We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clovelly
Certificate of Excellence
Halling
1 review
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We went to the Red Lion for our 21st Anniversary and from the moment we arrived were made to feel so welcome, I commented to my husband on our way home that it felt as if we were locals ! We stayed in room 4 which had the most stunning view , it was spotlessly clean and had everything you could ask for. Breakfast was superb and our evening meal very good the waitresses were all lovely as were the bar staff and the manageress Sally and her partner were so friendly . Clovelly and the Red Lion are very special places indeed !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzikingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    129
    40
    38
    33
See reviews for
68
322
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed recently for one night and we were really really impressed.

After we made the initial booking, we decided we would like to take our dog. When we asked, they said this was no trouble at all and changed which room we would be in.

On arrival you drive down a very steep narrow road, now I know some people have wrote saying it is a silly, dangerous road. Yes, there is the possibility or danger, but we found it to be a nice little road that added to the anticipation of reaching the bottom and seeing the hotel.

The hotel is situated right on the waters edge, so the cars park on the beach facing out to sea. We checked in and were shown to our room. Due to taking the og we were given the one room with its own entrance. The entrance was off the cobbled street, up some really old steps. The room was fantastic and the view out over the harbour was as good as any I have ever seen.We had the evening meal and we both honestly thought it was the best meal we ever had. It was just perfect.

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast before having a walk on the beach to the nearby waterfall.

We would recommend the Red Lion to anybody, it was a fantastic night and such a break from the hustle and bustle of being in the middle of a town.

Will definitely be back at some point.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeronimo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed over Christmas this year and got beck home yesterday (27/12/10). I don't normally post reviews on trip adviser but after reading some of the negative reviews on this site I feel compelled to.
From the time we arrived on 24/12/10 until we left yesterday we had a truly festive Christmas.
We knew what Cloveley would be like from descriptions on the Internet (and this site) and knew that the road down was steep (25%) Once down parking was more than adequate
We were given a glass (well several) of mulled wine when we arrived and from then things only got better.
The staff could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent - and the fish/crab etc was locally sourced (I know this because the supplier "ticker" was in the bar most nights)
Our room was good and the view over the harbor in the morning was great (seagulls a bit noisy though)
With respect to a previous entry my wife has limited mobility and we knew we would not be able to walk up to the village.
Our fellow guests really made what would have been a good time a great one.
Would we go again? Definately!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Just got back from a Friday and Saturday nght stay at the Red Lion. Like the previous reviewer, I'd read some of the negative reviews and wondered if I'd made a mistake booking the Red Lion for a weekend away for my fiance's birthday. I very rapidly realised that I hadn't made a mistake but had hit the Jackpot.

I couldn't recognise the place that was described in the negative reviews as the place where we stayed - our room was magnifiicent, with beautiful views on two sides over both the harbour and the open sea, it was very clean and the en-suite had a nice large shower. The staff were, without exception, friendly, courteous and helpful, and the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent, not just the fish (which was superb), but everything we tried.

The area is striking in its natural beauty and the coastal path was lovely to walk on the bright crisp autumn days we were blessed with. Clovelly itself is very nice indeed with a well stocked village shop that sold very nice pasties!

Of all the negative comments that I'd read, the one that struck me most was the crticism that the Red Lion wasn't a hotel but a pub with B&B rooms. I don't really understand the distinction personally, but if I had to make a comment I'd say it was an Inn, of significant historical interest and an abundance of character. If you want to stay in a modern hotel with any character sanitised out of it, then you probably shouldn't choose the Red Lion, but we liked it very much indeed.

It wasn't cheap, but it was very special, and my only complaint is that we had to leave!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I recently stayed here on a saturday night with my father. We had a fantastic time.
Firstly, anyone who complains about the steep drive down to the hotel hasn't done ANY research. The whole point of Clovelly is the inacessability!!
All the hotel staff were helpful and friendly - even staying after hours to talk about life in this charmingly unusual village. The room was very clean and had all the little touches you would expect from a top quality pub with rooms.
As for the food, my FRESH THAT DAY loster was far tastier than those i have eaten at The Bellagio or Sandy Lane!!! Breakfast was equally good.
I really recommend this place for an "away from it all" delightful break.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Arriving at the hotel you have to drive down a ridiculously steep and potentially dangerous narrow road. When we got to the hotel there was a private function on and no parking left. A mamber of staff did find us somewhere to park after we waited several minutes (not what you want after a 5 hour journey), even then you have to park over large stones with the sea directly underneath. We stayed for two nights for a wedding. Reception was rarely staffed throughout our stay. Someone eventually checked us in and showed us to our room.

The room we stayed in was tiny and only lit by lamps at the side of the bed, there were no ceiling lights at all. The ensuite only had a shower and no bath and was also tiny, it was very easy to burn yourself on the towel heater when stepping out of the shower. Our first night was incredibly noisy with teenagers partying at the hotel until the early hours of the morning and also hanging around by the parked cars and throwing local fishing baskets around. Also, the walls are very thin and you can hear everything from adjoining rooms. I called the hotel before arrival to check there was a wi-fi connection and told yes. The lady who showed us to our room wrote the code down on a scruffy piece of scrap paper. We were unable to get internet access throughout our stay even after reporting it to staff. We complained about the disturbance and lack of internet access the next day having been re-assured this would be passed on to the manager, However, we received no feedback.

There was no iron in the room and when I went downstairs to ask if there was one we could use, yet again there was no staff at reception. The only positives were that breakfast was very nice, the meal we received with the wedding was okay and the hotel cleanliness was of a good standard. The hotel is completely overpriced for what it offers and the lack of service and facilities. As a couple we paid £126 per night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Red Lion Hotel - set in the most fabulous location in Clovelly`s habour.Clovelly itself is well worth visiting, because of it`s unique setting and old world charm.
However The Red Lion Hotel was a huge disappointment we booked to stay overnight for the evening meal and breakfast.The leaflet the Hotel provided made truly outrageous claims of locally sourced produce and local game, and although none of this was evident on the hotel`s menu- we would have been happy if the food was of reasonable quality(for the high price paid) and cooked to a good standard.
The vegetables, badly undercooked and appeared not to be fresh- the roast potatoes looked as if they had come out of the freezer then deep fried. My wife chose the pasta dish, the sauce was fatty and clawing with no flavour and the pasta stuck together.
Needless to say the resturant was nearly empty and we refused to pay for the meal. We also decided not to stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.1 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
15.3 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon, UK
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing