We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb fishing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clovelly Lakeside Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clovelly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clovelly Lakeside Lodges
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“superb fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited Clovelly lakes again this year with our fishing mad son Wills. The weather was devons finest mist and rain although mild. The lodge (18) was excellent very clean and had all that we required for a weeks fishing. The shower with its music, lighting moods steam facility is heaven after a day by the lake.
The fishing was excellent, over the five days we caught quality fish in pristine condition, 16lb mirror, 14lb ghosty, 14lb common. In total we landed 300lb of fish in five days and we will be back next year.
Thank you Peter another wonderful trip.

Room Tip: do fish the bottom lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ihadenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Our family stay at this place every August and we love it. We will be back again in August this year and this will be our 4th time. It is so lovely and peaceful and has no horrible commercial features to ruin it. All the staff are lovely and work very hard and we are all very fond of the owner Peter who is a charming character and really cares about the residents and their needs. The fishing is great and very relaxing. The site is very well positioned for visiting places of interests and beaches, etc. The lodges are of an excellent standard with some very nice extras. The are always extremely clean and well equipped. We love this place and will be staying there for years to come and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMITH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just reurned from a last minute booking at Clovelly Lakes. Beautiful surroundings and the lodges are fantastic. Equiped with everything you need and to a very high standard. Showers are superb. My husband & myself went with my parents and our two dogs. The men fished and we chilled and walked the dogs. Lovely beaches nearby for dog alking that allow dogs all year. Plenty of local amenities and fish and chips and pubs close by. There is a huge Asda about 15 mins drive away to get everything stocked up for the week. Peter and Caroline were great. The fishing was good to and included in the lodge price which is unusual. Will be back hopefully later in the year.

Room Tip: all Lodges are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mybrownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Recently returned from our 3rd visit to the lakes. Went with friends and our teenage daughter. The guys fished (and our daughter), while we went sightseeing, shopping and searched for the perfect cream tea! Top marks to Peter and Caroline - our TV packed up on the first day and within an hour of reporting it a brand new one was delivered and installed. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of work and city life you couldnt choose a more tranquill location. Pure heaven - see you again next year.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed for five nights over NY and wasn't disappointed. Excellent cabins, lovely (and bizarre) owner and great location. Great facilities especially the disco showers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank umbongo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just returned from Lodge 6 at Clovelly Lakes. We were in Lodge 7 - 5 years ago and I must say that the standards kept are excellent. Everything clean and all in good working order. A real credit to Mr Symonds and Caroline and anyone else who helps them.
The facilities in the lodges are more than adequate and even when we have paid a lot of money for villas and cottages we have not found them equipped with dishwasher tablets, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, condiments etc as the ones are at Clovelly Lakes .
Lodge 6 has a small glazed in sitting area overlooking the lake - perfect on windy/cold days. I sat and read there while my chap was fishing - I was warm and cosy while he was out in the cold. We ate in many good pubs around the area and I would particulalry recommend The Old Smithy signposted off the A39 on the road to Bude. A smallish menu and the dining area lacked character but the food was very fresh and very well cooked. The bar area was cosy and full of character - as I am sure the dining area will be soon.
We both slept very well, probably after lots of fresh air every day and the bed, quilt and pillows were very comfortable.
The surroundings are beautiful, the wildlife interesting and to conclude - I cant wait to return

Room Tip: If you like to fish all lodges are good but ones directly on the lakes are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I loved my little holiday here with the family - the men fishing from the bank whilst the womenfolk chilled. A beautiful place and all the lodges are wonderful (although with four adults I would probably pick an 8 berth next time, just for a bit more personal space) - we had lodge 1 which was perfectly adequate.

Anyways, hope to go again this year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.9 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
0.5 mi away
Pillowery Park
Pillowery Park
#2 of 4 in Clovelly
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clovelly Lakeside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly Lakeside Lodges

Property: Clovelly Lakeside Lodges
Address: Ravensfield House | Higher Clovelly, Clovelly EX39 5RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Clovelly
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Clovelly Lakeside Lodges Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing