We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clovelly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clovelly Lakeside Lodges
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect country escape”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just returned from Lodge 6 at Clovelly Lakes. We were in Lodge 7 - 5 years ago and I must say that the standards kept are excellent. Everything clean and all in good working order. A real credit to Mr Symonds and Caroline and anyone else who helps them.
The facilities in the lodges are more than adequate and even when we have paid a lot of money for villas and cottages we have not found them equipped with dishwasher tablets, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, condiments etc as the ones are at Clovelly Lakes .
Lodge 6 has a small glazed in sitting area overlooking the lake - perfect on windy/cold days. I sat and read there while my chap was fishing - I was warm and cosy while he was out in the cold. We ate in many good pubs around the area and I would particulalry recommend The Old Smithy signposted off the A39 on the road to Bude. A smallish menu and the dining area lacked character but the food was very fresh and very well cooked. The bar area was cosy and full of character - as I am sure the dining area will be soon.
We both slept very well, probably after lots of fresh air every day and the bed, quilt and pillows were very comfortable.
The surroundings are beautiful, the wildlife interesting and to conclude - I cant wait to return

Room Tip: If you like to fish all lodges are good but ones directly on the lakes are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I loved my little holiday here with the family - the men fishing from the bank whilst the womenfolk chilled. A beautiful place and all the lodges are wonderful (although with four adults I would probably pick an 8 berth next time, just for a bit more personal space) - we had lodge 1 which was perfectly adequate.

Anyways, hope to go again this year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed for a week as guests of friends who were there for 3 weeks, what a beautiful tranquil place, we were in lodge 18 and it was finished to a high standard. The bed was very comfy one of the best i ever used and whilst my husband fished I read books and relaxed. Peter the owner is a character but a lovely man and to the two ladies who objected to his comment asking about the men, his 82 give him some slack. I dont know many men his age who could keep the place in such great condition and still be cleaning out the lodges.
Loved the fish and chips from Woolsery although they only open a few days a week. My only downside as i see it was that we could have done with table and chairs instead of the breakfast bar coming out from the kitchen units, which was a bit of a squeeze for 4 of us. Couldnt fault the service, extra pillows were duly delivered. looking forward to going back next year with our friends and meeting up with some of the other lovely people who were staying around our lake.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We have been going to these lodges since 1997 (only missed a couple of years) stayed in quite a few of them favourites are 8 16 and 12 been spring, summer and christmas and new year (peter put on firework display) going again this year Peter and the team are lovely people. the Beach family Solihull

Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank woolfardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were two women travelling together - the first words to us on our arrival were 'have you got 2 men with you'!!! Not a particularly nice welcome. Definately not a place for single women or same sex couples.

The lodges are spotless, well appointed around the lake and have everything one might need for a short stay. However, I would have to question the 'benefits and features' of the lodge ie we had a shower that doubled as a steam cubicle which was nice but unnecessary, but then had a mattress which was so thin you could feel the bed frame underneath whenever you moved.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papergirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

What a lovely place to go to. Scenery, tranquility, things to do and comfortable luxury as well. We had an ace week here and the kids loved it! Would have been nice to have had a bit more sunshine, but the gorse looked magnificent!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br00kes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

At the risk of stating the obvious, Clovelly Lakeside Lodges is a complex of wooden lodges situated around several large lakes.

The lodge we stayed in was very well equipped, extremely clean and overall very comfortable. We did get to see in two other lodges and these were of a similar standard.

The lodges have TV, DVD player and a stereo, but no Sky or internet connection. Everything worked as it should and all the fittings and furniture were of a quality, standard and comfort that you would have in your own home. The kitchen was particularly well equipped with full oven, microwave, washing machine and dish washer. The bathroom was just as well appointed, the shower was excellent! There was a brick built BBQ outside our lodge which was great in the evenings.

The whole setting of the place is beautiful. The lakes are large and well stocked with fish. The upper lakes are well tended with fishing platforms and the lower lakes, whilst sill well maintained, have a wilder feel about them.

We particularly enjoyed sitting out in the late afternoon and evening watching the birds and other wildlife. Geese, herons, foxes, rabbits and one night even a badger could all be spotted whist enjoying a beer on the veranda.

Shetland ponies wander round the lower lakes and keep themselves to themselves, but be warned: if you do try to stroke them they may bite!

The owner is a character and has a rather direct manner, but could not have been more helpful.

There are swings, a slide, and a trampoline to keep children amused. Well, perhaps not just children. To be honest, I quite enjoyed the trampoline myself!

For us part of the charm of the place was the fact that it is fairly remote, but there is a shop and post office a mile or so away in the village of Woolsery and you can buy most things you could want here. We’d also highly recommend the fish & chip shop in Woolsery, although NOT the pub next door.

We loved that fact that we have finally found a place that is dog friendly. Our dog enjoyed the break as much as we did. The surrounding area is gorgeous, with a very dramatic coast line and fantastic cliff top walks.

Overall, a relaxing place suited to people who enjoy being outdoors yet who appreciate the comforts in life.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DonkeyMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
571 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
209 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn Hartland
The Anchor Inn Hartland
#11 of 11 in Hartland
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Greenfields
Greenfields
#3 of 5 in Clovelly
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pillowery Park
Pillowery Park
#2 of 5 in Clovelly
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Smithy B & B
The Old Smithy B & B
#4 of 5 in Clovelly
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clovelly Lakeside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly Lakeside Lodges

Property: Clovelly Lakeside Lodges
Address: Ravensfield House | Higher Clovelly, Clovelly EX39 5RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Clovelly
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Clovelly Lakeside Lodges Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing