel seems old and dark inside. Of course, we had rain whilst there, but we were the only ones in the Inn, and once we were checked in everyone disappeared. The room was clean, but very small. We ate in the restaurant downstairs and the food was very average. Maybe if we had come when the restaurant was busy with visitors it may have been better, but it seemed like all the locals came in for a drink (which usually I love), but then the service was below average.
In the morning, the food was fine, but again, the New Inn just had no character. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Clovelly is said to be commercialised, but we found this unique fishing village very friendly and welcoming. The New Inn was charming, with a cosy bar, tasty local real ale, and an excellent restaurant. Our room was very comfortable and well-equipped, with a hot bath - much-appreciated after our 11-mile cliff-top walk from Westward Ho!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TealeWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Booked into the New Inn, late Friday Morning over the internet. Arrived at 4.30pm Saturday afternoon, greated with a warm welcome and shown to our clean and comfy room.
Clovelly is a lovely small fishing village, you can wind down the steep cobbled hill to the Red Lion Hotel, and take in the stunning views along the coast line.
The cobbled hills are steep..so be warned.
We ate at the new inn, the service was friendly and quick, and the food was great, great beers also on offer.
Lovely nights sleep ( no road noise) Breakfast was served in the resturant, very friendly staff, and an excellent full english breakfast !
Well worth a visit 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Annex" but the room was clean and very comfy. No TV, so be warned if you want a Tv... it didnt bother us.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Didn't stay in the hotel but went for lunch. The food was terrible and over priced. We ordered chicken burger and chips, vegetable Lasagne and gammon, eggs and chips. The burger was processed, the gammon tough and eggs runny. The Lasagne was missing veg and was under cooked. To make it worse the place was swarming with flies! There isn't a huge choice of places to eat which is probably why the waitress didn't care when we complained but I'm sure the other places must be better. It was a shame because it ruined an otherwise lovely day.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClarkBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It is such a pretty village and we were able to stay in the heart of it at the New Inn. We had a lovely room with sea views from the large window seat. We ate in the restaurant which provided a lovely dinner. All the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the sea view
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterExonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews