We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of those gems”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clovelly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We came across this hotel by accident while travelling the coast of GB. Lovely location! Great room. Our only criticism was the lack of team work and staffing in the Dining Room - otherwise it was fantastic and would definitely stay again. Great place to chill. Good food. Nice atmosphere. Passionate teamwork and this hotel would be perfect - good value too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mypropertycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 610 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

First the good. Good booking information with clear instructions on how to get the car down, a receptionist that was expecting us, and a warm welcome. We had a lovely room overlooking the quay. The room was pleasant and the shower good. The village is lovely and we enjoyed an afternoon looking around and then sat on the beach to watch a regatta, it was a relaxing way to spend the afternoon. We decided to have dinner in the hotel, the food was good, the crab starter gorgeous and both turbot and sole very good, we shared a cheese plate which was ample between the 2 of us. The home made bread was delicious. We had lobster salad in the bar for Sunday lunch, the lobster was huge and beautifully cooked, best I've had.

Now the mixed bag:The wine list was reasonable and reasonably priced, but the wine wasn't chilled - we had a glass of room temperature Prosecco to start, followed by the same in a bottle of Muscadet. Although in an ice bucket, there wasn't enough to cover the bottle until we added water to it. We got the feeling that they were overwhelmed by the rowers from the regatta in the bar below. There was certainly a lively party happening down there with a live musician with a hefty drumset, which rather drowned out the music in the restaurant.

Now the bad. Breakfast takes place in a one hour slot - 8.30 to 9.30 - which means that the one lady serving can't cope. We went down late at 9.40 to find that every table was uncleared/dirty, and 10 minutes later when we were noticed we were rudely refused breakfast, no offer of 'let me ask the chef if he/she can do something for you' - just an offer of cereal and juice (the juice had run out anyhow!). I felt like we were in an episode of Fawlty Towers. When you are paying £145 for B&B a little more accommodation of the customer is expected - especially as this is a hotel not a B&B. It really soured the experience, and it was embarassing to meet with the same rude women in the bar for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Not a pleasant experience, mainly due to the disinterested, moaning, grumpy staff. One can only assume that because of where they are they dont rely on repeat business so perhaps they feel that they dont have to provide good service because of this? The restaurant was generally dirty, with dusty cob webbed windows, sticky floors and dirty tables an overall unpleasant and overpriced dining experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We walked into the room and immediately were impressed with the view. It was very clean and well presented. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was excellent, and their was a good choice for breakfast. The landrover trip to the top was fun and was a welcome inclusion for a nice walk back down to the hotel. The parking at the hotel is convenient. Our room was very quiet and had a really good night's sleep

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you have not yet discovered the Red Lion in Clovelly, Devon you need to. To sleep overlooking the harbour, with the sound of the waves over the pebbles and the sea air is one thing. Combine that with extraordinary service, and people everywhere in the village who want to stop and chat and share their home with you - it is amazing. We spent a week there, and used it as a base for a wonderful holiday but could quite easily have spent the whole time in the harbour. Take a trip out on his boat with Rem, who is fascinating and quite hilarious. Eat in the Red Lion, or the New Inn, or the cafe. Sit and watch the tide come in. Walk "up along" and see where Kingsley wrote "Westward Ho!" Chat with the owner of the silk shop up in the craft center. Visit the Court and its gardens and church. I could quite easily have stayed forever. The drive down the hill is not for the faint of heart, but we discovered one can leave the car at the visitor's center up top and take the trusty Land rovers up and down. Thank you, Clovelly, for a fantastic holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 in the Red Lion are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brit1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were booked to stay in one of the main hotel rooms with superb harbour views, sadly the tourist walking past were rather noisey, we asked if we could move to a quieter part of the holtel, only to be moved to the sail loft where the constant noise of the landrover service with reverse gear warning noise throughout the day till early evening and very early morning deliveries (5am), none of the windows opened so stiffling hot! cant understand why anyone thought it would be less noisy moving us there. Apart from that the rooms were superb, staff extremely helpfull and delicious food. Not the place to go for peace and quiet!

Room Tip: Stick with main hotel rooms, trust me the tourist are less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a one night getaway. Very warm welcome and very easy check in. Lovely location rught by the sea and at the bottom of the unspoiled picturesque village of Clovelly. Sail loft accomodation of an extremely high standard with lovely sea views. Busy but rustic bar area that serves good quality and reasonably priced bar lunches. Good choice of dinner in the retaurant though far too much mash served with one of the fish dishes. Interestingly, the foreign waitress was much more helpful and smiley than her english counterpart. Breakfast at 8:30 is a little late for the onward traveller but the costs were deducted from our bill. Rather a steep hill to negotiate getting to the hotel though a Landrover service is most helpful. Throrughly recommended for adults and the physically able. we will certainly return and this is something rarely said by me!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkieGlastonbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.1 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
228 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
430 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
11.3 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,879 reviews
14.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clovelly
Price Range: $110 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon, UK
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing